We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“W Boston / Great Location for walking tours of Boston”
Review of W Boston

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
W Boston
Ranked #24 of 86 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 14 October 2013

W Boston is centrally located and walking distance from many historical sights. The hotel is vintage W with a contemporary decor in common area's and in the guest rooms. The room layouts are a bit awkward and inefficient, however the floor to ceiling windows bring in naural light and great city views if on an upper floor. The staff is very friendly and accomodating when possible.Room upgrades for Platinum Guest happen about 1/2 the time. Valet Parking is rediculously expensive so self park if you have the time to walk a couple of blocks.
Overall, a very nice Hotel.

Room Tip: Request a junior suite or a corner room on a higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jwg333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MGabree, Director of Operations at W Boston, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2013

Thanks for the solid review. Our Cool Corner rooms are indeed fab and our WOW (we don't do "Jr.")Suites are even better! Book one soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,806)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,171 - 1,177 of 1,806 reviews

Reviewed 14 October 2013 via mobile

Really enjoyed our stay. Easy walk to Boston Commons, Back Bay, Northend and Southend.

Close to the subway (known as "the T") so we could get around town and to the airport. Also close to theaters and shopping.

Our fifth floor room didn't have a view but it was big.

Wi-fi worked perfectly. (Free for SPG Gold or higher status.)

Jenny, who checked us in was terrific and called when our room was ready.

We'd definitely return!

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PhilNTed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MGabree, Director of Operations at W Boston, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2013

"Phil "& Ted's Excellent Adventure! (1989, in case you're wondering) Let's do a sequel soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

The W Boston is in conveniently located. Boston Common close by, lots of shopping and restaurants within quick walking distance as well. For great pastries and breakfast, Flour is also a short walk from the hotel!

Service was especially great as they were accommodating with late check-in as well as late check-out.

Minor feedback is that it is pricey, and it does get noisy in the area, but that's the price to pay for being so close to everything. Plus, it's not bothersome for everyone, probably just older folks who want to get some shut-eye early.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank t4lC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MGabree, Director of Operations at W Boston, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2013

I'm thrilled that you enjoyed our fab Theatre District location and Whatever/Whenever service experience. Come back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013

Just stayed here for two nights, booked in by a client who was doing an event here. Please please note that I am reviewing this as a luxury property- if it were a Holiday Inn it would get four stars, but it's not- and the prices reflect that, so the review does too.

First the good:
- Location- theater district, close to the common /public gardens, and Boylston/Newbury street, also close to some good restaurants
- The room was modern and clean. and the bed was reasonably comfortable -but not as good as a Westin heavenly bed.
-The bathroom was clean and modern, but had relatively few toiletries for a luxury hotel.
-The valet parking (it's valet only) was efficient.

The bad (keeping in mind this is a luxury hotel).
-No coffee in the room - I guess you can request a coffee maker, but if not you have to get it from the lobby, and it's terrible- like Folger's level coffee. At first I thought it was just the lobby coffee, but the coffee in the meeting rooms was terrible too. Fortunately there is Starbucks across the street. By the way, I thought briefly about getting coffee from room service, but one large cup was about $18 by the time you paid for the coffee, service charge, tip, and tax. No thank you!
-My hair dryer didn't work. Fortunately I can get by with wash and wear
-No turn down service either night- surprising in a luxry hotel
Maid did not empty my wastebasket during service of my room
$15 / day for Wi-fi. really? at a luxury hotel?
$47 a day (plus tip) for parking. High even for Boston

I never made it to the gym (which I believe is free) as a I chose to walk around the city instead.

Food
- Market by Jean Georges- the hotel restaurant- good but not great. Had tuna tartare appetizer (nice!), lobster main course (good but not great), cheesecake for dessert (very average). Worst glass of pinot noir I have had in quite a while, but the white with the main course was good. There are a few better choices nearby, but it's not bad. Client paid so I don't know the prices.
-Food at meetings- definitely above average, but again the coffee was terrible, too bad.

Staff attitude- pretty good, but not like the Ritz/ Four Seasons etc.

I would probably not recommend this place as a luxury hotel. I have stayed at the Ritz (very good), Taj (very good), Boston harbor hotel (excellent) and Four Seasons (fantastic) in Boston and they are all better overall. I would also choose the Westin waterfront over this one. On the other hand, it's better than the Copley Plaza or Sheraton, but they are not luxury hotels.

final analysis: an average luxury hotel with a pretty good restaurant. Maybe a decent choice if you are attending a show in Boston, but there are a number of better choices nearby.

Room Tip: try the upper floors to avoid street noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank roberto_jose_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MGabree, Director of Operations at W Boston, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2013

We're definitely not trying to be The Ritz , The Taj or The Four Seasons, we’d have to wear ties! Otherwise; thorough review, and fair enough!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Great location! Right in the heart of the theatre district, very close to Newberry St. Easy access to great shopping, restaurants and bars. The bar and restaurant in the hotel were spectacular! Great service and style! Love this hotel and would highly recommend!!!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daisy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MGabree, Director of Operations at W Boston, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2013

I'm so thrilled that you enjoyed yourself, Daisy. Location, service and style - let's do it again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013 via mobile

When we stay in a boutique hotel and drop that kind of money, we expect all the amenities and service to be extraordinary and small details a standard practice. The rooms were very basic; had to sign up for wifi; bathroom lacked basic toiletries (only one bar soap, no q-tips, cottonballs, shower cap, etc), housekeeping awoke us at 9:00 am. Concierge was very accommodating. Hotel room was worth half of what we paid.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janice J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MGabree, Director of Operations at W Boston, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2013

Sorry we let you down this time, Janice. Regarding the rate, remember for next time that the best rates can be found on our website. Oh, and wifi is free in the W Lounge by the way. See you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2013

The W is well located right in the middle of the theater district, surrounded by a variety of restaurants of varied cuisine and cost and near public transit. The staff were very friendly, helpful and quick. The rooms are presented in European clean lines and the bed and pillows were very comfortable. The restaurant at the W is a bit pricey and the quality of the food did not seem to support that but it is irrelevant as there are a number of very good restaurants within a short walk. The Mistral was particularly good. There is a Bliss Spa too but I did not have the opportunity to try it out which was the only disappointment of the stay.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Valina D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MGabree, Director of Operations at W Boston, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2013

Thanks for the 5-star review, Valina D.! See you again soon.
-Matt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Downtown
Kimpton Nine Zero Hotel
Downtown
InterContinental Boston
Downtown
The Godfrey Hotel Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Revere Hotel Boston Common
Back Bay
Loews Boston Hotel
Loews Boston Hotel
#16 of 86 in Boston
1,754 reviews
Back Bay
The Westin Copley Place, Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to W Boston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W Boston

Address: 100 Stuart Street, Boston, MA 02116-4715
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Boston
#7 Spa Hotel in Boston
#17 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#23 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#25 Business Hotel in Boston
Price Range: £123 - £471 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — W Boston 4*
Number of rooms: 235
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A sophisticated and modern all glass hotel located within the heart of Boston's Theater District, W Boston offers guests close proximity to the city's most famous theaters, the Boston Common, Boston's Public Garden and numerous award-winning restaurants. With the city's only bliss spa, a see-and-be-seen fireplace lounge, 24-hour gym, and destination nightclub, W Boston exudes a 24/7 lifestyle. Guests have access to W's signature Whatever/Whenever(R) service promise providing them with whatever they want - from Green Monster seats at Fenway Park to a personal shopper for navigation around Boston's luxe Newbury Street - whenever they want it, as long as it's legal! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your W Boston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w Boston Hotel Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing