We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal Location for History, Shopping, Restaurants and the Subway”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ames Boston Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton
Ranked #40 of 84 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We spent 5 nights at the Ames Boston Hotel and couldn't have asked for a better location to stay for a visit to Boston.

The room itself is nice, clean, modern and a good size. We had a king-sized bed that my wife found to be a little too hard but was fine for me. Although we were on the 9th floor, we could still hear the subway going by. It wasn't loud enough to wake us up. I wore earplugs and I couldn't hear it. My wife didn't use earplugs and she wasn't bothered by the subway at all.

We only ate breakfast at the hotel on one morning, as we thought $15 was a little too pricey. The breakfast included cereal, yogurt, pastries, breads and coffee. If you prefer to eat out, there are several places nearby to have a quick breakfast. On most days, we went to the Au Bon Pain a block away.

By far the best feature of the Ames Boston is the location. The Blue Subway Line provides a quick and easy ride from Logan Airport and stops at The State Subway Station right across the street from the hotel. Faneuil Hall is just around the corner. The Freedom Trail runs right past the hotel with Old State House right across the street. And straight out the front door is Washington Street, which features several blocks of stores, including Macy's. There is a great variety of restaurant choices very close by. And Boston Common and the North End are both an easy 15-20 minute walk from the hotel.

We would definitely consider staying at the Ames Boston Hotel again if we returned to Boston. It is a very nice hotel in the ideal location to enjoy all that Boston has to offer.

Room Tip: For only $18, you can get an unlimited travel 7-day transit pass. Includes all subway lines, buses...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarkStef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig B, Front Office Manager at Ames Boston Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

We're happy you enjoyed your stay with us. Thanks for your review & we hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,577)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

750 - 756 of 1,577 reviews

Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

Great location. We arrived hours early and asked it we could leave our bags before check in so we could do some shopping in my fav shops growing up and they said let's just check you in! Excellent rooms very clean and modern. Next time we visit home we will spend a few more days for sure!!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Dianna W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig B, Front Office Manager at Ames Boston Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2014

Thanks for staying with us & for your review, we appreciate it. We'll see you next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Friendly staff and the rooms have a lively decor!!! The bed is comfortable and the furnishings state of the art. However, even though the building facade is made of stone, they might need to soundproof the windows more. The State St. MBTA station is right next door, and you could hear the rumblings of the train every time it pulls up to the station. I stayed at a higher floor following the other reviewers' advise here, but could still hear the street noise and late night carousings from revelers down below.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MyRNA27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig B, Front Office Manager at Ames Boston Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2014

Thanks for staying at Ames. We're sorry the city noise effected your stay. No need to bring your own earplugs though, as we provide them in all of our rooms. We hope to see you again next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We had a pleasant stay at the hotel.The rooms are nice and clean but small. Good beds, nice and big bathroom. The hotel is right in the center of Boston, so most things are in walking distance Breakfast was OK.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cornelia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig B, Front Office Manager at Ames Boston Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2014

Thanks for staying with us & for your review. We appreciate it! We hope to see you next time you're in town.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

This had a ideal location on the freedom trail. Walking distance to Quincy market and so many places the list is long just Google it.Many eating places all within a 15 min radius. the staff were very friendly and helpful. if you want a different type of room very modern.Would recommend don't think negative comments were fair I read before.The noise of a city never bothered me that's to be expected. Also non judgmental hotel.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Lori J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig B, Front Office Manager at Ames Boston Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2014

Thank you so much for your review! We appreciate your business & hope to see you again next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Staff was very helpful, allowed to check in early. Fantastic location for business or leisure traveler! Rooms are clean and modern and have all of the amenities necessary.

Booked 3 rooms for a business trip.

Will be back for sure.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Scott B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig B, Front Office Manager at Ames Boston Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Thanks for the review! We appreciate you staying with us & look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Stay here for business on occasion.....funky rooms...fun lounge, great location!!! Staff is professional. Furnishings are very comfortable, and the food is great for hotel fare!! Compared to other places downtown, it is a great deal.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank laz9984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig B, Front Office Manager at Ames Boston Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

We're so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thanks for your review & we hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Downtown
Kimpton Nine Zero Hotel
Downtown
The Bostonian Boston
The Bostonian Boston
#24 of 84 in Boston
1,721 reviews
Downtown
Hilton Boston Downtown / Faneuil Hall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Godfrey Hotel Boston
Downtown
The Langham, Boston
The Langham, Boston
#18 of 84 in Boston
2,394 reviews
Downtown
W Boston
W Boston
#26 of 84 in Boston
1,756 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ames Boston Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ames Boston Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton

Address: 1 Court Street, Boston, MA 02108-2615
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#39 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#40 Business Hotel in Boston
#48 Family Hotel in Boston
Price Range: £128 - £424 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ames Boston Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton 4*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ames, located in the beautiful and historic Ames building, inspires both modern style and old world sophistication. An experience rich with elegant interpretations, Ames is ideally located near historic Faneuil Hall and Beacon Hill. Boasting a vibrant restaurant and bar offering an atmosphere that is at once refined and playful, a state-of-the art fitness center and suites accented by dramatic, Romanesque arched windows and original fireplaces. Our hotel is now part of the Curio Collection by Hilton and features Hilton HHonors benefits and rewards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Ames Boston Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ames - a Morgans Original Hotel Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing