We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disgusting!”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Back Bay Beacon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Back Bay Beacon
Ranked #21 of 39 Boston B&B and Inns
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Disgusting!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2011

No one should ever stay here! This has to be the worst 'hotel' ever. It is smelly, the furniture is in terrible condition, the carpet is in a terrible state. Every is in a dark color and I dare not imagine how gross it really is. We just checked in 30 mins ago for the start of holiday and this has to be a terrible start. Being late in the night I cringe to think we have to stay here for the night. The corridor stinks with students drinking alcohol and smoking. For the price it is charging it's day light robbery.

Room Tip: Don't trust the pictures
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Disgruntked
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    12
    9
    9
    6
See reviews for
23
12
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2010

My husband and I made arrangements to rent a unit in this building three months in advance. Were we ever disappointed. The unit was very dirty, there was broken furniture, dirty dishes in the dishwasher, walls were dirty, the bathroom sink was cracked etc. We only stayed one night (made reservations for a full month) and slept on the sofa bed. I would not sleep in the bedroom. Not a good experience.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dtf1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Boston hotels

Jupiter, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2010

The standard of these properties is far below what is claimed on the website. They are poorly maintained & certainly not luxurious. There is a distinct lack of privacy - only partial walls & shutters separate the bedrooms. Expect a lot of noise & light pollution from the traffic on Beacon Street - windows are not double glazed & the window treatments are missing. Worst of all are the bathrooms. Fittings are very old & in a poor state of repair: chipped mirrors, rusted fixtures, discolored grout & sealant, toilet seat supposed to be white, but brown with age. Utterly disgusting. I shuddered every time I had to use the bathroom. Definitely do not waste your money, or spoil your trip to Boston by staying here.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AJM365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2010

This short-stay unit was a great find and a great value. It was charming, with a spiral staircase, and the rooms had great character. The location is simply the best for experiencing Boston or Cambridge - we spent our days visiting in the city, our evenings walking through the nearby public gardens, and our nights at local restaurants and salsa clubs - all withing a few minutes' walk. Affordable price, ideal location - and our room came with a discount coupon for some nearby restaurants. Overall, it was a great place for me and my family to stay. I would absolutely recommend this space for a family or a few friends looking to get away for a while.

  • Stayed June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ltdean2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
colorado
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2010

Let me just start by saying wow what a view! My buddys and I recently took a guys trip to Boston to visit a friend. We were planing on staying with him but upon seeing his dingy one room studio we decided to make other arrangements. He found the Back Bay Beacon. Talk about an up grade this was a huge three bed three bath top floor palace. The living room had an entire wall of windows looking over the city, it was sick. One of the rooms up stairs had roof top access for chillin in the night air and the other two had an even better view of the city then the living room. Its safe to say that we couldn't have found a better spot. From comfort to location the Back Bay Beacon has it all, I highly recommend anybody traveling through Boston check it out. Trust me you wont regret it.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank trigger177
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Downtown
Boston Park Plaza
Boston Park Plaza
#55 of 83 in Boston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,657 reviews
Back Bay
Taj Boston
Taj Boston
#31 of 83 in Boston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,568 reviews
Downtown
Omni Parker House
Omni Parker House
#43 of 83 in Boston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 7,051 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Godfrey Hotel Boston
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#4 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,240 reviews
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Back Bay Beacon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Back Bay Beacon

Property: Back Bay Beacon
Address: 113 Beacon St, Boston, MA 02116-1533
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Back Bay Beacon 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy architecturally unique suites in a Boston Back Bay brownstone.This 150 year old brownstone is located in one of Boston's most prestigious and historical neighborhoods. Just steps away enjoy sailboats and summer concerts along the Charles River, or relax in the Boston Public Gardens. You can experience the buzz of Boston's Financial District and marvel over the gold embossed State House built in 1798 where the metal work of Paul Revere is proudly displayed.After a long day at the office or an exciting city tour, you'll be glad to return to all of the comforts of home. Beacon on the Common provides an eclectic selection of private suites that tastefully mix old world charm with modern appointments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Back Bay Beacon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Back Bay Beacon Hotel Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing