We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“excellent hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ames Boston Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ames Boston Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton
Ranked #42 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
israel
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“excellent hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

the room are huge and very well equipped, the shower is also very big and comfortable.
the staff is very kind and helpful and the location is... well , just few minutes walking from the major attractions.
the only downside is the pricey parking , but I guess it come with the location, since all the garages in the area are pricy

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank ras81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig B, Front Office Manager at Ames Boston Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Thanks for staying with us & for your review, we appreciate it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,328 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    690
    414
    141
    61
    22
See reviews for
183
630
90
251
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (231)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

We stayed here during the Boston Calling Music Festival. Located right around the corner from the festival square. We could even see the Red Stage from our door. Friendly staff. Remodeled modern hotel. Valet was friendly and swift. No ice machine, but it was delivered right to the room. Excellent stay!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kaitlei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig B, Front Office Manager at Ames Boston Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Thanks for staying with us & for your review, we appreciate it. We hope to see you this Fall for the next Boston Calling!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014

Rooms in this hotel are beautiful, well maintained and a world away from your standard Hilton / Marriott - which is important to me. High ceilings and lots of natural daylight meant that the room is very comfortable day and night. Nice Molton Brown cosmetics too.

Convenient location for the Financial District and while there is no bar or restaurant at the moment there are plenty within a short walk.

Reception staff very helpful - the only thing that let them down from a service point of view was the doorman who seemed to expect constant tips....!

All in all a great choice in Boston though!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nlank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig B, Front Office Manager at Ames Boston Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, 24 May 2014
Thank you so much for staying with us & we're very happy you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again the next time you're in town!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

We were in Boston for our daughter's graduation from grad school. She was in Boston for five years so we have stayed at a plethora of hotels and this one was right up there as far as location and quietness of room go. Several T options within easy walking distance and this with the Govt station T shut down for renovation. Small room but we spent little time there so not really a problem. Boston hotels can be very expensive around college events but this one wasn't bad and well worth the value compared to others that I looked into.
Would not recommend for elderly since the bed is low to floor. Very friendly staff.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank 61725
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig B, Front Office Manager at Ames Boston Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Thank you for staying with us & for your review. We appreciate it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fayetteville, Arkansas
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

We spent two night in this hotel during last thanks giving break.
The position is perfect, this is a few feet away from a subway station.
Whithin walking distance there are many interesting places to see. For example the Quincy market is 15 minutes away. Also the aquarium is really close.
It easy to reach from the airport (bus + subway).
We had a good room with a wonderful sight on the Boston skyline.

The only small issue we have found in the hotel is the total absence of a restaurant/bar. If you want to buy any food you have to go out. It is true that there are many food places close the hotel, but having something inside would make the difference. In particular when outside temperature is low.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rick s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig B, Front Office Manager at Ames Boston Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
We're so glad you enjoyed your stay with us & we thank you for your review. Our restaurant should be opening by June 1st & we hope to see you again when it does!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

I stayed two nights at the Ames and there are two things that impressed me Firstly, one can't really ask for a more ideally situated modern, slick boutique hotel with lovely rooms. Secondly, the staff are very eager to please and went out of their way to accommodate any issues or requests. Huge kudos to Craig.

Having said that, I'm not sure I saw the value for money for the Ames. It is however, a great way to impress a mate and a super location to help you make the most of your stay in Boston.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig B, Front Office Manager at Ames Boston Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Thank you so much for staying with us & for your review. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
70 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014 via mobile

We had a quick weekend getaway to Boston and stayed at the Ames. When we arrived we were greeting by Derek, the doorman, who was knowledgeable about the area and very friendly, escorting us to our room with our bag.

The room was sexy and modern. Sure we heard (and felt) the T rumble through, but it's part of staying in downtown. We walked all lover the place, great central location.

If I had to find anything to complain about it would be the lack of a hotel bar (which I understand will be opening in the next couple of weeks) and the fact that the body wash they provide in the shower doesn't lather up all that well. That's it. The only negatives.

But speaking of the shower....ohhhhh....heavenly! Heated towel bar? Fantastic!

I'd definitely stay here again.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank lwood3399
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig B, Front Office Manager at Ames Boston Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Thanks for staying with us & for your review. We appreciate it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Downtown
Kimpton Nine Zero Hotel
Downtown
Hilton Boston Downtown / Faneuil Hall
Downtown
The Bostonian Boston
The Bostonian Boston
#30 of 83 in Boston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
XV Beacon
XV Beacon
#11 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,076 reviews
Downtown
The Langham, Boston
The Langham, Boston
#16 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,114 reviews
Downtown
The Godfrey Hotel Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ames Boston Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ames Boston Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton

Property: Ames Boston Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton
Address: 1 Court Street, Boston, MA 02108-2615
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#39 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#40 Business Hotel in Boston
#48 Family Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Ames Boston Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton 4*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ames, located in the beautiful and historic Ames building, inspires both modern style and old world sophistication. An experience rich with elegant interpretations, Ames is ideally located near historic Faneuil Hall and Beacon Hill. Boasting a vibrant restaurant and bar offering an atmosphere that is at once refined and playful, a state-of-the art fitness center and suites accented by dramatic, Romanesque arched windows and original fireplaces. Our hotel is now part of the Curio Collection by Hilton and features Hilton HHonors benefits and rewards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Hilton Hotels Direct and Agoda so you can book your Ames Boston Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ames - a Morgans Original Hotel Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing