We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“EXCELLENT LOCATION” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ames Boston Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ames Boston Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton
Ranked #42 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Aberdeen, Scotland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“EXCELLENT LOCATION”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2014

My husband and I were very lucky to spend 5 nights at this hotel, and we were not disappointed. Central, walking distance to all the tourist attractions. We even managed to get tickets for the Red Sox Baseball game against the Yankees and we walked , lovely tree lined streets on route. The hotel was very friendly, bartender was very nice and even remembered our names the next night we went in for a quick drink. Rooms very clean, comfy bed and just repeat previous comment, we found our shower extremely slippy (I thought it was our shower gel!) never thought to ask for a non slip mat, think this should be put in the bathrooms anyway. The other minor glip, there was no coffee/tea facilities in the room, and we both like a cup of coffee/tea in the morning and in the evening. There is plenty of Starbucks etc nearby for carry outs but it is not same.
If we have the change to revisit Boston we would definitely return to the Ames

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GLOBALX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig B, Front Office Manager at Ames Boston Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Thank you so much for the wonderful review! WE were the ones that were lucky to have you both stay with us! We also have coffee makers available upon request, so be sure to ask next time so we can make you even more comfortable. Thanks again for staying with us & we hope to see you both again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,328 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    690
    414
    141
    61
    22
See reviews for
183
630
90
251
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (231)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
78 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014

Great location for the financial district. Clean, safe, and friendly. The rooms are clean and welcoming (yet modern, if that's not what you want). The staff was great and very nice Beds were comfortable, the rooms were clean, and very happy with my night there.

My only 'bad' was the shower floor was slick - that may have been my lotion though - but I was paranoid about falling. Great shower pressure though - and the towel warmer was great.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kara7374
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig B, Front Office Manager at Ames Boston Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
We're very happy you enjoyed your recent stay with us & we appreciate the review. We're sorry you found the shower floor slick, but we do have non slip mats available upon request. Please be sure to request one the next time we see you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
171 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

Hard to believe any place is ranked higher ranked on TripAdvisor. Our stay was absolutely perfect. Every staff member we encountered was friendly and very helpful. Exterior is a step back in time, while the interior is completely modern. The beds are so comfy and the bathrooms are great.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Crystal C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig B, Front Office Manager at Ames Boston Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
We're so glad you had a "perfect" stay with us! Thanks for choosing Ames & for the wonderful review, we really appreciate it. And while, unfortunately, there are hotels ranked higher on TripAdvisor, we were recently ranked as the #1 Hotel in Boston by Boston Magazine for 2014! http://www.bostonmagazine.com/best-of-boston/2014/ames-boston-hotel/
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
74 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014 via mobile

Love the style and layout of the rooms, but I expect to be able to sleep in my hotel room and the street noise is significant. I think they must have skimped on the windows during the rehab. Too bad, because I love to see a historical renovation.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank S D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig B, Front Office Manager at Ames Boston Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
We're so sorry you had issues with street noise during your stay. We hope you brought it to our attention so we could try & resolve it for you. Being centrally located in downtown Boston, sometimes utility work happens overnight that we cannot anticipate but we can try and relocate you to a higher floor upon availability, provide ear plugs, provide a white noise machine, &/or provide a fan to help drown it out. We feel that your stay was atypical & hope we see you again so we can try & make it up to you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

The hotel is in a nice building and is very well located. The room and the bathroom are very nice and also very big. Everything was great. Just one thing... skip breakfast. We had it once (during the week) and it's really not worth it. You'd better buy something at the market, which is very close to the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CLuna29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig B, Front Office Manager at Ames Boston Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Thank you so much for the wonderful review, we appreciate it. We're sorry you didn't enjoy our all you can eat European Style Continental breakfast but we're always tweaking it in order to improve it. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maple, Ontario, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

We stayed at the Ames Hotel after reviewing online, and getting a great deal from one of those "find a hotel" websites. The location was fantastic. Right downtown and really walking distance to almost everything Boston has to offer. For the rest, you are only a few blocks from the T-stop. The hotel staff is very friendly, and happy to offer recommendations, but be warned: they aren't always right! We asked for breakfast options twice that they would recommend, the first location wasn't serving breakfast after 10am, and the second location (another morning, after complaining about the first) we were guided to was nowhere to be found based on the directions given at the hotel (however we did find it on a completely different street on our walks in the city).

Highly recommend the hotel for location, accommodations, and overall ambiance (if you are willing to spend the extra cash for those luxuries), but do your homework vs. talking to the staff for any recommendations.

Room Tip: King Supreme rooms are nice, we had no issues with noise but keep in mind that the room has a light...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dave G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig B, Front Office Manager at Ames Boston Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
We're so sorry our staff gave you imprecise recommendations & directions. We'll be sure to go over local breakfast options with our staff to ensure that they are correct. We're glad you enjoyed your stay otherwise & hope to see you again the next time you're in town!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

We spent three nights at the Ames Hotel and we really enjoyed our stay. The hotel is located close to Faneuil Hall, Old State House, Quincy Market...
Our room on the 11th floor was quiet. We'd read through the reviews on Trip Advisor before booking and some clients had stated their room was noisy but our experience was different.
My first priority is a clean room and I was not disappointed. The room was very modern and more spacious than I was anticipating. The bed was very comfortable and the shower was big enough for two.
I would stay here again on my next trip to Boston.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Roch65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig B, Front Office Manager at Ames Boston Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Thank you so much for staying with us & for the review, we appreciate it! We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Downtown
Kimpton Nine Zero Hotel
Downtown
Hilton Boston Downtown / Faneuil Hall
Downtown
The Bostonian Boston
The Bostonian Boston
#30 of 83 in Boston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
XV Beacon
XV Beacon
#11 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,076 reviews
Downtown
The Langham, Boston
The Langham, Boston
#16 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,114 reviews
Downtown
The Godfrey Hotel Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ames Boston Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ames Boston Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton

Property: Ames Boston Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton
Address: 1 Court Street, Boston, MA 02108-2615
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#39 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#40 Business Hotel in Boston
#48 Family Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Ames Boston Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton 4*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ames, located in the beautiful and historic Ames building, inspires both modern style and old world sophistication. An experience rich with elegant interpretations, Ames is ideally located near historic Faneuil Hall and Beacon Hill. Boasting a vibrant restaurant and bar offering an atmosphere that is at once refined and playful, a state-of-the art fitness center and suites accented by dramatic, Romanesque arched windows and original fireplaces. Our hotel is now part of the Curio Collection by Hilton and features Hilton HHonors benefits and rewards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Hilton Hotels Direct and Agoda so you can book your Ames Boston Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ames - a Morgans Original Hotel Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing