We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“have a few drinks if you want to get a nights sleep”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Ames Boston Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton
Ranked #43 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Wilbraham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“have a few drinks if you want to get a nights sleep”
Reviewed 25 November 2013

stayed on a saturday night in September. Awaoke to what i thought was a mini earth quake or maybe an extremly noisy elevator. I was able to determine that the hotel is writ over the Tline that starts at 5 in the morning.
Secondly, i stupidly left my phone charger in the wall for my new iphone 5. Called the next day and spoke to a gentlman that took my address, telling me he would mail it to me. Its November and it still hasn't arrived!!!!
I realize it was my fault for leaving it in the wall, but you don't have to be a Boston detective to locate which employee unplugged it and made it their own. I wouldn't go back!!!!

Room Tip: stay away from the T
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WesternMass01095
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Takayuki S, Manager at Ames Boston Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, 30 November 2013
Please accept my sincere apology for the inconvenience regarding your Iphone charger. If you are able to email the hotel at ames@amesbostonhotel.com with your name and contact info we will be able to check our lost and found to see if we have your charger. And if we do have your charger in our lost and found department. We will ship it to you right away. We look forward hearing from you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,391 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    722
    430
    149
    66
    24
See reviews for
193
655
93
271
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (235)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
sydney
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 23 November 2013

Stayed here 5 nights. Was a fantastic location. 7 minute walk to the waterfront. Right on the hop on hop off bus route. The staff were absolutely fantastic, especially Angela on the front desk. Assisted with booking day trips and advice about shopping etc. The restaurant was closed for our stay but there were plenty of local places for food and coffee. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aussies767
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Takayuki S, Manager at Ames Boston Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, 30 November 2013
Thank you for the great review. We also would like to let you know that we are now serving European cold breakfast. We hope to see you soon!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2013

We stayed 2 nights in this hotel. We were amazed they could be classified as a hotel. The building and the rooms were very modern and clean. Majority of the rooms did not have a bath. Were shocked to fing after asking, that there is absolutely no room service, after several requests managed to get a coffee maker brought to our room. No restaurant or breakfast facilities at all, have to go out for breakfast. There is a restaurant in the hotel, so looks impressive, but is just not used at all. Unfortunately you are not informed there is no breakfast facilities, unless you ask for the breakfast hours. No tourist brochures at all, except for a map of the centre. We were instructed to go to the information office in the centre of town.
We are regular travellers and have never given a bad report on a hotel before, but this was extremely dissappointing. Felt very sorry for the staff who had to deal with the patrons, they really tried to do their best, think the management need to do something to turn this inot a hotel. Never stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brenda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Takayuki S, Manager at Ames Boston Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, 30 November 2013
Please accept my sincere apology for the inconvenience that was caused during your stay. We do now offer European cold breakfast on the second floor which is outstanding with assortment of choices to choose from. We hope you give us another try and we hope to see you soon!!!

Happy Holidays
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Lake, Nova Scotia, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013 via mobile

Just got back yesterday after a two night stay. This hotel is in the heart of Boston, close to shopping, tourist attractions, business district, TD Garden, the North End and lots of restaurants. It is right across the street from State blue and orange line T stations which made this an incredibly convenient location! It was only 5 stops to and from Boston Logan airport and 1 stop from the Amtrak station.
Our room was great, one wall was all windows and we had a great view of the harbour, the State building and big office buildings. We were on the 12th floor and could hear street noise so be prepared for that. The elevators are tiny, which was a little different, but we had no issues fitting in. The front desk took our luggage up so I suspect they use a service elevator.
The room was really nice, ultra modern minimalist style with tile and laminate hardwood floors and a rug. The bathroom was a good size and the marble tub was ENORMOUS! We had lots of towels, a bar fridge (mini bar) and an in room safe. The bath products were very nice too.
The pillows reminded me of my grandmothers old feather pillows that were really hard so I wasn't crazy about them, but the rest of my family thought they were fine. The beds were super comfy!
The front desk staff was wonderful, all were very helpful and polite. They called us when our room was ready and let us leave our luggage with them so we could go out exploring. They gave us tips on where to go, what time things opened, etc. and the staff at the front door were very polite and always smiling.
We had a problem with our return flight and my husband and kids returned to the hotel after we had checked out and asked if they could leave their luggage again while they explored Boston some more. The staff said NO PROBLEM! And even presented my six year old son with a bag that held three of the toys he had left behind in the room :) they were just getting it ready to put in the mail!

The only reason I gave service a 4 is because there is no restaurant onsite and no coffee/tea available. There was a restaurant but it is closed off. There is also no coffee maker in the room. I can understand that running a restaurant with no patrons would be very expensive but I think they need to have something there. A Keurig/Tassimo type self service system would have been great, even my dentist and eye doctors offices have a Keurig!

Overall this was a fantastic stay and I would highly recommend the Ames Boston and we would definitely go back!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vacationanually
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Takayuki S, Manager at Ames Boston Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, 15 November 2013
Thank you for the great review of our property and our location regards to the area. Also the good news is we are pushing hard to open for breakfast. We look forward seeing you soon!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2013 via mobile

Extremely comfortable room, fabulous shower and the best location. Walked to North End as well as Back Bay. Looking forward to returning. Starbucks and Dunkin Donuts around the corner. Service was friendly and efficient. The view from our room couldn't be beat.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ewbtravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Takayuki S, Manager at Ames Boston Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, 15 November 2013
Thank you for the awesome review of the hotel and our front desk staff. Please let us know if we may assist you in any future reservations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

A very classy hotel, with great rooms and nice beds. Wifi is free. Our room had curtained glass wall of the shower shared to the bedroom, which was a little awkward given that we're friends rather than a couple. The location is good, being right next to the State House, although this does mean you might have to walk a few blocks to find places to eat.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Martin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Takayuki S, Manager at Ames Boston Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, 15 November 2013
We're glad you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for the review. Hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PARIS
Level Contributor
54 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2013

Great hotel perfectly situated in the city center of Boston. I already tested the Langham and the Nine zero hotels too but this one is definitely my favorite one.
Very beautiful building outside and inside. Inside is very modern and cosy, my room was just amazing:
- great view on the city
- king size bed very comfortable
- very modern bathroom with view on the room (but you can draw the curtain to get more intimicacy from the bedroom part)
Great staff, very helpful, they took the time to help me with my demands.

One comment however, I would have loved coffee/tea machines in the room. Also offering a complementary bottle of water would be appreciated.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WENDYMON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Takayuki S, Manager at Ames Boston Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, 15 November 2013
Thank you for the great review of our hotel. We hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Downtown
Kimpton Nine Zero Hotel
Downtown
The Bostonian Boston
The Bostonian Boston
#28 of 83 in Boston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,536 reviews
Downtown
Hilton Boston Downtown / Faneuil Hall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Langham, Boston
The Langham, Boston
#22 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,182 reviews
Downtown
XV Beacon
XV Beacon
#12 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,090 reviews
Downtown
The Godfrey Hotel Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ames Boston Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ames Boston Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton

Property: Ames Boston Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton
Address: 1 Court Street, Boston, MA 02108-2615
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#39 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#40 Business Hotel in Boston
#48 Family Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Ames Boston Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton 4*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ames, located in the beautiful and historic Ames building, inspires both modern style and old world sophistication. An experience rich with elegant interpretations, Ames is ideally located near historic Faneuil Hall and Beacon Hill. Boasting a vibrant restaurant and bar offering an atmosphere that is at once refined and playful, a state-of-the art fitness center and suites accented by dramatic, Romanesque arched windows and original fireplaces. Our hotel is now part of the Curio Collection by Hilton and features Hilton HHonors benefits and rewards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ames Boston Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ames - a Morgans Original Hotel Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing