We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable & Quiet”
Review of The Gilded Lily

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Boston
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Gilded Lily
Ranked #2 of 37 Boston B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 September 2009

We stayed at the Gilded Lily from Sept. 16-19 and loved it. It was so nice to be in a quiet part of town, that was still within easy walking distance of great restaurants and the T. James was a wonderful host and gave us plenty of good tips. We particularly loved the French Bistro down the street that he recommended, Petite Robert. It was awesome! The bed was soft and comfy, the shower was spacious, and everything was spotlessly clean.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beatrice1603
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (369)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

340 - 346 of 369 reviews

Reviewed 31 July 2009

I loved the intimacy of this pretty B&B in a great Boston neighborhood. It felt like a home away from home. The Garden Room was immaculately clean, the bed was extremely comfortable and regal, the kitchen was well stocked and the location was fantastic. They say that beauty is in the details and James, the owner of this beautiful brownstone, understands that concept well. He created a place that is very hospitable and welcoming and the fact that it only has two rooms makes it feel very private. I am very picky about where I stay, always looking for places with character, style and in the middle of eclectic neighborhoods and this choice met my criteria. I was so impressed with Boston and this B&B played a large role in that as well. The Gilded Lily is a gem and those who discover it are very lucky indeed. Thanks James for sharing your home with us.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LuisaCelli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2009

This place has become the ruler by which my wife and I will judge every other B&B we visit. Great neighborhood (no car needed). Large, clean, elegant, comfortable room (good luck getting out of bed). Convenient, semi-private kitchen (prepare your own when want) and best of all a pleasant well-informed and helpful host. A destination in itself.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joneserflorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2009

We travelled to Boston for a few nights recently and found the Gilded Lily to be a fantastic choice of accommodation. The historic location in an extremely quiet street is deceptive given the proximity to the city, Freedom Trail, Fenway Park, shopping, cafes and restaurants, the 'T' - well, just about everything Boston has to offer!
We stayed in the Garden Room, which was immaculately presented and very spacious. The bed was huge and at least as comfortable as the beds at Sofitel hotels (which I reckon are about the best around!!).The shared kitchen was well stocked with a great variety of breakfast essentials.
Jim, the host, was very quick to respond to ourbooking request and very kindly attended to some ticketing for us before our arrival for an event we wanted to attend. He is extremely attentive (without being obtrusive) and was provided some excellent suggestions and maps for us. The Gilded Lily is excellent value and probably one of the best B&B's I've stayed in.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SMG2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2009

Had to go to RI for a job and rates were cheaper to fly into Boston than Providence. So, we just rented a car (rental place was really close as well) and drove over which only took about an hour. The Gilded Lily came in so handy to have. It's a great place to unwind in the middle of everywhere! Wonderful location and a cozy place to have to come home to. It is like having your own cute apartment for as long as you need it with an amazingly affordable price! I will definitely go again.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fusian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mathias L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tglboston, Owner at The Gilded Lily, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Windflower528
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tglboston, Owner at The Gilded Lily, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#6 of 84 in Boston
3,421 reviews
Fenway / Kenmore
Gryphon House
Gryphon House
#5 of 37 in Boston
365 reviews
South End
Clarendon Square Inn
Clarendon Square Inn
#4 of 37 in Boston
550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South End
Encore Bed and Breakfast
Downtown
Boston Yacht Haven Inn & Marina
Fenway / Kenmore
Oasis Guest House
Oasis Guest House
#7 of 37 in Boston
433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gilded Lily? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gilded Lily

Address: 4 Claremont Park, Boston, MA 02118-3002
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 37 B&Bs / Inns in Boston
Price Range: £123 - £179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gilded Lily is situated at 4 Claremont Park, a quiet residential side street in Boston’s Historic South End. The neighborhood is celebrated for its rich Victorian row house architecture and extends over 500 acres. It is populated with many trendy restaurants and boutique shops and is immediately adjacent to Boston’s Back Bay, Fenway, Bay Village and Beacon Hill neighborhoods. We are within walking distance to an extraordinary array of cultural, civic, academic and medical facilities and lots and lots of places to shop; to name just a handful, Historic Fenway Park, Boston Symphony Hall, The Museum of Fine Arts, The Huntington Theatre, Boston University Medical Center, MIT and the Copley Place Mall and Newbury Street. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing