We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Green Turtle was everything I hoped for and more!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Boston
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Green Turtle Floating Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 38 Boston B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 May 2011

I surprised my husband with an overnight on the Green Turtle for his birthday and it was fantastic! We had a fabulous time. Karen helped me make it so special. The birthday cake and banner were an unexpected bonus. It was the perfect location. What a fabulous B & B. Karen and Jon are not only great innkeepers but fabulous people! We can't wait to do it again!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank crmack73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (580)
There are newer reviews for Green Turtle Floating Bed and Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

493 - 499 of 580 reviews

Reviewed 6 May 2011

This unique floating B&B nestled in a modern marina at the old Charlestown Navy Yard puts you within a few yards of the venerable USS Constitution and you are really right in Boston Harbor. All the harbor activity from cruise ships, working tugs and even tankers are passing by your window. Despite all this activity it is peaceful and quiet while sitting in a deck chair enjoying your favorite beverage as the sun is setting on the harbor: it just tops off your day. You don't need your car once you arrive; just take the water shuttle into Boston's bustling waterfront for $1.70 and you can hook up with all the public transportation or walk to many of the favorite attractions. The accomodations are terrific: nice and clean, lots of privacy, very attentive hosts. It's one of those unique getaways that you will put on your list to do again.

Room Tip: Reserve early because there are only two units.
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 41580Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2011

Beautiful little treasure tucked away amidst a bustling city! The idyllic setting, right on the water, made us feel as though we were on a distant island! Karen and Jon were so friendly, accommodating, and gave us great tips on how to navigate to and from various Boston locations, restaurants, etc. The whole experience will be one we cherish forever! Hope to make it a regular get-away spot! Thanks again!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pcolantonio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2011

Have just returned from an 8 night stay onboard The Green Turtle. Everything that previous reviewers have praised is true. We wanted to celebrate our 25th Wedding Anniversary by doing something different & we certainly found it at he Green Turtle. Jon & Karen are terrific hosts, Karen's Eggs Benedict are to die for as are all the lovely breakfast she provided during our stay.
Nothing was too much trouble - even down to them booking our nightly cab to a different restaurant in the city
The Green Turtle has everything you could wish for & more - we are so glad we didnt book a faceless hotel in the city. many thanks to Tripadvisor, without which we wouldnt' have found this gem. We have vowed to return when the weather is kinder, next June 2012, as we had some very cold wet days last week.
However the warmth and comfort we had on board, as well as the genuine warmth of Jon & Karen's hospitality; meant that a few days of lousy weather could not dampened our enthusiasm for this lovely city & our perfect accommodation.
I only hope that we can make our booking whilst there is availability as many people are rightly discovering this jewel in Boston's crown.

Room Tip: Recommended for special occasions
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank princesspentium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2011

We began our holiday with a two night stay at the green turtle, a brilliant start, truly spoilt us! There are not many places where you can arrive by water taxi from the airport and to be greeted with a warm friendly welcome from Karen and John awaiting our arrival. Our self contained room was immaculately clean ,well equipped and extremely comfortable.
The bed was luxurious and the very gentle rocking motion meant great nights sleep. Delicious breakfast served each morning. With views of Boston across the bay from the pier were stunning.. Our Green Turtle floating bed and breakfast stay is one that we will never forget. Many thanks Karen and John ...we will be back!!!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JudeSteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2011

A "floating" bed & breakfast in Boston Harbor - wow!! Perfect location to all that historic and chic Boston has to offer and there is plenty. Relax on the dock, enjoy the view of the Boston skyline, watch the tankers glide by or do some fishing. Lovely owners that take pride in accommodating your every wish. It's fabulous, book it now!!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank recruiter01845
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2011

We had a terrific stay at the Green Turtle. Jon and Karen went out of their way to make us feel welcome and comfortable. They took the time to explain local spots and the best ways to get to and from the pier. The accommodations were warn, inviting and spotless. The bed was super-comfy and breakfast was awesome. Our time at the Green Turtle was the perfect mini-vacation - just what we needed at the end of a very long winter!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DianeLorden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
Seaport Boston Hotel
Seaport Boston Hotel
#2 of 84 in Boston
4,858 reviews
Downtown
InterContinental Boston
East Boston / Logan Airport
Hyatt Regency Boston Harbor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fenway / Kenmore
Gryphon House
Gryphon House
#5 of 38 in Boston
356 reviews
South End
Encore Bed and Breakfast
Downtown
Boston Yacht Haven Inn & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Green Turtle Floating Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green Turtle Floating Bed and Breakfast

Address: 1 Pier 8 13th Street, Boston, MA 02129
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Boston
Price Range: £166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Green Turtle is a floating bed and breakfast as luxurious as it is unique. Set in the historic Charlestown Navy Yard on Boston Harbor, the Green Turtle offers an expansive view of the Boston skyline along with the comfort and amenities of a modern bed and breakfast. The USS Constitution (Old Ironsides), the Bunker Hill Monument and the Freedom Trail are a short walk away. You can take the water ferry to numerous points along the waterfront. There are dining choices from bagels to world famous dining. The Green Turtle houseboat and yachts were designed for comfort above all and the only reminder you are floating in Boston Harbor is the sound of the gulls, motion of the sea and the reflection of the ocean dancing on the ceiling. It is delightful starting your day sipping coffee or enjoying a cold beverage after a day of sightseeing while sitting on your dock chairs or aft deck watching the harbor traffic and city skyline. The Green Turtle Floating Bed and Breakfast offers 3 boat choices. The Green Turtle I is a houseboat offering two private and separate suites and each has 1 queen sized bed with luxury linens. Each suite(Loggerhead and Sea Turtle) has a kitchenette and a private bathroom en suite. Each suite sleeps 2 or reserve both suites for 4 people. Green Turtle II is a 45 foot motor yacht which sleeps 2 - 6 people. She has 2 private queen staterooms with bathroom and shower in each stateroom, a full sleeper sofa in the living area, a galley and dinette and a great aft deck with comfortable outdoor furniture. Green Turtle III is a 43 foot motor yacht which sleeps 2-4 in 2 queen staterooms with bathroom and shower in each, a salon (living area) galley and dinette and an aft deck with comfortable outdoor furniture. Your suite/yacht is stocked with gourmet coffee, teas, juice yogurt, granola, spring water and snacks. We deliver fresh breakfast each morning. Staying aboard the Green Turtle Floating Bed and Breakfast is a unique way to visit Boston. All boats are docked in marina slips and are moored permanently during your stay. We live right here on our sailboat. Come Float With Us! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Green Turtle Floating Hotel Boston
Green Turtle Floating b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing