We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good hotel... just skip breakfast” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ames Boston Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ames Boston Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton
Ranked #42 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Very good hotel... just skip breakfast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

The hotel is in a nice building and is very well located. The room and the bathroom are very nice and also very big. Everything was great. Just one thing... skip breakfast. We had it once (during the week) and it's really not worth it. You'd better buy something at the market, which is very close to the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CLuna29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig B, Front Office Manager at Ames Boston Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Thank you so much for the wonderful review, we appreciate it. We're sorry you didn't enjoy our all you can eat European Style Continental breakfast but we're always tweaking it in order to improve it. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,334 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    693
    416
    142
    61
    22
See reviews for
183
634
91
252
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (232)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Maple, Ontario, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

We stayed at the Ames Hotel after reviewing online, and getting a great deal from one of those "find a hotel" websites. The location was fantastic. Right downtown and really walking distance to almost everything Boston has to offer. For the rest, you are only a few blocks from the T-stop. The hotel staff is very friendly, and happy to offer recommendations, but be warned: they aren't always right! We asked for breakfast options twice that they would recommend, the first location wasn't serving breakfast after 10am, and the second location (another morning, after complaining about the first) we were guided to was nowhere to be found based on the directions given at the hotel (however we did find it on a completely different street on our walks in the city).

Highly recommend the hotel for location, accommodations, and overall ambiance (if you are willing to spend the extra cash for those luxuries), but do your homework vs. talking to the staff for any recommendations.

Room Tip: King Supreme rooms are nice, we had no issues with noise but keep in mind that the room has a light...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dave G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig B, Front Office Manager at Ames Boston Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
We're so sorry our staff gave you imprecise recommendations & directions. We'll be sure to go over local breakfast options with our staff to ensure that they are correct. We're glad you enjoyed your stay otherwise & hope to see you again the next time you're in town!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

We spent three nights at the Ames Hotel and we really enjoyed our stay. The hotel is located close to Faneuil Hall, Old State House, Quincy Market...
Our room on the 11th floor was quiet. We'd read through the reviews on Trip Advisor before booking and some clients had stated their room was noisy but our experience was different.
My first priority is a clean room and I was not disappointed. The room was very modern and more spacious than I was anticipating. The bed was very comfortable and the shower was big enough for two.
I would stay here again on my next trip to Boston.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Roch65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig B, Front Office Manager at Ames Boston Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Thank you so much for staying with us & for the review, we appreciate it! We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

Just returned from a 2 night stay at the Ames Boston. Centrally located and within fast walking distance to Faneuil Hall, North End and the harbor with the USS Constitution battle ship. We loved the location and the service was great. Every morning, Derek was in the lobby with a cheery "good morning!" He was very helpful with restaurant suggestions, hailing cabs and luggage assistance. We had a room on the 10th floor and loved it. Floor to ceiling window overlooking the city - it was perfect.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kristen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig B, Front Office Manager at Ames Boston Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Thank you for choosing Ames on your recent visit to Boston. We're thankful for the nice review you gave us & will be happy to have you the next time you're in the city.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
68 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

I loved staying at the Ames. In fact, it was my favorite part of visiting Boston. The staff is wonderful. The room was large, clean, comfortable and had a fantastic view of downtown Boston. The style is modern, but it is also very cozy with wood floors and soft features. The location is fabulous. On the 9th floor, I found it very quiet. The internet worked well and the mini-bar is lavishly stocked with snacks and other sundries. Just a wonderful place!!

Room Tip: I had the 9th floor King room- the view was fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Skye21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig B, Front Office Manager at Ames Boston Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Thank you so much for the wonderful review, we appreciate it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

One of my favourite hotels in the USA. I spent 3 months on a road trip across the USA from Charleston to LA, to Portland to New York. This was one of the more expensive hotels I stayed in but worth every penny....for the comfort, the location and the service. Only one criticism, I drove in to Boston and the satnav got me to the hotel, but from a vehicle at ground level it's hard to find, no clear hotel signage, I went around in circles for a while trying to find the place. The valet parking is expensive.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig B, Front Office Manager at Ames Boston Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
We're sorry you had a hard time finding us! We're currently working with the city to get a ground level awning installed for clearer signage, but due to our historic building status it is a lengthy process. We were happy to have you & hope to see you the next time you're in Boston!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

The service in this hotel exceeded my expectations. The service was impeccable. Charles, Francis, and Derrick were fantastic. I stayed with my 11-year-old son in a standard room and we were quite comfortable. The rooms were very clean (a big deal for me) and the bed was comfortable. Only thing is that there is a bit of a privacy issue between the bed and shower. There is no wall, only a curtain, behind the shower glass. Something to consider if you're on a couples trip.

We stayed on the 7th floor facing the front of the building. There was some city noise, but it was to be expected; nothing out of the ordinary. There was a bit of vibration from the train, so we removed a decorative plate from the wall and didn't hear the sound again. Not as bad as some of the reviews claim.

Overall, the decor was very nice, room was very clean and comfortable, the service was exceptional, and location was great.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janette M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig B, Front Office Manager at Ames Boston Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Thank you so much for your review. We're sorry you had privacy issues with our sex showers, but we do have rooms without them available upon request. We hope we see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Downtown
Kimpton Nine Zero Hotel
Downtown
Hilton Boston Downtown / Faneuil Hall
Downtown
The Bostonian Boston
The Bostonian Boston
#30 of 83 in Boston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
XV Beacon
XV Beacon
#11 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,076 reviews
Downtown
The Langham, Boston
The Langham, Boston
#17 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,118 reviews
Downtown
The Godfrey Hotel Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ames Boston Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ames Boston Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton

Property: Ames Boston Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton
Address: 1 Court Street, Boston, MA 02108-2615
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#39 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#40 Business Hotel in Boston
#48 Family Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Ames Boston Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton 4*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ames, located in the beautiful and historic Ames building, inspires both modern style and old world sophistication. An experience rich with elegant interpretations, Ames is ideally located near historic Faneuil Hall and Beacon Hill. Boasting a vibrant restaurant and bar offering an atmosphere that is at once refined and playful, a state-of-the art fitness center and suites accented by dramatic, Romanesque arched windows and original fireplaces. Our hotel is now part of the Curio Collection by Hilton and features Hilton HHonors benefits and rewards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Hilton Hotels Direct and Agoda so you can book your Ames Boston Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ames - a Morgans Original Hotel Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing