We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Historic House near Beacon Hill Boston”

Harrison Gray Otis House
Book In Advance
More Info
US$57.00*
and up
Go Boston Card
More Info
US$72.00*
and up
Boston Explorer Pass
Ranked #130 of 396 things to do in Boston
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Designed in 1796 and once belonging to a Boston mayor, this historic house is an excellent example of the architecture and life-style of the post-Revolutionary culture.
Sturbridge, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
60 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Historic House near Beacon Hill Boston”
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Boston is lucky that this early wealthy town house was spared the wrecking ball. Almost all the furniture belonged to original families. Tours are frequent (every half hour) and last an hour. Very knowledgable guides with a good, short slide show on the history of the families and building.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank DrPaulS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    16
    8
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
“Very personal tour”
Reviewed 23 March 2014 via mobile

We stepped in for a look and were treated to a personal tour of the house. Our guide was very engaging and knowledgable about the family as well as the neighborhood and offered many interesting facts. The house is fine, but the personal tour was surprise that really made the experience great!

Helpful?
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Manassas, VA
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Harrison Otis House”
Reviewed 15 December 2013 via mobile

We visited this house today after visiting the Gibson House. Our tour guide was very good, however compared to the Gibson House the overall tour was lacking. Agree with other reviewers, competition with the many fabulous historical sites in Boston tough. Would not be my number one recommendation if this your first visit to Boston.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dentalduffer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manama, Bahrain
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Fabulous visit and guide”
Reviewed 1 December 2013

The Federal-style Otis House fills in the blanks re Boston's history. We loved every minute of our tour with Paula, who is knowledgeable, enthusiastic, and highly personable. The historic houses of Boston may not be the first on a list of priorities when visiting Boston, but for those who have "done" the typical tourist routes, it is well worth learning about the history of the house and neighborhood.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank ExpatDBK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leominster, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Excellent tour!”
Reviewed 16 August 2013

Paula was my tour guide. I was the only person she had on the tour and it was great! I loved the way the curator furnished the rooms based on paintings. It was an eye opening learning experience. I learned a lot of new things. I recommend this tour!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Haileelynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Harrison Gray Otis House also viewed

 

Been to Harrison Gray Otis House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing