We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very modern and beautiful in a great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Ames Boston Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton
Ranked #43 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Canmore, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Very modern and beautiful in a great location”
Reviewed 13 July 2014

I loved my stay at this hotel! It is a beautiful historic building in a great location for tourists- so many things are within easy walking distance (the harbour ferries, restaurants, parks, shopping etc). I heard that on the lower floors people can sometimes hear the subway, but as we were on an upper floor, noise of any kinda was not a problem so be sure to ask about this. The breakfast menu (which is not included in the hotel price) is only continental- I prefer a larger selection including warm meal options. Normally, I wouldn't have mentioned this but it is very difficult to find a place for breakfast in downtown Boston (which is VERY strange). The only thing I really missed is a swimming pool and/or a hot tub which to me is an important factor in selecting hotels- but sadly, these are often missing from many older downtown hotels. Rooms are wonderfully modern in my favorite minimalist/clean lines style. Even the provided shampoo and conditioner is amazing. The hotel staff, as pleasant and inviting as they were, forgot to send up a second bath rob after we asked them but it turns out we didn't really need it in the end so we didn't remind them.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on an upper level to avoid possible noise. Plan and search ahead of time for a breakf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maddy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig B, Front Office Manager at Ames Boston Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Thank you for the wonderful review! If you're looking for a full breakfast next time, swing by the desk & we'll be happy to point you in the right direction. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,472 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    764
    454
    154
    73
    27
See reviews for
212
695
95
286
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (246)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

This was my second stay at the Ames Hotel Boston. I can only repeat what I wrote in the first review: very friendly and helpful staff, spacious, clean, and quiet room, great central location, excellent value for money and highly recommendable. I like the style of the hotel, the bright design, the non-stuffiness of the rooms.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank autobotBerlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig B, Front Office Manager at Ames Boston Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Thank you so much for staying with us & for the wonderful review, we appreciate it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed 3 nights and just came back. We couldn't have been happier. The room was elegant, stylish and comfortable. This is boutique hotel rooms at their best and contrary to many boutique hotel properties, we had lots of room. The service was available and quick to respond and acknowledge but never in our face.
You simply can't beat the location as a central home base. Every T line is close and you can easily walk to all the Freedom Trail sites, the North End and Beacon Hill's sites. The Back Bay and South End are a quick few stops down the T. Truly couldn't have been better...
We wished all hotels had the warm sophistication of the Ames. Very highly recommended...

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ryan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig B, Front Office Manager at Ames Boston Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
Thank you so much for staying with us & for the wonderful review, we appreciate it. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
El Paso, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Booked the Ames for five days. Wanted a hotel close to the sites Boston has to offer and this place checks out. Upon arriving, we had the door open for us (yes, they have a doorman), concierge/front desk was prompt and efficient. By the way, when you walk in and before you make a left look up. The room was a deluxe king and it's the size of a small studio apartment. Open the closet you will find a sturdy and bright orange umbrella, fridge, microwave and safe as well as other things for purchase. The bathroom was spacious (look in the trash bin for some art). Breakfast is available for $15; however, we booked the rise and shine package that gave us vouchers everyday of our stay. The selection is simple: muffins, croissants, yogurt, cold cereal, etc... As for proximity to sites, across the street and above the orange line metro (T) stop is the Old State House, round the corner and you're at Faneuil Hall. Close proximity to Freedom Trail, Boston Common, and TD Garden (15 minute walk up Congress Street). Staff is beyond friendly.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elfuegobuendia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig B, Front Office Manager at Ames Boston Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
We're so happy you enjoyed your stay with us & our location. Thanks for your review as well, we really do appreciate it. We hope to see you again the next time you're in town!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
447 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 292 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Ames Boston Hotel should be your top choice if you want to explore Downtown Boston! Providing great service and comfortable room, the hotel is located right across from a MBTA station under Old State House and is only a minute away from Faneuil Hall.

I stayed here for three nights and was glad that I chose Ames. The hotel was so conveniently located that I could easily backtrack to my hotel to either take a shower or drop off something without impeding my downtown exploration. The hotel location was terrific!

The room itself was also nice. Although the room was not as spacious as other 3-4 stars hotels, Ames still provides all the accommodations that you need to have an enjoyable and comfortable stay. Don't expect a top-notch business center or fitness room though.

What won me over however was the service. I reserved this hotel under my name for a family vacation, but I got stranded in Pittsburgh because my flight was cancelled. My mom and sister were already in Boston because they flew from Houston. I explained my situation to Ames on phone, and the front desk receptionist switched the reservation name to my mom without hesitation so my family could check in without me! I wasn't able to enter Boston until 2 AM, so if Ames wasn't so accommodating, my mom and sister may have been roaming in the Boston streets for the whole day!

The location was splendid. The room was comfortable. The service was spectacular. I don't see anything to complain about Ames Boston Hotel, so I have high confidence that you too will enjoy this hotel if you are traveling to Boston for an adventure like me!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jay Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig B, Front Office Manager at Ames Boston Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Thank you so much for staying with us. We're glad we were able to help you out by changing the name on your reservation as well. Thank you so much for the wonderful review & we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

It was not all that easy to find the entrance to this excellent hotel. On the second try we succeded and received a warm welvome. The room in the 6th floor faced the street but had very good sound proof windoes. So no disturbances by outside noise. Breakfast was not included. Nevertheless it was offered on the ground floor as a complete self-serfice meal. for roughly 15.-US$ including taxes this was an excellent deal. From fresh fruit plates to smoked salmon and breads and croissants everything has been offered except hot dishes.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wama10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig B, Front Office Manager at Ames Boston Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Thank you so much for staying with us & for the review. We do have plans to install an awning soon to make us even easier to find. We'll be looking forward to seeing you next time you're in town!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Beautiful modern design rooms with a historic flare. Customer service is top notch, they make you feel like you are a very important person. For being in a city the rooms feel very spacious. The location can't be beat, very close to all the amazing Italian restaurants of the North End, the wharf, Faneuil Hall. Would stay here again for sure!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leigh P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig B, Front Office Manager at Ames Boston Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Thank you so much for staying with us & for the wonderful review. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Downtown
XV Beacon
XV Beacon
#12 of 83 in Boston
1,108 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Nine Zero Hotel
Downtown
The Langham, Boston
The Langham, Boston
#18 of 83 in Boston
2,246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Bostonian Boston
The Bostonian Boston
#25 of 83 in Boston
1,582 reviews
Downtown
The Godfrey Hotel Boston
Downtown
Hilton Boston Downtown / Faneuil Hall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ames Boston Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ames Boston Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton

Property: Ames Boston Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton
Address: 1 Court Street, Boston, MA 02108-2615
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#39 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#40 Business Hotel in Boston
#48 Family Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Ames Boston Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton 4*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ames, located in the beautiful and historic Ames building, inspires both modern style and old world sophistication. An experience rich with elegant interpretations, Ames is ideally located near historic Faneuil Hall and Beacon Hill. Boasting a vibrant restaurant and bar offering an atmosphere that is at once refined and playful, a state-of-the art fitness center and suites accented by dramatic, Romanesque arched windows and original fireplaces. Our hotel is now part of the Curio Collection by Hilton and features Hilton HHonors benefits and rewards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Hilton Hotels Direct, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ames Boston Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ames - a Morgans Original Hotel Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing