We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This hotel made our honeymoon great...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ames Boston Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton
Ranked #39 of 86 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 October 2012

My husband and I recently stayed at the Ames Hotel for our honeymoon. We stayed from 10/1 through 10/7. I cannot say enough about how amazing this hotel was and is.

Not only was it beautiful and modern and well decorated, the staff was incredible. From the moment we checked in, they were welcoming and accommodating. From a bottle of champagne and congratulations from the front desk in our room to the always helpful restaurant and site suggestions from the doormen. We felt like we could ask anyone for anything and made friends with so many members of the staff that we can't wait to go back!

Every interaction with a hotel staff member was positive and the personal level of service from each was amazing. From remembering our names, to congratulating us on our recent wedding at every turn, the bartenders in the restaurant, the concierge and those already listed, we were so happy. This hotel made our trip perfect and we loved staying here.

Even more specifically, fantastic customer service from Derek, Charles, Frances, Eduardo and Jesse and Michael in the restaurant plus too many others to mention.

The location is also exactly where we wanted to be, walking distance to Faneuil Hall and the North End, near great pubs and the T is across the street. The rooms were comfortable and the showers are awesome. We thought it was absolutely worth the money if for the level of service along.

Room Tip: We were given a corner room on the 5th floor which had amazing windows and natural light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank reviewergal006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,609)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

991 - 997 of 1,609 reviews

Reviewed 7 October 2012

We stayed for a weekend as a couple and had a great time. The design of the rooms is really interesting and comfortable. The room was really quiet even when the lobby was boisterous. The hotel had a fun feel. Downside is the water on the floor from the shower, but the shower is so spacious and the Malin+Goetz bath products totally make up for inconvenience. The staff was extremely helpful and accomodating.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelfriendspr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2012

The location was perfect for us to do a lot of sight seeing in a short period of time. Loved the decor a mixture of old building and modern interior. The contintental breakfast was of good quality. I found the staff helpful. A standard room was a good size. Only reason I have not given it full marks was due to cost.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RosieLincs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2012

I was in this wonderful hotel with my girlfriend for 3 nights last spring...It was our first time in Boston, and I think we shouldn't find something better than this.
The hotel is in a wonderful position, close to EVERYTHING...shops, metro stations, Boston common...I mean, really everything!
Rooms are really stunning, and comfortable...the palace that host the hotel it's beautiful. Receptionists and concierge are very polite and always ready to give you informations about everything.
the restaurant at the 1st floor, called WOODWARD it's very nice and the food awesome, I think the best Caesar salad I've ever eat in the States...

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlbyGlobetrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2012

The Ames is in a great location at 1 Court Street....in the very center of Boston. You can walk anywhere downtown. The staff was great. The restaurant and bar....good food and drinks. The rooms are very modern....a Euro touch.

Our flight from LA arrived on Saturday afternoon. Our walk around Boston that evening was fun. Great food....lively crowds. Unfortunately for us, the hotel forgot to mention that they were having three wedding receptions that evening, and there was a hemp festival on the Commons and a Christian music festival around the corner. Wow....party central until 2 AM. Constant police sirens and yelling. It might have been tolerable if the hotel's 2009 renovation had
included major sound proofing from street noises. Oh....and how about that construction noise from across the street staring at 6 AM Sunday.

Room Tip: Avoid street facing rooms. Noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jbzspace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2012

We recently spent 5 night at the Ames. The location very central you can walk everywhere and the old state capitol can be seen from some of the rooms, as others have said the complimentary breakfast was really nice. The staff on the door were very helpful and friendly.

The few negatives to point out, housekeeping was not consistent, there were days when towels and tolitries were not replaced. Others have mentioned the wifi, travelling from the UK we had planned to use the business centre to book excursions and check in for flights online, we were quite shocked to find that there was a charge to use the internet, we have travelled a lot in the USA and this is the only time we have had to pay for this.

The mini bar again as mentioned everything was expensive.

Our overall feeling was that the hotel was more into making money, (even the laundry bag could be bought for $35) than customer service. There was not a general friendly feeling from staff.

Boston is a fantastic city and we did not do everything we planned and will return at some point, unfortunately we would not choose to stay at the Ames again as it did not meet our needs.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dracgg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2012

Stayed in the Ames for a long weekend with 3 other of my friends. We booked the deluxe double double room, since there were 4 of us in a room. The room was enough space for us and our luggage, certainly after reading of Boston hotel rooms being on the small size. The bathroom was gorgeous and the shower was very nice--great water pressure. We took advantage of the breakfast each morning and was a very nice addition to the hotel seeing as we didn't have to worry about where to grab something to eat each morning. We really enjoyed the location of the Ames, being right near 2 T stations that would take you anywhere you needed to go. The staff was very nice and accomodating as well. I would definatly reccommend the Ames to anyone traveling to Boston.

Room Tip: We stayed on the 11th floor and couldn't hear any noise from street, plus had a great view of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GVilleGal27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Downtown
The Bostonian Boston
The Bostonian Boston
#25 of 86 in Boston
1,768 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Nine Zero Hotel
Downtown
Hilton Boston Downtown / Faneuil Hall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Langham, Boston
The Langham, Boston
#18 of 86 in Boston
2,432 reviews
Downtown
XV Beacon
XV Beacon
#15 of 86 in Boston
1,146 reviews
Downtown
InterContinental Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ames Boston Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ames Boston Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton

Address: 1 Court St, Boston, MA 02108-2615
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#39 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#40 Business Hotel in Boston
Price Range: £144 - £404 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ames Boston Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton 4*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ames, located in the beautiful and historic Ames building, inspires both modern style and old world sophistication. An experience rich with elegant interpretations, Ames is ideally located near historic Faneuil Hall and Beacon Hill. Boasting a vibrant restaurant and bar offering an atmosphere that is at once refined and playful, a state-of-the art fitness center and suites accented by dramatic, Romanesque arched windows and original fireplaces. Our hotel is now part of the Curio Collection by Hilton and features Hilton HHonors benefits and rewards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Ames Boston Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ames - a Morgans Original Hotel Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing