We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Private tour is great value”

Boston Private Tours - Day Tours
Ranked #5 of 141 Shopping in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: We provide great Private Tours using sedans,SUV,vans, Limo or buses. Our guides are all Local,mature and well-educated. We can meet you at your hotel, or the airport or at the Cruise-ship pier. Private Tours are a great way to see hilly Boston, in particular, because with our smaller vehicles,we have access to the "off the beaten" track neighborhoods and to the "hidden Boston" which you cannot see from a tour trolley or bus ( which are prohibited entry to residential areas of this 400 year old city), including our "Little Italy" and the 3rd largest Chinatown in the USA. Tours can be tailor made to meet most requests, and we can take you to see where Americas Revolution began in Lexington, and Concord,visit homes of authors,see Walden Pond and Harvard University ( which Gen. Washington borrowed to use as Americas first army base 1775 ), visit botanical or horticultural gardens and cemeteries, view interesting architecture, colleges ( more than 100 colleges/universities in Greater Boston !), Also Fenway Park, the Cheers Bar, site of 1st World Series, Freedom Trail and much,much more. Also, we provide private tours to Salem, the "Witch City" and to Newport,RI, coastal Maine,Cape Cod and Autumn foliage tours to Southern NH and Vermont. We love School group tours, half our guides have teaching certificates, several are published authors, and former National Park Guides, also,we accommodate handicapped visitors. Fees are reasonable. We also provide limited, long duration ,New England and the islands, overnight tours as well,please inquire.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Private tour is great value”
Reviewed 28 June 2014

We took an all day tour to Boston's North Shore with Bill M and driver George (soccer enthusiast). As an australian couple, we really appreciated Bill's willingness to fill in our gaps in American history as well as other aspects of current USA life. This was on top of the discussions we had about all the towns we visited along the scenic coast north of Boston. Bill tailored the tour around what we wanted to see and do. We arrived back in Boston after a very enjoyable informative day. We would highly recommend any tour with this company. Their individualised approach is excellent value for money.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Cathie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    148
    2
    2
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Noosa, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Our grateful thanks”
Reviewed 14 June 2014 via mobile

In Boston for 3 days, had friends flying in for the day from Raleigh who we have not seen for years and who had never been to Boston. Wanted to do something special for them, so after reading the reviews booked 3 hour tour for us all through Michelle the day before, and then a nice seafood lunch by which time friends would need to return to airport.

Delta cancelled our friends flight at 11pm night before travel, due at 07.30, frantically tried for alternative early day of travel, wait listed for 09.00 flight, delayed by an hour then also cancelled!!

I contacted Michelle by e-mail and left phone message as it was early In the morning, also contacted our allotted guide direct to keep them in the picture. At 09.30 our friends decided and we agreed it was no longer worth them trying to get to Boston. I contacted the guide and Michelle again, - despite the cancellation terms and conditions, girven our very unfortunate circumstances Michelle cancelled everything without charge.

We are so grateful, the day is disappointing enough, but too have been charged as well would have made us even more unhappy. The company would have been quite within its rights to charge as per their booking conditions, but they obviously value their clients greatly, I only hope we can steer clients their way, they truly deserve it.

Thank you again Michelle, be assured should we return to Boston you will be top of our list!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Alexatravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Friendly tour guide”
Reviewed 5 June 2014 via mobile

Took an all day tour to Martha's Vineyard with Martin M. Martin provided us with a wonderful day. He was a true professional and worked with us to provide a most enjoyable experience. With beyond expectations of a tour guide. I would highly recommend any tour with Martin M.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Beth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great tour”
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Martin McEntee recently led a private tour of Boston, Lexington and Concord for our family of four (two adults, two kids age 12 and 14). Martin, an Irishman who moved to Boston 30+ years ago, seems to have found his calling and spends his free time exploring and reading about local history. He was warm and knowledgeable, engaging each of us with interesting facts (not an easy feat, considering our family group included one regular visitor to Boston as well as teens with divergent interests). In addition to covering the "must-sees," Martin customized the tour for us -- for example, our kids were able to see the Hogwarts-style freshman dining hall at Harvard. Martin picked us up and delivered us back to our hotel in a comfortable, brand-new Honda mini-van. I can't tell you how great it was to just get in and relax, letting Martin entertain us. Martin was also a great general resource for our vacation -- he had book, restaurant and sight-seeing recommendations that were spot-on.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank KE211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A Special Way to See Boston”
Reviewed 30 March 2014

I can't say enough good things about this company and about our tour. Michelle handled my initial inquiry and help me design a tour that encompassed everything we wanted to see. Our tour guide, Martin M., was friendly and knowledgeable.

Our interaction with our tour guide started the day before our scheduled trip when Martin telephoned me to confirm our appointment, pickup time and pickup location--at the front door of our hotel. I thought this was a nice touch because it let our group know that our tour was confirmed. Martin was on-time and arrived in a brand-new minivan that was super comfortable for the whole day. Our group of 4 ladies felt safe with Martin, and we are very good judges of character. In addition to providing a narrative, Martin also pulled over and used his iPad to show us maps of the area in the pre-colonial time, and took the time to explain the history behind everything we were seeing.

Our trip encompassed historic Boston, Cambridge--including Harvard University and MIT campuses, Old Salem and Marblehead and lasted approximately 7 hours. I thought the price of the tour was more than fair for the personal attention we received and the amount of ground we covered during the day.

A private tour company is only as good as the people who work for it. In this case, Boston Private Tours is well-represented by an informative guide with a great personality. Thank you, Martin, for a great day!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Gushguire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Boston Private Tours - Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing