We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and excellent hosts”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Boston
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The 1863 House Bed and Breakfast
San Francisco, California
1 review
“Great location and excellent hosts”
Reviewed 6 September 2013

My wife and I traveled extensively for 30 years, and the 1863 House was the best place we have stayed. We were in Boston for a sightseeing and house hunting trip for five days. We wanted to be in a B&B between South End and Back Bay so as to learn more about the neighborhood and still have easy access to the trendy restaurants and popular sights nearby. We had a great experience because of the excellent location of the 1863 House, and because of Jane and Ben’s generosity and patience in directing us to all the new or important places to visit. Jane and Ben are both wonderful hosts. We look forward to visiting Boston again soon.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    49
    15
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
32
11
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2013

Based on Tripadvisor recommendations of 1863 House, and price, our family of 4 decided to book at this B&B and were not disappointed. The B&B is a 4-story house in a great part of town - about a 10 minute walk to the subway and walking distance to a lot of restaurants and shops.

Upon arrival, Ben and Jane made us feel welcome into their home, sitting us down with water and giving us a little history of Boston and immediate area. Much more intimate than a hotel that just gives you a key! We booked their 2 rooms: one with a queen bed for us adults and the other room had another queen bed, but Jane was gracious enough to have an inflatable mattress so each kid had their own bed. The 4th floor has a spacious full bathroom that both rooms share. Both rooms and bathroom (and whole house, for that matter) was very clean, fresh linens and large towels.

Continental breakfast was included - coffee, tea, freshly-squeezed orange juice, cereals, and alternating days between croissants/muffins/bread. Limited, but understandably, it is difficult to plan breakfast for only 4 people you don't know. The breakfast filled us enough to get to lunch and was a nice way to begin the day.

You get house keys and are free to come and go as you please - Ben and Jane made it clear that we were guests and treated us like royalty. When we first arrived we felt like we were intruding on their daily routine but by the 3rd night we were more comfortable, especially since we were only at the B&B to sleep and didn't 'hang out' at home (and Boston is beautiful, we were walking all day). If you do not like or cannot do stairs, this is not the place for you. This was the first time we'd stayed at someone's home and would stay here again if we return to Boston!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pbduran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, Utah
1 review
Reviewed 19 August 2013

My family spent three nights in this wonderful B&B in South Boston. It was conveniently located near great restaurants, Copely Square and the subway. Jane and Ben were very welcoming and made us feel right at home. Breakfast was excellent, with fresh squeezed orange juice, fresh fruit, coffee, muffins and a selection of cereal. The beds were comfortable and we had everything we needed. It was a great alternative to a hotel. I would definitely recommend staying here.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Corinne5332
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2013

Great location in the South End neighborhood right off of Tremont street; very close to some fantastic restaurants and the subway. The hosts are incredibly welcoming and helpful, I highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Justin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Ct.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 June 2013

I just returned from a 2 night stay at this architecturally stunning Victorian row house in Boston's South End. Ben and Jane make you feel extremely welcome in their home from the time you arrive. I was traveling alone, and was in the city to visit my daughter. The towels were plush, the bed comfortable, and the shared bathroom worked well. A room air conditioner kept the space cool during one warm night. I loved the breakfast selections, and looked forward to Ben's fresh squeezed orange juice. Ben and Jane are great ambassadors for their city and gave great suggestions for activities (solstice concerts) and restaurants. The area is an arts mecca, with the Boston Center for the Arts around the corner. The Back Bay T stop is a short walk, and Copley Square is a 10-15 minute walk.I cannot wait to plan my next visit.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ndriska860
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port of Spain, Trinidad
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2013

Spent two nights in this beautiful home, room on the top floor back bedroom, no other guests so had the bathroom to ourselves - big plus. Ben and Jane made us feel like friends and provided useful information on roaming the city sights. Very central either for walking to Copley Square, Newbury Street, bus to Cambrige or T at Back Bay. Would highly recommend and would stay here again if visiting Boston.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KarendeM_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, New York
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 May 2013

Friendly hosts, accomodating, very nice historic home. Neighborhood is very pretty and close to Back Bay Amtrak and T station and 10 minute walk to Copley Square. Enjoy the surroundings and the nice hosts.

Room Tip: Remember you have to walk up the stairs 2-3 flights, so take that into account if you have difficult...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pong80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Back Bay
The Midtown Hotel
The Midtown Hotel
#63 of 83 in Boston
3,593 reviews
Back Bay
Sheraton Boston Hotel
Sheraton Boston Hotel
#48 of 83 in Boston
2,232 reviews
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#6 of 83 in Boston
3,300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Boston Park Plaza
Boston Park Plaza
#56 of 83 in Boston
1,987 reviews
Back Bay
Copley House
Copley House
#68 of 83 in Boston
705 reviews
Downtown
Omni Parker House
Omni Parker House
#44 of 83 in Boston
7,405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The 1863 House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The 1863 House Bed and Breakfast

Property: The 1863 House Bed and Breakfast
Address: W Canton St at Montgomery St, Boston, MA 02118
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > South End
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 27 Speciality Lodging in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
These delightful hosts have been residents of their centrally-located South End neighborhood for 27 years. They offer three guest rooms and lots of local knowledge! Their brick bow front Victorian townhouse was built in 1863 and features a new gourmet kitchen with a deck overlooking a secluded garden for quiet continental breakfasts. Each bedroom has a double antique brass bed with an antique quilt, a desk, and a decorative fireplace. The two fourth floor guest rooms share a bath with tub and shower. The third floor room shares the hosts' bathroom that contains a claw foot tub/shower. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing