We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a Dump!”
Review of Back Bay Beacon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Back Bay Beacon
Ranked #19 of 38 Boston B&B and Inns
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“What a Dump!”
Reviewed 17 August 2011

Comparing the online photos with what our room actually looked like was laughable. Maybe they have some better properties, but ours was disgusting: broken sofa bed, gross kitchen, and a bathroom so grotty it looked dirty, even if they had cleaned it.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 70LauraD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    12
    9
    9
    6
See reviews for
23
12
Solo
0
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Naples, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2011

We had a great stay and fell in love with this building. From the moment you drive up to its stately facade to entering the lovely suite. It was all we hoped for. Clean, well appointed and stylish. I am sure to be back.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tony9845
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Califronai
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2011

This is a functional apartment that feels like staying at a friend's somewhat run-down home, rather than at guest accommodations. The apartment is adequate but charmless. I is well located, and the bathroom, bedroom, and kitchen were adequately clean (although there were a few dirty utensils that needed washing in the silverware drawer). On the other hand, all of the furnishings are aging and mismatched. The kitchen contains an odd collection of mismatched glasses and silverware and worn pots and pans. The dining room table has been sloppily repaired and has three types of mismatched chairs, one of which is missing feet and is unstable. The rugs and furniture are well worn, as are the bed linens. "Eclectic" would be a euphemism for the odd mix of random books and vases that constitute the decor. In summary, this apartment desperately needs to be redone as a guest house with matched and new furnishings, linens, and kitchen utensils.

Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank James92617
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Boston hotels

Ontario, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2011

we rented the 3 bdrm, 2 bath unit with friends and stayed a total of 4 nights. we were extremely disapointed in the accommodations. the front entrance and hallways were run down and smelly; the carpets need to be ripped up. the unit itself had lots of character but unfortunately, the interior upgrades were done very poorly. the kitchen had new cupboards and counters but most of the door fronts were hanging off the hinges and the dishwasher tipped forward when the door was opened. there were few kitchen essentials ( dishes, pots , pans ) to cook with which was the main purpose of getting this unit. most apartment rentals would include some basics such as seasonings, sugar etc. - not this place! the living room had nice high ceilings but the furniture was cheap and you sunk right through the seat cushions. the large window was quite dirty with a broken window blind that didn't work. the A/C unit was held in place with silver duct tape and the cold air came right through the flimsy side panels. the main floor bedroom also had an A/C unit held in place with tape but there was a large gap under the unit and the cold air blew in the entire time. There were no window coverings so the street light shone in all night long. There was no closet in this bedroom and one of the upper sleeping lofts looked down into the bedroom. there was only a half wall between this bedroom and the living room so no privacy what so ever. the bathrooms appear to be original to the building and the mirrors were chipped and broken. The tubs, toilets and sinks all need to be thrown out. the tiles were mismatched and the caulking in the upstairs bathroom had mould/mildew all over . the upstairs sleeping lofts ( NOT bedrooms) looked into the main floor so there was no fresh air and they were hot and stuffy. this place was a major disapointment and we could not wait to leave. it is extremely overpriced for the quality of the finishes. we called ahead of time to express concern over some of the reviews on Trip Advisor and were told that those reviews were based on the previous management company and the issues had all been addressed - I guess we were fools to believe them. won't do that again! it is a shame that the owners have not made the investment necessary to make this an attractive place to stay as it is in a great location.

Room Tip: sometime pictures can be very deceiving !
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank CWiebe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redwood City
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2011

My family of 4 (two teenage daughters, husband, and I) stayed here over a weekend in August 2010. I'm not sure why this is classified as a hotel, it's actually a vacation rental. We stayed in a 2 bedroom bi-level suite.

There were 4 big negatives.
1. The bedrooms were more like enclosed lofts, with a very low celing, no air circulation, hot and stuffy (and we weren't even there during a heat wave). The air conditioning unit was in the living room and my husband and I wound up sleeping there.
2. The apartment was a lot darker than the photos and did not feel well-maintained.
3. The building is run down and has definitely seen better days.
4. No grocery stores within walking distance, closest one had shut down. Good thing we had a car and stocked up before we got there. Parking was a challenge but that's true with any place downtown.

The positives were the location (we walked to see the sights), the kitchen was nice and modern, there was a washing machine and dryer on the first floor that we used (free). But frankly, I would have rather stayed somewhere else.

Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank ThreeSuns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2011

No one should ever stay here! This has to be the worst 'hotel' ever. It is smelly, the furniture is in terrible condition, the carpet is in a terrible state. Every is in a dark color and I dare not imagine how gross it really is. We just checked in 30 mins ago for the start of holiday and this has to be a terrible start. Being late in the night I cringe to think we have to stay here for the night. The corridor stinks with students drinking alcohol and smoking. For the price it is charging it's day light robbery.

Room Tip: Don't trust the pictures
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Disgruntked
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2010

My husband and I made arrangements to rent a unit in this building three months in advance. Were we ever disappointed. The unit was very dirty, there was broken furniture, dirty dishes in the dishwasher, walls were dirty, the bathroom sink was cracked etc. We only stayed one night (made reservations for a full month) and slept on the sofa bed. I would not sleep in the bedroom. Not a good experience.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dtf1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Back Bay
Taj Boston
Taj Boston
#35 of 83 in Boston
2,772 reviews
Downtown
Boston Park Plaza
Boston Park Plaza
#57 of 83 in Boston
2,065 reviews
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#6 of 83 in Boston
3,322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Godfrey Hotel Boston
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel Boston
Downtown
Omni Parker House
Omni Parker House
#46 of 83 in Boston
7,524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Back Bay Beacon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Back Bay Beacon

Property: Back Bay Beacon
Address: 113 Beacon St, Boston, MA 02116-1533
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Back Bay Beacon 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy architecturally unique suites in a Boston Back Bay brownstone.This 150 year old brownstone is located in one of Boston's most prestigious and historical neighborhoods. Just steps away enjoy sailboats and summer concerts along the Charles River, or relax in the Boston Public Gardens. You can experience the buzz of Boston's Financial District and marvel over the gold embossed State House built in 1798 where the metal work of Paul Revere is proudly displayed.After a long day at the office or an exciting city tour, you'll be glad to return to all of the comforts of home. Beacon on the Common provides an eclectic selection of private suites that tastefully mix old world charm with modern appointments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Back Bay Beacon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Back Bay Beacon Hotel Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing