We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Night's Sleep EVER”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Boston
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Green Turtle Floating Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 39 Boston B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Oil City, PA
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Best Night's Sleep EVER”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

Jon and Karen are wonderful! They showed us the ropes, made a dinner reservation for us, and even called the taxi. We stayed one night, and by the time we left, it was hugs all around and felt like we were saying good-bye to friends. The yacht was gorgeous, the beds were incredibly comfortable, and I truly got the best night of sleep of my life. My husband was afraid it would be rocking and we wouldn't sleep. If anyone is afraid about that, put your mind at ease. We never felt the boat rock at all, and it was a peaceful, quiet, night in paradise. Breakfast on the deck in the morning was delicious as well. I wish we had made plans to spend a week here instead of one night!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stevencorri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

533 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    513
    19
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
82
359
10
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

This was our first time at the Green Turtle Floating B&B for my fiancé and I. I had been looking at this bed and breakfast for a couple of years now and we finally booked the GTIII yacht to celebrate my 30th birthday. Let me tell you- you will love this amazing little gem! Karen and Jon are wonderful and so personable. We loved relaxing on the deck while enjoying champagne. The planes overhead didn't bother us one bit and we actually liked watching them land and take off with the city skyline in the background. The weather was perfect, the food was delicious, and the service was beyond remarkable. The views of the city from the new location can't be beat! What you would pay for a hotel in the city doesn't even compare to the service, quality, comfort, and views versus what you pay for the waterfront at the Green Turtle. Boston is just a short drive away and you're not in the hustle and bustle of the "city." Karen recommended Cafe Rosetti's (BYOB) and the service and food was perfect. Thank you for a great experience- we can't wait to come back again!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ashley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
55 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

We went there for a couple of days and stayed on the Green Turtle II. I had a wonderful time, I especially enjoyed my early mornings, having coffee on the aft deck, and enjoying some quiet time. John and Karen are very welcoming, helpful, and clearly enjoy what they do. Breakfast was delicious! The Green Turtle II was homey, and decorated in a very warm and thoughtful manner.
It rained the first day we were there, but we just hung out, and looked at the rain over the water. Many local restaurants deliver right to the boat, which we took advantage of.
I have nothing negative to say about the Green Turtle.
We will definitely be back at some point.
I highly recommend!
Thanks John and Karen!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MGD02135
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Cod, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

Amazing place to stay instead of a hotel room. Very clean and spacious. The bed was very comfortable. Everything the website says. Karen and John are great hosts and make you feel welcomed. Breakfast the next morning was delicious.
My husband and I did not mind the planes at all. It was amazing to watch the planes land and take off. Plus only maybe two planes you heard after midnight.
The view of Boston is beautiful.
We stayed on the Sea Turtle Suite.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Barbara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

I keep getting told my long and well-deserved awesome review is TOO long. :)
You aren't paying guests at Green Turtle, you're new members of Jon and Karen's family.

The breakfast was unbelievable. The planes are noticeable but not a nuisance. Kind of fun to watch them take off and land from the dock! We stayed one night during a long Boston/Cape weekend, and wish we had stayed longer. Karen is super helpful when you're planning your stay, so just shoot her an email. Jon was such a gentlemen, he put our Southern boys to shame.

Wonderful couple - accommodating and warm.
They have a great thing going - you should see what all the fuss is about.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kat H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

The 6 of us had a fantastic weekend on the green turtle yacht! We had a lovely experience on the yacht, enjoying the view, the sunsets, the delicious breakfasts, the comfy beds, and the little amenities that were there to spoil us! The BEST part of our experience was the hosts - they are amazing! They went out of there way to welcome us, help us, guide us through Boston, and make resos for us for dinner! Jon & Karen do an unreal job at their B&B on the water! It will be easy to recommend this place to others.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank tricemason
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brockton, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

We stayed on the green turtle 1 (sea turtle suite) july 11 - 12
Karen and Jon are great host , They made us feel comfortable from the start , getting the bags down to the house boat , Making resevations for dinner , making sure we had every thing we needed. The room was perfect in every way , from the great views from the room to the water , juice and snacks in the room. the bed was very comfortable .
The dock was a great place to sit relax with a cocktail and watch the sunset.
The breakfast each morning was a perfet start to the day. Would Highly recomed this to anyone who loves the water as we do . We will back in the fall.

Room Tip: The Hose boat is the perfect getaway for a couples Just trust in Karen and Jon
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
Seaport Boston Hotel
Seaport Boston Hotel
#2 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,510 reviews
Downtown
Omni Parker House
Omni Parker House
#43 of 83 in Boston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 7,051 reviews
Downtown
Boston Harbor Hotel
Boston Harbor Hotel
#3 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,825 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#4 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,240 reviews
South End
Encore Bed and Breakfast
Downtown
Marriott Vacation Club Pulse at Custom House, Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Green Turtle Floating Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green Turtle Floating Bed and Breakfast

Property: Green Turtle Floating Bed and Breakfast
Address: 1 Pier 8, at the end of 13th Street, Boston, MA 02129
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Green Turtle is a floating bed and breakfast as luxurious as it is unique. Set in the historic Charlestown Navy Yard on Boston Harbor, the Green Turtle offers an expansive view of the Boston skyline along with the comfort and amenities of a modern bed and breakfast. The USS Constitution (Old Ironsides), the Bunker Hill Monument and the Freedom Trail are a short walk away. You can take the water ferry to numerous points along the waterfront. There are dining choices from bagels to world famous dining. The Green Turtle houseboat and yachts were designed for comfort above all and the only reminder you are floating in Boston Harbor is the sound of the gulls, motion of the sea and the reflection of the ocean dancing on the ceiling. It is delightful starting your day sipping coffee or enjoying a cold beverage after a day of sightseeing while sitting on your dock chairs or aft deck watching the harbor traffic and city skyline. The Green Turtle Floating Bed and Breakfast offers 3 boat choices. The Green Turtle I is a houseboat offering two private and separate suites and each has 1 queen sized bed with luxury linens. Each suite(Loggerhead and Sea Turtle) has a kitchenette and a private bathroom en suite. Each suite sleeps 2 or reserve both suites for 4 people. Green Turtle II is a 45 foot motor yacht which sleeps 2 - 6 people. She has 2 private queen staterooms with bathroom and shower in each stateroom, a full sleeper sofa in the living area, a galley and dinette and a great aft deck with comfortable outdoor furniture. Green Turtle III is a 43 foot motor yacht which sleeps 2-4 in 2 queen staterooms with bathroom and shower in each, a salon (living area) galley and dinette and an aft deck with comfortable outdoor furniture. Your suite/yacht is stocked with gourmet coffee, teas, juice yogurt, granola, spring water and snacks. We deliver fresh breakfast each morning. Staying aboard the Green Turtle Floating Bed and Breakfast is a unique way to visit Boston. All boats are docked in marina slips and are moored permanently during your stay. We live right here on our sailboat. Come Float With Us! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Green Turtle Floating Hotel Boston
Green Turtle Floating b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing