We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place, perfectly located in the city ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ames Boston Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton
Ranked #39 of 84 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 February 2014 via mobile

The Ames is a modern hotel with white furniture, its staff is really kind, always ready to help you.

You have to walk only 50m to reach the T, which is very practical.

Its location is also perfect as it is near Quincey Market (where you can go shopping or eating), Washington Str (where there is a lot of stores) and the "Feedom Trail" (which leads you to the historically significant sites of the American Revolution).

The fitness is free and opened 24hours.

I would definitely come back !

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Traveller0123456789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig B, Front Office Manager at Ames Boston Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2014

Thanks for your review! We're glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,543)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

759 - 765 of 1,543 reviews

Reviewed 10 February 2014

Stayed at the Ames Feb 7-9, 2014 Booked this hotel through Hotwire. Firstly, the hotel location is perfect, literally a 5 minute walk to Quincy Market with some great dining and shopping options, 15 min walk to TD Gardens, there is a wine and spirit store across the street, CVS, Walgreens, Starbucks and Dunkin Donuts all within steps. We were always greeted by the friendliest doormen each time we left or came back to the hotel.
Rooms are very modern, sleek and clean, furnishings very much IKEA like. Beds are very comfortable and linens were lovely. We traveled from Toronto with another couple and our rooms were similar, only our room had the glass shower that was completely opened into the bedroom, wasn't an issue for us, but those who are little shy might not like it. The other couple, their shower was enclosed within the bathroom with no view from the bedroom.
Couple of things tho that would make this place even more perfect; the hotel has absolutely no dining or bar option, there was a restaurant however its closed down. Even if they offered a continental breakfast as even the most basic hotels do. There is a fully stocked mini bar but the prices are as usual outrageous. The hotel should consider putting mini coffee makers in the rooms so that you could brew your own while you are getting ready in the morning. Its the first time I've never seen one in a hotel room. Instead we would have to bundle up and go across the street to Starbucks or Dunkin, in the freezing cold get our coffees and bring them back to the room and finish getting ready. Would have been worse had it been snowing. The floors are hardwood, beautiful as they are, they are cold to walk on (in the winter) and we tracked in snow, salt and dirt from the street throughout the room, even when taking your shoes off at the door. Carpeting is needed in the rooms. We would step out of the shower onto the cold and dirty floors, yuck! Either remember to bring slippers with you or the hotel should consider carpeting in the rooms. I might stay again at this hotel and recommend it to friends simply because of the location, and only if you don't mind having to go out for basic amenities that other hotels provide.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank beachgirl6533
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Takayuki S, Manager at Ames Boston Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2014

Thank you for your review and comment. We do offer cold European breakfast on the second floor of the hotel which opens at 6:30am during the week and 7:30am on the weekends. The bar and restaurant are still under reconcept and hoping it will be up and running in the near future.

The coffee machine can be provided upon request and it is a Keurig coffee machine. For tea we also carry a hot water pot.

We also do have slippers. Please let us know if we may assist you for your next visit. we will be delighted to have you as our guest once again. We'll be happy place the items in your room before you arrive.

Hope to see you soon!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

At the last minute, we booked a hotel on Priceline in Boston and feel so happy that it was this awesome 4 star waterfront hotel. It was cool! Sleek with a great layout. Huge comfortable bed with great pillows and I am fussy about this. The shower was truly sexy, and the best one either of us has ever had. It was spotless and staff was so nice. We loved this hotel, everything about and it's location was great! CT Derosiers

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Scott-Anne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Takayuki S, Manager at Ames Boston Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2014

Thank you for the great review of the hotel. We hope to see you soon!!!

Goooooo UConn!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2014

We stayed at the Ames Boston Hotel at the beginning of October during our honeymoon road trip of New England. We found a very competitive room-only deal through Splendia (which also afforded us complimentary wi-fi). The hotel is in a great location on Court Street, opposite the Old State House (scene of the Boston massacre) and just a stone's throw from Faneuil Hall and Quincy Market. State subway station is just outside the hotel making it a great base for exploring the city and getting to Logan Airport.

Having read a few reviews of the hotel that complained about noise from the subway, we specifically asked for a room on an upper floor. The staff were happy to oblige, and gave us a room on the fourth floor, well away from the hustle and bustle. Despite the building's history (it was Boston's first skyscraper and its tallest building from 1893 until 1915) the room was very modern and luxurious with a large comfy bed and a fantastic shower. We didn't eat at the hotel because there are so many fine eateries nearby. All in all, the Ames Boston Hotel is a great place to stay when visiting Boston and (if we can get a good deal again) we will be sure to return in future.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on one of the upper floors to avoid noise from the subway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank davidofyork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig B, Front Office Manager at Ames Boston Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2014

Thank you so much for your review! We hope to see you again soon & thank you for choosing Ames.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2014

There's nothing to complain about this hotel other than its decision to provide rooms with one of those glass walls that separate the bedroom from the bathroom. It might be well decorated, but sleeping as if I were in the bathroom is not classy. Coming up next, rooms in the kitchen?

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank A_P460
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig B, Front Office Manager at Ames Boston Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2014

Thank you for your review! We're sorry you didn't enjoy our "sexy showers", but we do have some rooms without them & provide a curtain for privacy in the rooms that due. Hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2014

Luckily, we only had one night in this hotel. I would never stay here again. On the website parking was listed and read as though it would be included with your stay. We had to pay $42 to park our car here. The room has no ice bucket, no ice on the floor and no fridge. The room itself is very small. The windows are really drafty. One of the beds was located next to the window and the draft could be felt while laying in the bed. Our room was located on the 11floor. The noise from outside could be heard as if we were on the first floor, it was very loud. I have stayed in many city hotels and have never heard outside noise so loud before in the room. Part of my family went to a Celtics game. We tried to watch the game on the television and the channel wasn't available in our room! While in Boston you would think you could view the game. I called the concierge to ask what channel I could find it on and was given several channels to try, not at all helpful. In the morning I tried to fill the bathtub for my little one and there was absolutely no water pressure. I needed to turn on the shower head and let it fill that way. I can't believe this hotel is rated four stars!

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
3  Thank Shannon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig B, Front Office Manager at Ames Boston Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2014

We'd like to apologize for the issues you had during your recent stay with us. As we do not have a garage attached, we provide Valet parking for $42 per night or our guests have the option of self parking in any number of the various garages in the area. Ice is available to be delivered to your room upon request, 24/7. The shower pressure coming out of the bathtub faucet tends to be directly related to what position the "top" handle in the shower is set to. If the shower pressure was high, but the bathtub faucet pressure was low, this is usually indicative of it being set to "shower", but we apologize if it was malfunctioning. Celtics games should always be available to our guests, but due to their record (Unfortunately) they tend to be on the major stations in primetime less this season. A draft & loud street noise in the room on the 11th floor is indicative of perhaps one of the windows in the room not being closed completely, but that shouldn't have happened & we apologize. Thank you for your review & we hope we have the opportunity to see you again so we can make it up to you on your next stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014

Love staying in boutique hotels even though I'm a business traveler. True to the reviews, the rooms are modern and unique. Generally good design and pleasant, but nothing too fancy. However… before I arrived I told colleagues to meet me in the bar. Much to my surprise, there's a rope across the bar, lights off, a few 'wet floor' signs sitting around, and random chairs and tables pushed to the side. Looks like no one has stepped foot in there in months. Depressing. At least tidy up the place and use it as a place to sit! And worse yet, their website never notified any patron of this incredible development. So you're left with meeting people in the lobby. Oh wait, the lobby is the size of a New York City bathroom. One couch directly in front of the door and a single seat to the side. And enough staff standing around in the lobby (apparently in an effort to provide good service - true, they are nice enough) that entering and exiting is a public event. And definitely don't try to have a confidential conversation with anyone…as the staff are right over your shoulder. So go to your room you say… sure. But would be nice if they at least had ice readily available to pour myself a cold one. Shoot. Lacking that too. So…might have been a great place at one time but not at the moment. There's a "management change" going on I was told. Well, finish already. In the meantime, stay away. For $200 a night, I expected at least the basics. And you won't get that here. At least not right now.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bengalkitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig B, Front Office Manager at Ames Boston Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2014

Thanks for your review. We're sorry that you were unhappy with the closure of our restaurant. While we don't have a time frame as to when it will reopen, we're hoping we can reopen it soon. Ice is available upon request, as guest's don't have access to our ice machines so our housekeepers happily deliver it to your room. In addition, on the 2nd floor we have a comfortable sitting area where we serve our continental breakfast in the morning.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Downtown
XV Beacon
XV Beacon
#15 of 84 in Boston
1,130 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Nine Zero Hotel
Downtown
The Langham, Boston
The Langham, Boston
#17 of 84 in Boston
2,351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Godfrey Hotel Boston
Downtown
The Bostonian Boston
The Bostonian Boston
#23 of 84 in Boston
1,671 reviews
Downtown
The Ritz-Carlton, Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ames Boston Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ames Boston Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton

Address: 1 Court Street, Boston, MA 02108-2615
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#39 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#40 Business Hotel in Boston
#48 Family Hotel in Boston
Price Range: £158 - £619 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ames Boston Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton 4*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ames, located in the beautiful and historic Ames building, inspires both modern style and old world sophistication. An experience rich with elegant interpretations, Ames is ideally located near historic Faneuil Hall and Beacon Hill. Boasting a vibrant restaurant and bar offering an atmosphere that is at once refined and playful, a state-of-the art fitness center and suites accented by dramatic, Romanesque arched windows and original fireplaces. Our hotel is now part of the Curio Collection by Hilton and features Hilton HHonors benefits and rewards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ames Boston Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ames - a Morgans Original Hotel Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing