We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Chic, Modern Luxury in the heart of Boston” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of W Boston

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
W Boston
Ranked #27 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Chic, Modern Luxury in the heart of Boston”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

Our stay at the W Hotel Boston was superb. This hotel is modern, upscale, and chic. The service was wonderful, and they even sent a number of personal emails to me prior to check-in just to say they were looking forward to having us, and asking if there was anything they could do to make our stay more special. Check-in was quick, and they upgraded us to a room on a higher floor, which had great city views. The lobby, bar, and breakfast restaurant areas on the first floor are very stylish and modern. There is also coffee, tea, and fruit infused ice water available just beside the check-in desks. The staff was also quick to bring items needed to our room when asked, such as bowls and silverware. All with a smile.

We loved our room. It was painted in a moody grey, and the long entrance way gave it a sense of drama. The bathoom was smartly laid out, with full sized shower and toliet in their own separate room. Bliss bath products are provided, and the smell and feel great. The shower had a really nice adjustable, massaging showerhead. Outside the shower/toliet area is a separate sink area with floating bowl sink, and plenty of room for personal items. A rolling shade behind the bath mirror can be pulled up to reveal a see-through screen to allow natural light and a view of the room. The design is ingenious.

The king sized platform bed and linens were extremely comfortable and first class. The room is also packed with electronics like a white noise machine, BOSE bluetooth enabled speaker, smartphone/iPhone charging station, DVD player, and flat panel TV with hookups for your own electronic devices. They also provide a well stocked mini bar and a loaded snack box. There’s also a ton of lighting options in the room, which we were happy to play around with and find the best feel for our mood. We couldn’t hear any other hotel noises in the room either -- it was like sleeping in a vault. Another nice touch is a window that can be opened to allow in outside air. We were able to turn off the airconditioning and let in the unseasonably cool August air.

We found the hotel to be very convenient for walking to Boston Common, Thinking Cup, Chinatown restaurants, and a Whole Foods is just about a 15 minute walk away. We also caught a train at Boston South Station which is a 15 minute walk straight down the street from the hotel.

I highly recommend staying here for the service, location, and ambience. We can’t wait to stay again when we’re in Boston.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lucky_bunni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMGurkiSingh, General Manager at W Boston, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Hi lucky_bunni,
Thanks for joining us at W Boston, and the fantastic review! I'm so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us, and all the special touches that we add to a hotel experience. I look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Boston.
See you soon.
All the best,
Gurki Singh
General Manager, W Boston
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,569 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    874
    409
    169
    74
    43
See reviews for
274
541
101
401
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (293)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

Trendy hotel located in the theatre district. Obviously, the focus of the W hotel chain is customer appreciation as every staff member greets you, opens doors with a smile and are available to assist you. A lot of attention to detail in this hotel with a lot of free extras in the room such as Bose speakers, CD player, free water, Comfortable down pillows, etc, etc. We first stayed in NYC's W hotel and were pleasantly surprised as we usually stay at the Crowne Plaza on Times Square customer service is poor for example instead of saying please give me a minute you get the stop sign with a hand. A lot of details in this hotel but new and trendy if that suits your taste. The only problem I see at the W in Boston is that the doors to rooms slam when closing and this can be startling with late check in neighbours. I would definitely book this hotel chain again!

Room Tip: We stayed in a 2 queen bed room spectacular and was very comfortable as we were travelling with our...
See more room tips
Green Features: You have the enviro option which means no one sets foot in your room for the duration and we received free wifi. suffice to say on the third day the staff left a note for cleaning of our room if we wanted new linen or towels which they did.
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian_M_822014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMGurkiSingh, General Manager at W Boston, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Hi Brian_M_822014,
Thanks for joining us at W Boston. I'm so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us, and look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Boston.
See you soon.
All the best,
Gurki Singh
General Manager, W Boston
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

My first time at a W, although I usually like Westins. I was disappointed. Hotel seemed a bit worn and cheap. Carpeting, furnishings, decor all looked like a bit, well... cheap, sort of like a Hampton Inn with a really nice bathroom, which is great if you are staying at a Hampton Inn, but not what I expected from a W. Bed was comfortable, and I liked the opening window in the room. Bathroom was nice. No coffee provisions in room, which to me is inexplicable. I was ok with the $50 parking fee, but a bit put out by the $15 internet fee (which in all fairness, the front desk did remove from the bill. There was also a local phone call fee, which they also removed and I think was because the concierge made a call to find out about a tour.)

Service was good, I guess. The concierge put forth a good effort in finding some info for us, the parking valets were quick and courteous, and the front desk staff was fine.

All in all, the hotel would have been better if someone else were paying for it (meaning if I were on a business trip.) Didn't feel like it was a good value, and I really like having coffee in the morning without having to call room service.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank c388791
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMGurkiSingh, General Manager at W Boston, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Hi c388791,

Thank you for your review, and for staying with us at W Boston.

I appreciate your feedback regarding the rooms, and we do have a complimentary Keurig coffee maker that we can have waiting in your room upon arrival. Please let me know if you'd like us to note this preference on future reservations; you can contact me anytime at GMGurkirat.singh@whotels.com.

Thank you,
Gurki Singh
General Manager, W Boston
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seoul
Level Contributor
42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014 via mobile

Nice and chic hotel. Typical W. Stayed here three times. I realised during this year's visit that Jean George's restaurant on the 1st floor started with this hotel was not there any more. Means no restaurant is in this hotel except a breakfast lounge and lobby lounge. Excellent service. Staffs are very friendly.

Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank bduckk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMGurkiSingh, General Manager at W Boston, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Hi bduckk,
Thanks for joining us at W Boston! I'm so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We are in the process of searching for a chef partner, and hope to have a new signature restaurant in place soon.
I look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Boston! See you soon.
All the best,
Gurki Singh
General Manager, W Boston
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

What a great hotel to stay in while visiting Boston.
Staff is really friendly. Rooms nice. Bathrooms beautiful.
Good location. Bar is nice.
Would definitely stay again. Stayed on 6th floor. Had a room on the even side which was a better view than odd side.

Room Tip: Even side rooms have better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank romred4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMGurkiSingh, General Manager at W Boston, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Hi romred4!
Thanks for joining us at W Boston. I'm so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us, and look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Boston.
See you soon.
All the best,
Gurki Singh
General Manager, W Boston
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

This was our first stay at the W. I always wanted to try. Overall it is a very good experience. The bed was comfortable, room was quiet (cannot hear noise from the lobby), but when the next door guest having a part you can't sleep, but I guess this is not the hotel's problem. Location is excellent, you can walk to Boston Common or subway station within minutes, doormen were all super helpful. The price is definitely high but I would say you get what you paid for.

Room Tip: Request higher floor since the lobby turned into a lounge at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Moon K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMGurkiSingh, General Manager at W Boston, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Hi Moon K,
Thanks for joining us at W Boston for your first W experience! I'm so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us, and look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Boston.
See you soon.
All the best,
Gurki Singh
General Manager, W Boston
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warszawa
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

I've stayed only for two days and have not used most of services provided by the hotel so my review only applies only to the hotel location and room. I also have not paid for the stay, so can't relate to the price/value ratio.
Hotel has very modern design and room has everything you need (though WiFi in the room is an extra paid). Staff is very helpful and communicative. Very good location if you are interested in historical Boston city district.
Would recommend this if you are looking for a high standard, modern style hotel near center of Boston.

Room Tip: One thing that is quite odd about the room is that the bathroom is not separated from the rest of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Szymon7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMGurkiSingh, General Manager at W Boston, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Hi Syzmon S,

Thanks for joining us at W Boston. I'm so glad to hear you enjoyed your SPG stay with us, and look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Boston.

See you soon.

All the best,
Gurki Singh
General Manager, W Boston
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Downtown
Kimpton Nine Zero Hotel
Downtown
Revere Hotel Boston Common
Downtown
The Godfrey Hotel Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Ritz-Carlton, Boston
Downtown
The Langham, Boston
The Langham, Boston
#17 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,119 reviews
Downtown
InterContinental Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to W Boston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W Boston

Property: W Boston
Address: 100 Stuart Street, Boston, MA 02116-4715
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Boston
#8 Spa Hotel in Boston
#19 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#23 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#25 Business Hotel in Boston
#30 Family Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — W Boston 4*
Number of rooms: 235
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A sophisticated and modern all glass hotel located within the heart of Boston's Theater District, W Boston offers guests close proximity to the city's most famous theaters, the Boston Common, Boston's Public Garden and numerous award-winning restaurants. With the city's only bliss spa, a see-and-be-seen fireplace lounge, 24-hour gym, and destination nightclub, W Boston exudes a 24/7 lifestyle. Guests have access to W's signature Whatever/Whenever(R) service promise providing them with whatever they want - from Green Monster seats at Fenway Park to a personal shopper for navigation around Boston's luxe Newbury Street - whenever they want it, as long as it's legal! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Southall Travel and TravelUp so you can book your W Boston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w Boston Hotel Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing