We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“a wonderful and different experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Green Turtle Floating Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Boston
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Green Turtle Floating Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 39 Boston B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“a wonderful and different experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2012

Not much to say that hasn't been said already - we found the great reviews to be quite accurate. We stayed here 2 nights, and it was really memorable and unique anniversary / belated honeymoon. The highlights were the harbor view, the impeccable accommodations, little details like the swans, complimentary snacks, rocking to sleep like being in a huge hammock, and the harbor walk that you can take all the way into the North End. Plentiful transportation and parking, but we ended up walking into town each day because the weather was so fair and mild. Charlestown itself was so peaceful and quiet and a great way to wind down each day. And of course, the fantastic hosts Karen and Jon who give you a super breakfast each morning, discreetly placed at your door at the time you request! This kind of personalized and friendly service is what sets this place apart and above 5-star hotels we have stayed at previously! Will be back for sure! Thanks, Anita and Dan

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

529 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    509
    19
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
81
357
9
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Falmouth, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2011

Had great time with wife and 13 yr. old daughter. Perfect location with great nighttime view of Boston, Altho we live on Cape Cod we were not familiar with Charlestown and we were surprised how interesting and educational the surrounding area was. Recommend Tavern on the Water for dinner-can walk to it and sits at end of pier. Karen makes a great breakfast. Can catch stripers and blues off the dock when they are around so bring your pole. Patti/Don

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank donaldad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sagamore Beach, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2011

A BIG surprise in Boston Harbor. Clean, comfortable accomodations - very homey. Cheerful, friendly hosts serving delicious breakfasts. Super views of the harbor, esp. at night. Harbor Walk to Boston a bonus. Wish we could have stayed longer.
Laureen & Don

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Donald M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Apalachin, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2011

What a wonderful gift for our anniversary. A very unique bed and breakfast. Very relaxing and excellent views of the harbor. VERY CLEAN! Breakfast was great. Warm, friendly, helpful hosts. We have already told all our friends and family they have to experience being rocked to sleep.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anthony D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Mesa, California
Level Contributor
78 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2011

With such great reviews we knew this was the place to stay in Boston. We booked well ahead in order to get our reservation and were delighted with our choice. While Trip Advisor is usually right on with choices there have been a few occasions where we were surprised at the ratings so going into this we felt good but always a little cautious. In this case the reviews and the place were a great match. Karen and Jon who live right next door on their boat were wonderful. The advice given and their thoughtfulness were A+. We had a car and although there is parking on the dock Karen said we should return it as we wouldn't need it. We were pleased we did as there were short walks to transportation into town. We eleceted to do the Old Town Trolley which gave us a 2 day pass enabling us to get a sense of the city, make stops along the way and use it for transportation home (just a few blocks from stop 3). The room on the boat made perfect use of the space, everything clean and what you needed in a small space. Goodies were left in a basket on the counter as well as a small fridge to keep things in. A small table with chairs by a window was the perfect place to enjoy the wonderful breakfast brought down each day to accomodate your desired time. I can get motion sick so I was a little concerned but the lovely movement of the boat was more like being rocked to bed. We would return here without hesitation. While the price isn't inexpensive, there are houseboat rentals on the same dock with no services, no breakfast, renting for more money. This is really an experience and the best way to enjoy Boston. A must do - worth waiting for.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank seeusoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2011

We stayed 3 nights at the green turtle and enjoyed it very much. The location on the wharf is good and it was more central than I expected as there is a free shuttle bus from the nearby hospital that runs into the city every 15mins. There is also a ferry on a nearby wharf. Hotel rooms can be very similar so your experience at the Turtle is something different and if you are happy to embrace this you will enjoy yourself. We would certainly return.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JaneneCanberra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, England
Level Contributor
95 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2011

Myself and my wife stayed at the Green Turtle for two nights whilst in Boston and it was a truly rewarding and unique experience. The houseboat itself is clean, well-equipped and surprising spacious and the view across the harbour was amazing. The houseboat itself is a bit of a walk from the city centre, but there is a free shuttle bus from the nearby hospital.

However, our greatest praise has to go to the innkeepers, Karen and Jon. We consider ourselves to be well travelled and to have stayed in some amazing places, but we have never met such friendly and attentive hosts. Nothing was too much trouble and their enthusiasm is infectious.

Overall, a top class place and we totally recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Blink_Vader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
Seaport Boston Hotel
Seaport Boston Hotel
#2 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,444 reviews
Downtown
Omni Parker House
Omni Parker House
#43 of 83 in Boston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,950 reviews
Downtown
Boston Harbor Hotel
Boston Harbor Hotel
#3 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,811 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#5 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,232 reviews
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel Boston
Downtown
The Godfrey Hotel Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Green Turtle Floating Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green Turtle Floating Bed and Breakfast

Property: Green Turtle Floating Bed and Breakfast
Address: 1 Pier 8, at the end of 13th Street, Boston, MA 02129
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Charlestown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Green Turtle is a floating bed and breakfast as luxurious as it is unique. Set in the historic Charlestown Navy Yard on Boston Harbor, the Green Turtle offers an expansive view of the Boston skyline along with the comfort and amenities of a modern bed and breakfast. The USS Constitution (Old Ironsides), the Bunker Hill Monument and the Freedom Trail are a short walk away. You can take the water ferry to numerous points along the waterfront. There are dining choices from bagels to world famous dining. The Green Turtle houseboat and yachts were designed for comfort above all and the only reminder you are floating in Boston Harbor is the sound of the gulls, motion of the sea and the reflection of the ocean dancing on the ceiling. It is delightful starting your day sipping coffee or enjoying a cold beverage after a day of sightseeing while sitting on your dock chairs or aft deck watching the harbor traffic and city skyline. The Green Turtle Floating Bed and Breakfast offers 3 boat choices. The Green Turtle I is a houseboat offering two private and separate suites and each has 1 queen sized bed with luxury linens. Each suite(Loggerhead and Sea Turtle) has a kitchenette and a private bathroom en suite. Each suite sleeps 2 or reserve both suites for 4 people. Green Turtle II is a 45 foot motor yacht which sleeps 2 - 6 people. She has 2 private queen staterooms with bathroom and shower in each stateroom, a full sleeper sofa in the living area, a galley and dinette and a great aft deck with comfortable outdoor furniture. Green Turtle III is a 43 foot motor yacht which sleeps 2-4 in 2 queen staterooms with bathroom and shower in each, a salon (living area) galley and dinette and an aft deck with comfortable outdoor furniture. Your suite/yacht is stocked with gourmet coffee, teas, juice yogurt, granola, spring water and snacks. We deliver fresh breakfast each morning. Staying aboard the Green Turtle Floating Bed and Breakfast is a unique way to visit Boston. All boats are docked in marina slips and are moored permanently during your stay. We live right here on our sailboat. Come Float With Us! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Green Turtle Floating Hotel Boston
Green Turtle Floating b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing