We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A GREAT EXPERIENCE”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ames Boston Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton
Ranked #40 of 84 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 October 2013

We stayed at the hotel for 3 nights and were impressed with the hotel in relation to staff and location. We asked for and were given a room on a high floor as suggested by many previous reviewers. It was room 1401 ( there is no floor 13 !) and offered a limited, but still impressive, view of the harbour. We hardly heard any noise inside or outside the hotel and thought the bed was extremely comfortable. Would we return? Definitely!

Room Tip: 1401 is great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PaulExeter_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Takayuki S, Manager at Ames Boston Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2013

Thank you for having a great experience with us and also the wonderful review. We hope to see you soon!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,543)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

800 - 806 of 1,543 reviews

Reviewed 8 October 2013

Very impressed with the hotel. The building is lovely and the location brilliant - directly opposite the State House and site of the Boston Massacre on the Freedom Trail, two minutes from Faneuil Hall and 5 minutes walk to the harbour.

Because of the location the hotel is a little noisy at night. We were on the fifth floor but you can hear the traffic, the subway and people playing the piano in the street outside the State House. I guess thats why you have ear plugs supplied at the side of the bed...

Hotel was very clean with all the in room amenities you'd expect. It would have benefited from the bar/restaurant being open but there are plenty of other options around. Staff were also very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dan_and_Rachael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Takayuki S, Manager at Ames Boston Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2013

Thank you for the great review. On your next visit, please request for a higher and quieter floor and we will accomodate you. Our restaurant is currently under the re-concept stage and I am also hoping for the restaurant to open soon. We hope to see you soon!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

What a great hotel! My husband and I will definitely stay at the Ames again. We arrived into the city early after taking a red eye from the west coast. Although we knew the hotel was full and we wouldn't be able to check in early, we arrived at the hotel around 8a to drop off our luggage and rental car and were greeted by a very friendly staff, who provided us with a map and walking directions to stuff we might want to do. They said they'd try to get us a room by 1p and offered to call us, but we told them we would call. A little after 1, my husband decided to call and sure enough, our room was ready! This really impressed us especially since we knew the hotel had been completely booked the night before.

The room was minimalist, just like the pictures. The bed was extremely comfortable-we liked the simple duvet vs regular sheets. The AC worked great especially since it was an unseasonably warm week in Boston. The room was really clean, as was the bathroom. The room was just awesome all around and we had zero complaints. If 10 stars were an option, that's what we would give it.

The location is fantastic and made walking around the city extremely easy-we didn't even need to take the car out. And we appreciated the advice of the staff on what would be open so early on a Sunday morning.

When we needed to check out, our car was waiting in front of the hotel within minutes, which was great considering we needed to leave early.

The staff could not have been nicer! We can't wait until we can take another trip to Boston and stay again at the Ames!

Room Tip: Book directly from Splendia.com - they gave us a fantastic rate that was 50%lower than any of the ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Takayuki S, Manager at Ames Boston Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2013

Thank you for the wonderful 10 star review of your property. We look forward seing you soon Gina!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

I spent 3 nights at the Amey and the experience was thoroughly enjoyable. Excellent value for money, comfortable, stylish and yet minimalist room. Loved the Milton brown toiletries. Location couldn`t be better. Future guests will get to enjoy the lobby bar once it opens.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ss3627
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Takayuki S, Manager at Ames Boston Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2013

Thank you for the great review of your hotel. Our restaurant is under re-concept and looking for great things to happen. We hope to see you soon!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2013

There were lots of things about the Ames that were everything you'd want in a luxury hotel. The location is excellent - close to everything you want to see in Boston and located right next to the T for sites too far to walk to. The decor is very modern, minimalist furniture and a clean color palette. The building itself is beautiful - tall windows with lots of light and a nice view of downtown. The bathtub was amazing - absolutely huge with fantastic toiletries. Dispute other reviews, we found the doorman, Derrick, to be very helpful and consistently present to open the door or answer a question we had about our plans.

However, somehow it doesn't add up to a comfortable stay. Our room (10th floor, double bed) was so incredibly small there was literally 12" of floor space surrounding the perimeter of the beds. I'm pretty sure the bathroom had more square footage than the bedroom. The minimalist theme continued with the linens - the beds didn't have top flat sheets, just the duvet. Your choice during the night was down duvet or nothing (although the a/c was wonderfully efficient). The lobby was more like the showroom for a minimalist furniture store.

Finally, the lobby staff wasn't friendly or particularly helpful. We had several questions about airport logistics and rental car returns - the directions to the airport weren't correct, the response to our request to assist in securing a minivan taxi was "come down tomorrow and we should be able to find something or you can just take two cars," and we received a similar answer to "ask again tomorrow" when we inquired about a late check out.

All in all, the Ames was nice looking but seemed empty and cold. For the cost, I'd prefer a warmer, more helpful, staff and a bigger room.

Of course, we may just not be cool enough to stay here...

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mcholmes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig B, Front Office Manager at Ames Boston Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2013

We're incredibly sorry you found our lobby staff to be unfriendly or helpful. If you could contact me at ames@amesbostonhotel.com so we could have more details I'll be sure to address your issues with the appropriate staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2013

The negative reviews below seem to be looking for a resort or a "happening" place. I was perfectly happy to have a quiet, comfortable, clean room with no crowds lounging around in the lobby. It's a minimalist decor, so if you don't like that, you should stay elsewhere. The staff was friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dmadeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Takayuki S, Manager at Ames Boston Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2013

Thank you for your great comments regarding our hotel. We hope to see you soon!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Beautiful old building with a excellent modern interior.
Location was great for touring the city historic sites.
Staff was wonderful, very helpful with advice and recommendations.
Good restaurants are close by, tour buses stop in the same block, great view across the city from our room.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LAK4310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frances C, Front Office Manager at Ames Boston Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2013

Thank you for your review! Please come back soon, and reach out to me if I can assist with reservations!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Downtown
XV Beacon
XV Beacon
#15 of 84 in Boston
1,130 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Nine Zero Hotel
Downtown
The Langham, Boston
The Langham, Boston
#17 of 84 in Boston
2,349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Godfrey Hotel Boston
Downtown
The Bostonian Boston
The Bostonian Boston
#23 of 84 in Boston
1,671 reviews
Downtown
The Ritz-Carlton, Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ames Boston Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ames Boston Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton

Address: 1 Court Street, Boston, MA 02108-2615
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#39 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#40 Business Hotel in Boston
#48 Family Hotel in Boston
Price Range: £158 - £619 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ames Boston Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton 4*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ames, located in the beautiful and historic Ames building, inspires both modern style and old world sophistication. An experience rich with elegant interpretations, Ames is ideally located near historic Faneuil Hall and Beacon Hill. Boasting a vibrant restaurant and bar offering an atmosphere that is at once refined and playful, a state-of-the art fitness center and suites accented by dramatic, Romanesque arched windows and original fireplaces. Our hotel is now part of the Curio Collection by Hilton and features Hilton HHonors benefits and rewards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Ames Boston Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ames - a Morgans Original Hotel Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing