We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A very convenient location”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of W Boston

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
W Boston
Ranked #27 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
140 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“A very convenient location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2012

Conveniently situated near Boston Common, this hotel may be a perfect hub for exploring Boston, whether you are on business or just for pleasure. Prices are also reasonable. You can also book without breakfast since there is a food court just across the street. Rooms are spacious bright and clean. The only thing that might be slightly irritating is those guys who open the main entrance. Yes, they are kind, but remind me a bit of bouncers.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cristiano_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MGabree, Director of Operations at W Boston, responded to this review, 16 June 2012
Hi there, Cristiano_9

Our rooms are indeed spacious, bright and clean - glad you thought so too!

Safe travels

-Matt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,594 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    894
    412
    169
    74
    45
See reviews for
280
548
103
410
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (296)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2012 via mobile

We spent a couple of nights at the Boston W. recently. Very up to date hotel with great amenities. Staff and service top notch. They even change the door and elevator mats from "Good Morning" to "Good Afternoon" as the day progresses. Lobby bar was really packed on Saturday night.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Splicebar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MGabree, Director of Operations at W Boston, responded to this review, 16 June 2012
Hi Splicebar,

The secret of great service lies in the detais - I'm glad that our door and elevator mats from caught your eye.

See you soon

-Matt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
52 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2012

and the front desk staff. The hotel is nice...very modern and cool looking. But as a guest you get the sense that the hotel management rely too heavily on these facts and do very little else to make this an outstanding hotel. It is a W, so with that comes a few givens: nice showers, spa amenities, cool lounge. But this was hardly the best W of the chain. Not terrible, but nothing "special", which is surprising for a big city like Boston.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RBStPete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2012

This is a good location as others have observed. The lobby, bar and restaurant share the small ground floor area. So, not the grand open spaces of other downtown hotels. The bar service was friendly, but seemed one person short during happy hour. Get a window seat and enjoy watching the passers-by. It is downtown-priced, so four individual sliders and four drinks was $100. Be advised as folks continually note, the valet parking is $44 a night. Self-parking options are limited and would run about $30. In downtown, you're generally gonna walk, cab or T. Pleasant surprises were in the room. Nice shower, marble and large. Bed was comfortable. be advised this is a downtown hotel in a busy area, there is street noise until 2 a.m. and the hotel is on the lower floors of the tower, only to about floor 14 (condos above). Consider earplugs. Very pleasant surprise was a charging station in the room with plugs for mini-USB (cell phones), IPad, and IPhone. What a great idea after I have forgotten these all the time. Three free bottles of water; however, the Boston tap water is fine to drink. The worktable and chair were very nice and the room was spacious with two side chairs, side table, work table, office chair and more. One complaint is the lighting over the sink is only on one side, so shaving involves some head turing. But there is a lighted make-up mirror. Late night (11 p.m.) room service was prompt and the menu and the delivery person explained that the service gratuity was already added. Okay by me. I would recommend it for a comfortable business stay or look location for enjoying time in the city. My spouse says it beats the Westin Copley where we had stayed serveral times, except for the views from the Westin SPG floors on the 40+ floors.

Room Tip: try to get as high a room as possible for less street noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Professorgreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goderich, Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2012

Ya....the shower is wonderful...lots of water coming from this gentle rain fall shower head. This hotel is well located in the city and tries very hard to be 'hip' with the young crowd. We figured this out as we came back from a Red Sox game late at night and had to clear two gentlemen in suits and ear pieces acting as security. When we showed them our hotel key and got it was obvious that night life is key to the W. The rooms are unique and clean. I always wonder why the ore expensive the hotel, and this is an expensive hotel, that you have to pay for what the economy hotel chains give you for free. Ie, wifi, parking, etc. If you are young and hip then the W beckons you.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1qaz2leadu4rd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Williamsville, Vermont
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2012

When we booked the room we had never heard of the W Hotel before so didn't really know what to expect. The drive to Boston was stressful with traffic backups for much of the way. When we arrived at the hotel we were stressed and tired. I went to check in and my husband and daughter sat down near the elevator to wait. Within minutes an employee noticed them and offered to get them something. When I came back a short time later my husband was sipping an ice cold beer and smiling. The hotel advertises "whatever whenever" service and they truly do just that. Our whole stay was as accommodating as our initial greeting. We always look for a W hotel now when we travel.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2012

I want to thank all the staff at W Boston for once again making our Boston trip so fantastic! All the staff are so amazing... This is our home away from home!!!
W Boston rooms are so clean and spacious !
I am very sad to leave my W Boston family!
Can't wait to come back!
Thanks Jen, Ken, Josh, Matt, Elaine, Leo and all the other staff who make this hotel so special!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jodesp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MGabree, Director of Operations at W Boston, responded to this review, 11 June 2012
Hi there, Irishprincess2


I'm sorry that we didn't meet your expectations. Regardless of points or dollars, our goal is to deliver fun, memorable experiences and again, I'm sorry that we fell short. Email me to let me know how I can make this up to you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Downtown
Kimpton Nine Zero Hotel
Downtown
The Godfrey Hotel Boston
Downtown
Revere Hotel Boston Common
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Ritz-Carlton, Boston
Downtown
The Langham, Boston
The Langham, Boston
#18 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,145 reviews
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to W Boston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W Boston

Property: W Boston
Address: 100 Stuart Street, Boston, MA 02116-4715
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Boston
#8 Spa Hotel in Boston
#19 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#23 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#25 Business Hotel in Boston
#30 Family Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — W Boston 4*
Number of rooms: 235
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A sophisticated and modern all glass hotel located within the heart of Boston's Theater District, W Boston offers guests close proximity to the city's most famous theaters, the Boston Common, Boston's Public Garden and numerous award-winning restaurants. With the city's only bliss spa, a see-and-be-seen fireplace lounge, 24-hour gym, and destination nightclub, W Boston exudes a 24/7 lifestyle. Guests have access to W's signature Whatever/Whenever(R) service promise providing them with whatever they want - from Green Monster seats at Fenway Park to a personal shopper for navigation around Boston's luxe Newbury Street - whenever they want it, as long as it's legal! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Southall Travel, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your W Boston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w Boston Hotel Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing