We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Couldn't have chosen a better place!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Boston
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Green Turtle Floating Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 39 Boston B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
110 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Couldn't have chosen a better place!”
Reviewed 10 October 2011

Wow! We stayed in Boston on a two-day stop on our way to Maine. I chose the Green Turtle because of something that popped up on Trip Advisor, (best B&Bs maybe?) and booked without research. It was such a great two days! We were tired after a long flight, while on the water taxi from the airport we were greeted with a spash at the Green Turtle. (Lets just say Jon and his cellular carrier must have a love-hate relationship.) The Green Turtle is a houseboat on the water with spectacular views of Boston. The room was clean, attractively appointed, and felt like a place that people who love life, and care about people would offer as a place to stay. Jon and Karen are the best, they live on a sailboat and are the perfect hosts, we felt like family guests instead of hotel guests, and we wouldn't have changed a thing. The comfortable beds, the decor, the really yummy breakfasts and the service with a smile, and a spash were without comparision.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bonnie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

540 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    520
    19
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
82
365
10
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 October 2011

My husband and I spent the last night of our New England honeymoon at the Green Turtle and I don't think any words on Trip Advisor can convey quite how amazing this place is.

The owners Karen and Jon are the nicest, friendliest people we have ever met whilst on holidays; they really went out of their way to make our stay wonderful. Having stayed at 4 other locations during our trip we found that they went above and beyond anywhere else. When we arrived, we needed to return our rental car and when we got to the drop off place, Jon was already there in his car - he'd raced us there to give us a lift back so that we didn't have to get a cab! He took us on a mini-tour of the Navy Yard on the way back, pointing out useful things such as where to catch the ferry and a good nearby restaurant (Navy Yard Bistro, which turned out to be fantastic, too).

Our flight home wasn't til 8pm so we assumed we'd have a boring last day, checking out in the morning then hanging round the airport because our luggage was too heavy to carry anywhere. Jon and Karen already had this in hand - they let us keep our luggage with them so that we could enjoy our last day in Boston and return to the Green Turtle later to catch a water taxi to the airport (which they booked for us).

The accomodation itself was excellent - the room was spotlessly clean, tastefully decorated and extremely well stocked with munchies and anything else you needed. The location is out of this world You are literally surrounded by water and yachts, it's so peaceful and beautiful, although I was a bit scared about drinking too much wine and falling in; it takes some getting used to!

If the friendly owners and location weren't enough, the homecooked breakfast was superb and delivered to our door at a time of our choosing. Perfect! We felt spoilt rotten staying at the Green Turtle; it is the quality of a 5 star hotel, only a much more fun, relaxing and personal experience.

We can't wait to come back and we know that we will be treated like old friends when we do return - thanks so much to Jon and Karen for making our last night/day in Boston so special.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alcoa
Level Contributor
61 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2011

We had a wonderful stay . Jon and Karen make you feel welcome the moment you arrive. This is a great location. The room is super clean with amenities like snacks and a great breakfast. They provide you with wonderful tips for the easiest ways to explore the city. Finally, on the morning of our departure, the water taxi was full, so Jon took us to the airport. The view is fantastic. We just wish we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank courtneyAlcoa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Rochelle, New York
1 review
Reviewed 29 September 2011

My husband and I arrived at the Green Turtle Inn on September 25th for a two night stay. We were warmly greeted at the Pier by Jon & Karen, Innkeepers. As we walked towards the Inn, we knew this was the place to be. A little bit of heaven! Right on the water. Karen had put together lots of information for us about the area attractions which was great as well as giving us a few tips. Our room was comfortable and stocked with plenty of snacks and beverages too. After getting settled in we sat outside absorbing the scenery around us. The view was magnificant, and what could be better than waking up to a beautiful sunrise over the water and Jon serving us breakfast outside. Oh, and Karen is a fabulous cook!. She prepared a delicious quiche served with warm cinammon apples and homemade bananna bread. Karen's pancakes were warm and buttery served with tasty sauage and sweet strawberries and cream -yum. What a way to start the day! We got lucky with the weather despite what the weatherman had forecasted for our trip, and the evenings were cool- perfect for sleeping and the water was as calm as could be. This was a perfect experience in every way. We had always wanted to find an Inn on the water to vacation and so glad we found The Green Turtle. We have stayed at many Inns over the years but nothing compared to this. Thank you Jon and Karen for your hospitality and making our stay unforgettable.

Sandy & Andy

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sandy19521976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed 21 September 2011

My husband and I have done a lot of traveling so we were so surprised to find this hidden get away just 40 mins. from our own home. I planned a surprise night away at the Green Turtle for my husband in celebration of our anniversary. Karen, the innkeeper helped me with all the details and really ensured that our stay was unlike any other vacation. The inn is beautiful and has all the great features of a regular hotel room. However, it gets even better when you step out the front door onto your own dock overlooking the skyline of Boston. You actually are right on the water and it is so relaxing. We felt right at home while still feeling relaxed and pampered. Our breakfast(which we ate right on the dock) was so yummy and such a great finishing touch to our weekend. I can not say enought good things about this wonderful inn. We can not wait to return for another stay.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ksk092102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 September 2011

We escaped to the Green Turtle on September 10th to celebrate our 5th year anniversary and we couldn't have asked for a better stay. Jon and Karen were so welcoming from the moment that we arrived and made us feel right at home. They anticipated every possible need we could have had during our stay. The room was so luxurious, the bed was extremely comfortable and the linens were wonderful - they haven't overlooked a single detail. We enjoyed the most relaxing breakfast the next morning prepared by Karen (fabulous home fries ;-)) while sitting on the dock sipping coffee. We can't wait to come back to relax! Thank you so much for a wonderful and memorable anniversary!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessica T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
104 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2011

Wish we were able to stay here longer as we only stayed 1 night in the Sea Turtle suite. The experience of getting there from Logan Airport was simple, relaxing and surpringly fun. We loved the room, super comfortable beds which I later found out are custom made- great for those with bad backs. Plenty of complimentary snacks and drinks. It felt very luxurious inside and the gentle rocking was perfect sleeping conditions. We felt the owners make the stay unforgettable as they are really great people to talk to. There is tavern on the water 2 piers down, which is about a 5 minute walk away. We will without a doubt be back here someday soon.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gimper90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
Seaport Boston Hotel
Seaport Boston Hotel
#3 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,565 reviews
Downtown
Omni Parker House
Omni Parker House
#44 of 83 in Boston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 7,164 reviews
Downtown
Boston Harbor Hotel
Boston Harbor Hotel
#2 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,840 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#6 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,266 reviews
South End
Encore Bed and Breakfast
Downtown
Marriott Vacation Club Pulse at Custom House, Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Green Turtle Floating Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green Turtle Floating Bed and Breakfast

Property: Green Turtle Floating Bed and Breakfast
Address: 1 13th St, at the end of 13th Street, Boston, MA 02129-2017
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Green Turtle is a floating bed and breakfast as luxurious as it is unique. Set in the historic Charlestown Navy Yard on Boston Harbor, the Green Turtle offers an expansive view of the Boston skyline along with the comfort and amenities of a modern bed and breakfast. The USS Constitution (Old Ironsides), the Bunker Hill Monument and the Freedom Trail are a short walk away. You can take the water ferry to numerous points along the waterfront. There are dining choices from bagels to world famous dining. The Green Turtle houseboat and yachts were designed for comfort above all and the only reminder you are floating in Boston Harbor is the sound of the gulls, motion of the sea and the reflection of the ocean dancing on the ceiling. It is delightful starting your day sipping coffee or enjoying a cold beverage after a day of sightseeing while sitting on your dock chairs or aft deck watching the harbor traffic and city skyline. The Green Turtle Floating Bed and Breakfast offers 3 boat choices. The Green Turtle I is a houseboat offering two private and separate suites and each has 1 queen sized bed with luxury linens. Each suite(Loggerhead and Sea Turtle) has a kitchenette and a private bathroom en suite. Each suite sleeps 2 or reserve both suites for 4 people. Green Turtle II is a 45 foot motor yacht which sleeps 2 - 6 people. She has 2 private queen staterooms with bathroom and shower in each stateroom, a full sleeper sofa in the living area, a galley and dinette and a great aft deck with comfortable outdoor furniture. Green Turtle III is a 43 foot motor yacht which sleeps 2-4 in 2 queen staterooms with bathroom and shower in each, a salon (living area) galley and dinette and an aft deck with comfortable outdoor furniture. Your suite/yacht is stocked with gourmet coffee, teas, juice yogurt, granola, spring water and snacks. We deliver fresh breakfast each morning. Staying aboard the Green Turtle Floating Bed and Breakfast is a unique way to visit Boston. All boats are docked in marina slips and are moored permanently during your stay. We live right here on our sailboat. Come Float With Us! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Green Turtle Floating Hotel Boston
Green Turtle Floating b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing