We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good modern option in Boston”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Ames Boston Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton
Ranked #42 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Yarmouth, Maine
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good modern option in Boston”
Reviewed 7 May 2013

Modern design rooms in the lifestyle boutique hotel. Love the look and feel. Got a room upgrade which is always a bonus. Booked it through Tablet Hotels.
My only comment was rat breakfast was less than impressive. Nothing wrong or bad, just nothing to write home about, special or unique.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,489 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    773
    457
    156
    75
    28
See reviews for
216
700
95
292
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (247)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sarasota, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013

I was lucky enough to get a great rate through "Living Social" and this hotel had the best location for our Spring college tour.
The concierge were very helpful as they allowed us to arrive at 8;30am on the day of our reservation and leave our suitcases with them until we returned from our college visits. They even offered us free breakfast that day.
The rooms are small , but very modern and clean.
Room service was prompt .
I would recommend this to any type of traveller.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gillyfrancis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
173 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013

Really enjoyed my stay in relatively newly opened hotel, hide rooms, modern, good size. Really friendly and attentive service. Excellent bar, bistro area, great quality, super choice and keenly priced.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DanIelDMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2013

From the moment we arrived the service was more than we could have expected! An extra thank you to both Matt, on reception, who quickly, happily had graciously sorted out an issue with our room and Charles, in the concierge, who went out of his way to ensure we were looked after not just at the hotel but locally too. The rooms (and wardrobe!) seemed a little small by USA standards (though fine for Europe!) but the suite was simply fantastic so if you are staying for any length of time then i would say its worth the upgrade. Either way they are well kitted out and both the room and bathroom were clean and well presented and appeared new. The complimentary cold buffet breakfast is a great touch and pitched just right. The location is central and its easy to walk to many attractions with public transport a moment away. There are lots of places very nearby to eat/drink/shop. The gym was small but like the rooms i think it is because its an old building that has been modernised and space is maybe a bit tight. The restaurant and bar for us were nothing out of the ordinary though seemed popular with locals.
Overall a lovely boutique hotel that is made great by its fantastic staff. After all you can find a 'lovely boutique hotel' anywhere, but its fantastic staff and service that make you stay again and again.

Room Tip: There is traffic noise so try and get a room higher up
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nadineabc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2013

So glad my conference hotel booked up early because it meant my husband and I stayed at the Ames purely by chance! Absolutely worth the price for location, laid-back vibe, and comfort (and views). This was a proper grown-up and sexy hotel. The breakfast room is beautiful, looking out over the financial district as it wakes up, and something that I absolutely loved about it: no one annoys you at breakfast - you can refill your coffee at the bar without waiting for service or waiting for someone to wait on you. The decor is boutique and luxe - dare you to take the elevator without touching the leather walls. It's smack bang in the centre of the city so you can wander to Faneuil hall and market just down the street for some goodies, stroll down to Macy's, or run to Sam La Grassa's for an awesome Pastrami sandwich before they close at 3:30pm!
If you're a business traveller this will make you glad you're one (maybe for a change), and if you're a young couple on a city break, this will certainly impress your other half.

Room Tip: We were in room 809 - a corner room, which appeared to be larger than the others on the floor. Great...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2013

I travel for work 50% of the time and I absolutely LOVE when Boston comes onto my travel schedule, because it means I can stay at the Ames. The staff is amazing. They really take the time to get to know returning guests and on my third stay (months after my last stay) the front desk staff welcomed me by name and had my room and newspaper preferences down pat! They also gave me some complimentary drink tickets! This hotel really makes you feel welcome, they are professional, and all around lovely. The rooms are super clean. Beds are heavenly. No complaints here! It's a perfect experience!

Room Tip: If you can, get a corner suite. It's like a mini house! It's so big and swanky!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erinm1112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2013

On a brief business trip to Boston, I enjoyed staying at the Ames hotel. Interesting architectural history and in a fantastic location. I'd like to come back on vacation to explore the area a little more. My room was pretty large and very clean.

Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank Robin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Downtown
XV Beacon
XV Beacon
#13 of 83 in Boston
1,111 reviews
Downtown
The Langham, Boston
The Langham, Boston
#18 of 83 in Boston
2,273 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Nine Zero Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Godfrey Hotel Boston
Downtown
The Bostonian Boston
The Bostonian Boston
#26 of 83 in Boston
1,595 reviews
Downtown
Hilton Boston Downtown / Faneuil Hall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ames Boston Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ames Boston Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton

Property: Ames Boston Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton
Address: 1 Court Street, Boston, MA 02108-2615
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#39 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#40 Business Hotel in Boston
#48 Family Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Ames Boston Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton 4*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ames, located in the beautiful and historic Ames building, inspires both modern style and old world sophistication. An experience rich with elegant interpretations, Ames is ideally located near historic Faneuil Hall and Beacon Hill. Boasting a vibrant restaurant and bar offering an atmosphere that is at once refined and playful, a state-of-the art fitness center and suites accented by dramatic, Romanesque arched windows and original fireplaces. Our hotel is now part of the Curio Collection by Hilton and features Hilton HHonors benefits and rewards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Ames Boston Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ames - a Morgans Original Hotel Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing