We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place for a getaway near Boston”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Boston
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Green Turtle Floating Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 38 Boston B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 August 2014

We've stayed at the Green Turtle several times before they moved to Winthrop. We always had a great time - and we did again this time at their new Winthrop home. The location is right across from the airport, which I happen to enjoy. Found apps for my iPhone to show my local radar and listen in to ATC, sat on the dock with a glass of wine, and watched the planes and boats go by. There can be noise depending on wind direction, although Sunday we heard very little as the wind shifted to the east.

Winthrop is an interesting town. Lots of great places to eat, at far less that you'll pay just a few miles away in Boston. We spend two afternoons walking at the Deer Island park which looks over the islands and harbor - a perfect way to spend an afternoon.

Karen and Jon are wonderful hosts, the room is very nicely decorated with nice touches like bottles of water and munchies, and the breakfasts (brought by whenever you request) were as good as you'll find anywhere.

From the moment we walked down the dock we both felt like we were on vacation. The Green Turtle is a gem, and one of our favorite places to stay.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank thorgan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (580)
There are newer reviews for Green Turtle Floating Bed and Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

253 - 259 of 580 reviews

Reviewed 23 August 2014

Stayed here for a weekend in mid August and it was perfect! It's in a great location due to the fact its only about a 10-15 minute drive into Boston, yet still is far enough away to give you a calm, relaxing environment. For the Green Turtle B&B itself, I have only good things to say! First off, the inn keepers are wonderful and personable and really make you feel at home while you're staying at this B&B. The room itself was greatly furnished and really lived up to all my expectations and then some. And just the fact that they provided free wifi was a real nice add on as well!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Cody M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

First off I'm not a boat person , but this was soooooooo great I wanted to stay! It was a
real treat to spend time on the green turtle 111. I could have talked to Jon all day and the breakfasts that Karen made were outstanding---- served right on the boat! Didn't want to leave and will definitely return. Don't hesitate just go and experience the green turtle b&b !!!!

Nikki and brian( new hartford ny)

Room Tip: Different type of rooms ! Unique!!!
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Nikki Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We recently stayed at the Green Turtle for 2 nights. It was a special birthday trip for our Moms "70 something" birthdays. We reserved both suites of the houseboat for our Moms and our 2 daughters, my husband and I stayed in Green Turtle 2. This B&B was worth every penny. Jon and Karen were helpful, fun and kind. Karen even had a birthday ballon bouquet waiting upon arrival, in the houseboat, a nice touch. The 2nd night Karen brought in a birthday cake and it was waiting for us when we arrived back to the boat. Karen and Jon recommended a local, fabulous Italian Seafood restaurant, this is not to be missed! They thought of every personal touch. We loved sitting on the deck and watching the planes land, eating birthday cake and sipping our tea. The planes did not bother us at all, we slept soundly in comfortable beds.The only down side was arriving near midnight, 6 hours late due to a delayed flight, would have loved to stay longer. If we ever make it back to the Boston area this is where we will stay. Thank you Jon and Karen for making this a trip to remember for all of us!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank 20Leroy04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We stayed here as part of our Silver Wedding trip round America, and had a lovely time. Jon and Karen were really friendly, and even brought my husband a birthday cake! The breakfasts are fabulous, but our favourite part was sitting on the deck and just looking at the magical view across the harbour. We loved walking along the harbour each morning to catch the water taxi into Boston, it really added to the joy of each day.
My only problem was the awful seasickness I suffered with on the first day....if you are prone to seasickness, I can highly recommend ginger chewing gum which worked a treat!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Karen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

What a fantastic time aboard the Green Turtle II!!! Jon and Karen were fantastic and the yacht was amazing! The bed was super comfortable, the breakfast was home cooked and delicious, and the weather couldn't have been any better! We felt like queens aboard such a beautiful vessel and just wish we would have known when we booked that we should have stayed more nights! This is a perfect out of the ordinary B&B experience that you will NOT regret! The Green Turtle II is bigger than the GTI, but I didn't board the GTI so I can't tell you how it was. We LOVED the GTII, though!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LisaSG13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

My wife and I stayed July 28 to Aug. 1, 2014. I found Green Turtle by chance on VRBO and what a find. We have stayed in many B&Bs over the years but this was the best overall because of the owners, Karen and Jon. As other reviewers have said, you feel like like friends right from the start and definitely by the end. Not many B&Bs will give you the personal service like Jon and Karen. Yes, they will give you information but it's everything else that makes Green Turtle stand out. Usually breakfast is in a common room served at certain hours. Jon asks you when you would like breakfast and then he personally brings it to you the next morning, a breakfast made by Karen. We stayed in the Loggerhead Suite and there was a bar fridge with complimentary drinks such as milk, water, juice and yogurt. There were complimentary snacks including granola, all of which were replenished. There was a cannister of coffee, and an assortment of tea, The bed provided a most comfortable sleep. The B&B is close to Logan airport and planes are flying low overhead as they land or take-off, so as the locals say, you use the 10 second rule when talking. The planes stop overnight. Do not let this deter you from coming here as you will be missing out on a great place to stay. And where else can you walk out onto your dock and fish for striped bass? Getting into the city is easy, just a 15 minute walk to the "T". It takes you downtown. Karen and/or Jon will explain it all to you. Choose Green Turtle and relax. You'll be well cared for.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank 50goodtymes51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
Seaport Boston Hotel
Seaport Boston Hotel
#2 of 84 in Boston
4,866 reviews
Downtown
InterContinental Boston
East Boston / Logan Airport
Hyatt Regency Boston Harbor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fenway / Kenmore
Gryphon House
Gryphon House
#5 of 38 in Boston
359 reviews
South End
Encore Bed and Breakfast
Downtown
Boston Yacht Haven Inn & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Green Turtle Floating Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green Turtle Floating Bed and Breakfast

Address: 1 Pier 8 13th Street, Boston, MA 02129
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Boston
Price Range: £166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Green Turtle is a floating bed and breakfast as luxurious as it is unique. Set in the historic Charlestown Navy Yard on Boston Harbor, the Green Turtle offers an expansive view of the Boston skyline along with the comfort and amenities of a modern bed and breakfast. The USS Constitution (Old Ironsides), the Bunker Hill Monument and the Freedom Trail are a short walk away. You can take the water ferry to numerous points along the waterfront. There are dining choices from bagels to world famous dining. The Green Turtle houseboat and yachts were designed for comfort above all and the only reminder you are floating in Boston Harbor is the sound of the gulls, motion of the sea and the reflection of the ocean dancing on the ceiling. It is delightful starting your day sipping coffee or enjoying a cold beverage after a day of sightseeing while sitting on your dock chairs or aft deck watching the harbor traffic and city skyline. The Green Turtle Floating Bed and Breakfast offers 3 boat choices. The Green Turtle I is a houseboat offering two private and separate suites and each has 1 queen sized bed with luxury linens. Each suite(Loggerhead and Sea Turtle) has a kitchenette and a private bathroom en suite. Each suite sleeps 2 or reserve both suites for 4 people. Green Turtle II is a 45 foot motor yacht which sleeps 2 - 6 people. She has 2 private queen staterooms with bathroom and shower in each stateroom, a full sleeper sofa in the living area, a galley and dinette and a great aft deck with comfortable outdoor furniture. Green Turtle III is a 43 foot motor yacht which sleeps 2-4 in 2 queen staterooms with bathroom and shower in each, a salon (living area) galley and dinette and an aft deck with comfortable outdoor furniture. Your suite/yacht is stocked with gourmet coffee, teas, juice yogurt, granola, spring water and snacks. We deliver fresh breakfast each morning. Staying aboard the Green Turtle Floating Bed and Breakfast is a unique way to visit Boston. All boats are docked in marina slips and are moored permanently during your stay. We live right here on our sailboat. Come Float With Us! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Green Turtle Floating Hotel Boston
Green Turtle Floating b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing