We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic B&B - great place to stay in Boston”
Review of The Gilded Lily

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Boston
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Gilded Lily
Ranked #2 of 38 Boston B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Fantastic B&B - great place to stay in Boston”
Reviewed 23 September 2010

We stayed here for two nights in September 2010. We had both rooms and it really felt like a home away from home. Gorgeous rooms, comfy beds, great bathrooms with nice products. The area is gorgeous and the street and the building itself are lovely - exactly what we were looking for for our first visit to Boston. The shared kitchen worked really well for us as we had both rooms but I think it would be a bit annoying if the room was occupied by another couple, just in terms of the noise (i.e the coffee machine). Its also a short walk to Toro which is a fantastic tapas place (very popular - we had a 3 hour wait as they don't take reservations!). I would definitely stay here again and recommend it to anyone going to Boston.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ksneddon1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

351 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    302
    43
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
71
188
20
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St Albans
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2010

Stayed in the Garden Room - Simply beautiful. Proprietor very welcoming, exceptionally clean and in A1 state of repair. Location good, if a little on the periphery of South End (need to turn left not right onto Tremont). Self service / shared facilities concept for breakfast (a kitchen shared between both rooms) may not be to all's taste however is well stocked and again of an excellent standard. Highly Recommended and would return without hesitation.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James_Caro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2010

We stayed in the Garden Room which was well equipped, serviced daily and just gorgeous! The free Wifi is also very helpful. The location of this B&B is fantastic, only a short walk to Newbury Street and the city.

Overall definitely one of the best places we have stayed and we would certainly not hesitate to stay here again. The only things that would have made this stay better would have been some healthier breakfast alternatives (i.e. there was only very sugary refined cereals but we bought our own) and some additional kitchen utensils (e.g. fry pan).

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sculleyau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2010

Fantastic location and accommodation. We stayed in the Garden Room which was just gorgeous. Well equipped and serviced daily. Only a short walk to Newbery Street and the city.

The only thing that would have made it better was some healthier breakfast alternatives (very sugary refined cereals) and some more kitchen utensils (i.e. fry pan)

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sculleyau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2010

We stayed at the Gilded Lily 6-30/7-3-2010 and could not have been more pleased. Jim is an outstanding host, friendly and informative. We were stranded twice and he went out of his way to help us. The accomodations were beautiful, stayed in Palor Room which is spacious and immaculate. Jim's restoration of his home is lovely, attention to detail is spot on. The room is appointed with luxury linens, the bath has full size shampoo, conditioner and bath gels (so much nicer than the little throw away bottles). Shared kitchen is nicely stocked and the Keurig coffee maker is fantastic. First time to Boston and found location very convienant to everything, easy to navigate the city from this quiet peaceful neighborhood. We highly recommend this B&B and are looking forward to a return visit. Thanks Jim!!

Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank howe_r_u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central Florida
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2010

Clean, clean, clean. Very close to subway. Far surpasses any hotel experience if you like attention to detail, and non-fussy atmosphere. Jim was great, helped us with car rental. Breakfast is no fuss with a semi-private kitchen you share with the other room he rents out. Loved how private it was, just made ourselves coffee or grabbed OJ, milk, cereral or water if we wanted it. Never saw the other couples staying and sharing the kitchen. Room has a lovely bay window area with table and nice leather chairs that I used to do makeup in the morning while drinking my coffee. Bathroom is nice with sink, shower and toliet, all serviced each day and very clean. Pretty fireplace, crown molding, tall but comfy bed. Rest of neighbor is mostly residential with a pretty park that you can walk to to get to the subway. Around the corner we got pizza, salads, coffee, ect. Very nice. We could walk to the Mass Ave subway stop on the orange line and the Symphony line on the green line (beware, could not get this exit going into the heart of Boston as it is an outbound station only but we could use it to go back to the Gilded Lilly). Oh, you can also go to the roof, have your own drink and look at the amazing Boston skyline. Very romantic and nice.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank US_traveler63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2010

The other reviews say it all. It's such a well presented house, a real credit to James. Very tastefully decorated, quiet, with a fantastic bed and just a few minutes walk from the subway. The local area has some nice bars and restaurants too.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonny999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#6 of 83 in Boston
3,285 reviews
Back Bay
Courtyard Boston Copley Square
Back Bay
The Midtown Hotel
The Midtown Hotel
#63 of 83 in Boston
3,531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fenway / Kenmore
Hotel Commonwealth
Hotel Commonwealth
#8 of 83 in Boston
4,362 reviews
Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
Seaport Boston Hotel
Seaport Boston Hotel
#3 of 83 in Boston
4,637 reviews
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gilded Lily? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gilded Lily

Property: The Gilded Lily
Address: 4 Claremont Park, Boston, MA 02118-3002
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gilded Lily is situated at 4 Claremont Park, a quiet residential side street in Boston’s Historic South End. The neighborhood is celebrated for its rich Victorian row house architecture and extends over 500 acres. It is populated with many trendy restaurants and boutique shops and is immediately adjacent to Boston’s Back Bay, Fenway, Bay Village and Beacon Hill neighborhoods. We are within walking distance to an extraordinary array of cultural, civic, academic and medical facilities and lots and lots of places to shop; to name just a handful, Historic Fenway Park, Boston Symphony Hall, The Museum of Fine Arts, The Huntington Theatre, Boston University Medical Center, MIT and the Copley Place Mall and Newbury Street. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing