We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent to say the least” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Coppa

Coppa
Reserve with OpenTable
Coppa is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #128 of 3,179 Restaurants in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$18 - US$30
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Drinks, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Neighbourhood: South End
Description: Coppa is an intimate enoteca tucked on a quiet side street in Boston's South End featuring Italian small plates created by James Beard Award-winning Chefs Jamie Bissonnette and Ken Oringer. Everything is made with locally sourced and sustainable ingredients. Coppa has an eclectic wine list, and unique cordial-based cocktails. We offer a patio in the warmer months. Please note that patio & bar are first come first serve. You can book dining reservations on Open Table or by calling the restaurant. Please also visit our sister restaurant, Toro on Washington street in the South End of Boston.
Missouri City, Texas, USA
Level Contributor
34 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Excellent to say the least”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2013

My husband and I ate there at the end of December. It is a small restaurant, very quaint and cozy. The food is OUTSTANDING. The service is OUTSTANDING. We tried so many things, all of which were excellent. Great wine list; knowledgeable wait staff; Caroline (hopefully proper name and spelling) was wonderful at taking the list of what we wanted and bringing it out at the right time. Prices are great value. Now our #1 place in Boston.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MissingtheCape
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    149
    75
    17
    9
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Beijing, China
Level Contributor
53 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Nice little South End Italian with decent Italian Wine list.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2012

We were in Boston recently to visit the girls at College and popped into Coppa for lunch. Our foodie eldest made the recommendation and we were not disappointed. The Linguini Nero (with lobster) was delicate, not overcooked and the lobster was firm without being rubbery. The (all Italian) wines by the glass were drinkable with good, reasonably priced, alternatives by the bottle. All of us were happy with both quality and quantity of our dishes. Whilst apparently busy at night the restaurant was sparsely occupied when we went for lunch and there was no problem seating the five of us.

Service could have been a touch warmer and seats and tables a little more comfortable, but we were not expecting a fine dining experience so all in all we were very happy.

Worth the visit.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TeaSpray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Absolutely Phenomenal!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2012 via mobile

Very cozy atmosphere, superb service, and most importantly, food is....simply incredible!!! Most definitely deserves to be a top 5 restaurant!

Helpful?
Thank mdh8691
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
79 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“This is a great place to hang out.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2012

This cozy restaurant does it well. First, I love squeezing through the curtained entrance which serves to keep out the cold - so parisian! The food is just right, the drink selection just broad enough, and the ambience low key. A perfect spot to enjoy with your loved-one.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank SouthEndGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
74 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Really tasty Italian inspired small plates”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2012

The Italian inspired tapas/small plates at Coppa are fantastic. Executed equally well as at their sister restaurant, Toro (also in the South End). In fact some things on the menu such as the beef heart and the sea urchin panini seemed like they would be the same as those served at Toro. But we could tell the subtle difference in prep btw Toro and Coppa. My wife and I went here and we had 4 glasses of wine and 8 small plates for about $100. The "basic" things like the meatballs were really well executed. But go there with an open mind and try things like beef heart, sea urchin, trippa... Decor is like Toro, simple and not stuffy. It reminds me of this place in Rome that we recently checked out, Salotto 42, or a Venice cicchetti bar. Service was attentive too.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank uvabrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Coppa also viewed

 

Been to Coppa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing