We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cool hotel in a convenient location”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of W Boston

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
W Boston
Ranked #27 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
93 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Cool hotel in a convenient location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2013

This is a W Hotel, so you´ll get a cool lobby, with cool people and cool music. The rooms are modern, clean, but nothing special. Comfortable, smaller rooms than expected, nice service and that´s it.
Service is ok. Breakfast is quite good, although the price will surprise you, because you will be paying like if you where in a 5 star grand luxury hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GLSMAD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gurki S, General Manager at W Boston, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Hello GLSMAD,

Thank you for choosing the W during your visit to Boston and I am thrilled that you enjoyed the vibe of the W during your stay. In regards to breakfast pricing we do try to be competitive and I will share your feedback with my restaurant manager. Hope you will visit us again.

Cheers,

Gurki
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,597 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    895
    412
    169
    76
    45
See reviews for
280
548
103
412
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (296)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2013

We spent six nights in the W in Boston. We were very well welcomed by the nice Swiss receptionist Daniella. The room was very comfortable: two queen size beds very comfortable, the bathroom was convenient. Nothing to say about the cleanliness of the room. Three negatives points: as the hotel is located in front of the Stuart street, the room was (very) noisy; friday and saturday nights, the lobby of the hotel turns into a lounge/club and when we went back of evening the door keeper asked our hotel key card I felt insulted; last negative point, the hotel has overcharged our credit card and then, at the end of our stay, credited our card…we lost around 30$ in the operation due to the currency change. But I'm not vengeful and I give 4 points!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eddie1232
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gurki S, General Manager at W Boston, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Hello Eddie 1232,

Sounds like you enjoyed your interaction with Daniella from the welcome desk and your overall stay. You made 3 negative observations as well and I am sorry that they impacted your stay and I have shared your feedback with my team so that we can improve on our delivery of service. We are located in the theater district with numerous entertainment venue surrounding us, which results in the W Lounge being very busy on weekends. For managing crowd control we do ask our guests for rooms keys, I assure you that this practice is only to ensure the safety and security of our guests. If I can be of further assistance please do not hesitate to contact me directly at gurkirat.singh@whotels.com.

All the best.

Gurki
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2013

While most of our hotel stays happen when we are on vacation or traveling for work, every once in a while we stay a night or two in the city to celebrate something special or just have a night out. We've stayed at the Liberty, Fairmont and Renaissance in the past but the W was hands-down the best experience of all. Apart from the regular luxuries you'd expect at a W property, the best thing going for this hotel is its location. The W is right in the middle of all the action in Boston with theaters, bars, clubs, restaurants and Boston Common all within walking distance.

Coming back to our experience - it was the super-quick reply to emails, the attention to detail for our requests, smooth check-in, the thoughtful extras in the room and the general attitude of the employees (all the way from the valet to the General Mananger) that really made this a special experience. As far as the rooms are concerned, they are very chic, appointed with a great deal of modern amenities. They may not be the largest rooms we've come across in the city but they were designed intelligently for maximum space utilization. While we're not big fans of the "Market" restaurant on property, we absolutely love their lobby bar & lounge. The lounge does tend to get a little crowded on weekends.

We also spent some time at Tunnel (the basement club in the hotel building), which was previously known as Descent. Great music and good vibe... just be mindful that the ceiling now has an orchestration of hundreds of bulbs all over that can sometimes be a little much! Nothing that a little alcohol can't help fix!

All in all, a great hotel in the middle of Boston with an exceptional staff.

P.S. Valet parking is not cheap at $47 for 24 hours but it does offer in/out privileges. There are plenty of other lots in the area if you don't care about moving your car!

P.P.S. We also tried massages at the Bliss Spa - really knowledgeable and experienced message therapists but the look/feel of the spa, or their amenities didn't blow us away.

Room Tip: The top half of the building are the W residencies so the highest that the hotel goes is 14 floors I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SunnyDubai10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gurki S, General Manager at W Boston, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Hello Sunny Dubai,

Thank you for your glowing endorsement of the W and the talent. You can always count on us when looking to mix it up in the city. Look forward to your next visit.

Cheers,

Gurki
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weehawken, New Jersey
Level Contributor
60 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2013

The Boston W served as the base for my best friend's bachelorette this past August. We stayed in a corner room that got amazing light (we were on the 8th floor) and had one way mirrors for the bathroom. Half of group stayed down the hall in a smaller room, and I have to say the corner room felt bigger and seemed much nicer. The staff (valet, door men and room service) were all really friendly and helpful (extra towels were delivered promptly and with a smile). The hotel was clean and had a luxurious feel. It was the perfect spot for a bachelorette as a male revue and many bars/clubs were in close walking distance. I did not book the hotel so I don't know specifics, but there was a hiccup with the booking - this may have been because a Travelocity credit was used and there was some confusion about the room's we had reserved. In fairness, the hotel gave us 1 free parking for the trouble. Usually valet parking is around $40, so be aware ahead of time. That said, the valet attendants were incredibly nice and helpful - they even took trash from the car out of my hands to throw away so I didn't have to walk to the garbage. This hotel is not cheap and I'm not sure it's worth the expense for a general stay (I usually go for the best value), but it was still a wonderful experience.

Room Tip: Corner rooms on the upper floors have a great (open, airy, and light) feel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank abby5075
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WBostonAlison, Manager at W Boston, responded to this review, 20 December 2013
Hi Abby5075!
Thank you for celebrating your friend's summer bachelorette at W Boston. We're thrilled to hear you enjoyed our theatre district location, and I'm so glad to hear it was a wonderful experience. We look forward to welcoming you back the next time you're in Boston.
Thank you,
Alison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2013

Despite concerning reviews regarding service at this hotel, I was really interested in staying because of the W's great reputation and modern flare. I wanted to stay at this hotel over Christmas with my husband who has been working his fingers to the bone at his job and deserves a break and a few special days. I was interested in the Wow Suite and the Extreme Wow Suite - what names! Unfortunately, you have to call someone to get a rate and to book. There is only ONE person who can give you this information. This person is never available, never returns phone calls, and never returns emails - I know, because I have been trying for two weeks. I called two weeks ago, no response. Called last week. No response. Called again this week, politely mentioned to the clerk that I've been having trouble reaching someone to book a suite - she kindly apologized and gave me the woman's email address. I left a voicemail for good measure, in addition to the email request. It's been two full business days since my latest attempt, and still no response. I have stayed in the best hotels around the world, and although I usually use the Ritz for a sure-fire experience, I wanted to try the W for something sleek, fun, and sophisticated. This is not it. I still have no idea if I can even book a room, therefore I will be going somewhere else. I can only imagine this level of service extends throughout the hotel, because waiting longer than 24 hours to respond to a booking request is unprofessional, and unheard of at this level in the industry. Oh well.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SH20132013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gurki S, General Manager at W Boston, responded to this review, 8 November 2013
Hello SH2013,

I am sorry and there are no excuses for us dropping the ball in our follow up on your request for pricing for our premium suites. I assure you that we do not as a norm try to make it hard for our guests to book rooms with us and I am following up on our internal protocol to handle these requests going forward. I also want to thank you for considering us in the first place and while I am sure you have already secured accommodations , I would love to connect with you in person to see if you would reconsider. W is a 24/7 energetic, vibrant, electric getaway especially during the holiday season and I am sure that your husband and yourself will enjoy your stay with us. My email address is gurkirat.singh@whotels.com and I look forward to hearing from you.

Cheers,

Gurki
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

Having a 7 month at home and it being our wedding anniversary we decided to head into Boston for a night. And we were BLOWN AWAY by the service and experience at the W. Not only did they contact us before we arrived to see if they could help, but also sent up a complementary bottle of wine to celebrate our wedding anniversary - with a hand written note. The nice little touches made my wife and I have a great experience at the W... Oh and it is still a cool, trendy hotel with great rooms, etc... I recommend it for a weekend experience...

Room Tip: All rooms are cool, but we stayed on the 12th floor which is great... Gym is on the 4th if you need...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gurki S, General Manager at W Boston, responded to this review, 8 November 2013
Hello David,

I am glad you had an enjoyable stay over a memorable occasion Let’s make it a yearly tradition.

Cheers,

Gurki
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

Starting with ALL Staff! They are simply outstanding! It started with my arrival with Daniela, and didnt slip anywhere for my entire stay. All staff are great. Location is excellent, and the Hotel itself is superb! Keep it going W Boston!!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gurki S, General Manager at W Boston, responded to this review, 8 November 2013
Hi Paul,

You got it! Join us again soon.

Cheers,

Gurki
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Downtown
Kimpton Nine Zero Hotel
Downtown
The Godfrey Hotel Boston
Downtown
Revere Hotel Boston Common
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Ritz-Carlton, Boston
Downtown
The Langham, Boston
The Langham, Boston
#18 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,148 reviews
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to W Boston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W Boston

Property: W Boston
Address: 100 Stuart Street, Boston, MA 02116-4715
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Boston
#8 Spa Hotel in Boston
#19 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#23 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#25 Business Hotel in Boston
#30 Family Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — W Boston 4*
Number of rooms: 235
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A sophisticated and modern all glass hotel located within the heart of Boston's Theater District, W Boston offers guests close proximity to the city's most famous theaters, the Boston Common, Boston's Public Garden and numerous award-winning restaurants. With the city's only bliss spa, a see-and-be-seen fireplace lounge, 24-hour gym, and destination nightclub, W Boston exudes a 24/7 lifestyle. Guests have access to W's signature Whatever/Whenever(R) service promise providing them with whatever they want - from Green Monster seats at Fenway Park to a personal shopper for navigation around Boston's luxe Newbury Street - whenever they want it, as long as it's legal! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, TravelUp, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your W Boston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w Boston Hotel Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing