We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the highlights of our trip!”
Review of Back Bay Beacon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Back Bay Beacon
Ranked #21 of 37 Boston B&B and Inns
Reviewed 28 October 2012

We recently returned to Australia from our New England honeymoon, where we spent 9 nights at 16 Cedar Lane Way Beacon Hill in a 1 bedroom suite with a private rooftop terrace. Our stay at BackBay Beacon Apartments was fantastic- the location was just unbelievable, we could not image staying anywhere else when we return to Boston, it was not only close to everything but in the most beautiful part of Beacon Hill. The view from our private rooftop terrace was just like being in another era- the endless views of chimneys reminded me of Mary Poppins :) We loved the split level apartment, yes it was sometimes annoying having to climb so many stairs but it just added to the character. The apartment was clean and had everything you would need- except any information about Boston! We went to a nearby major hotel for maps and ideas on where to go and what to see. I would have appreciated some tea, coffee, and milk, as well as laundry powder, but we were close to a convenience store so we just bought those things. I would stay here again for sure, we felt like it was our home away from home. Lots of spare towels were provided too so we didn't need housekeeping. The ONLY thing that really was frustrating was that the bedroom was so light in the morning that we had to sleep with eye masks on to keep the light out. But the bed was comfortable so that kind of made up for it.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HoneymoonCouple2709
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (64)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

34 - 40 of 64 reviews

Reviewed 26 October 2012

We stayed at the Back Bay Beacon in Early October 2012. We had originally reserved a second night, but after the first night we found the apartment to be so uncomfortable we had to find another place to stay. I've never left a hotel in the middle of a reservation, but there was no way we could get a good night's sleep at this place and thus decided to make the painful decision to eat the $250 we had paid for the night's stay.

It's clear upon entering the apartment that quality furnishings aren't the first priority. We stayed in unit 5f. I didn't find any pictures of our unit online but I thought they would be similar to the pictures online. Not so! There is no granite countertops or luxury furnishings. All of the furnishings are walmart-grade, aging, and uncomfortable. The kitchen is too narrow to actually do any cooking inside of it, and the appliances are 20-30 years old. The only television was a 19" circa 1997. There wasn't even an area rug to prevent the cheap furniture from sliding around (and scratching) the floor.

We put our young daughter in the master bedroom bed since the pullout couch was too unsafe for her to sleep on with all of the exposed sharp edges and levers. That meant that my husband and I had to sleep on the "mattress". This "bed" is not fit for human use. It was like sleeping on a chain link fence. It was an excrusicating six hours trying to sleep on this thing while the sharp springs bruised my thighs.

It was chilly in Boston the night we stayed there and the only blankets provided to us, on the bed and for the pullout couch were as thin as an ordinary bed sheet. We posted pictures to facebook of my husband sleeping on the hard wood floor. Still, more comfortable than the bed.

The only good thing about this place is the location, but that isn't reason enough to stay here. Overall, I've never stayed in such cheap accommodations with such a poor quality bed and linens. The fact that I paid over $500 for this place is unbelievable ($250 per night once of which wasn't used). Take the $250 and go buy a television made in this century!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Christi R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2012

We stayed in 4F for three nights in September and found the place to be clean, quiet, well maintained and with a full kitchen. The kids slept on the sofa bed and were comfortable.
The best thing is the location. It's so close to the Public Garden that you could almost call it your own backyard. It's also very close to the Charles River (good playground and good place for a run), Newbury Street and the Arlington T station. the free wifi was also appreciated.
If there was to be some criticism, it would be that you can't open the windows to let in fresh air, and the only ventilation in the apartment comes from a small air conditioner that struggles from time to time. Also, the information pack was missing some pages (including that about the closest supermarket). This was not a major issue, as a quick Google check using the free wifi had us on our way.
We are already looking forward to our next trip to Boston.

Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
Thank Urana77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2012

I also take no pleasure in giving a bad review, in fact, this is my first review. 113 Beacon is a lovely brownstone in the heart of Back Bay; close to the Public Garden, great restaurants, shopping and tourist adventures. Our unit was 1-Front, next to the street & front entry and had a gourmet galley kitchen, hardwood floors, & much old-world charm. However, a back unit was rented to a group hosting a bachelor party, complete with a stripper. Our first night, the large group loudly partied in their unit, the halls & on the front stoop where they smoked in front of our AC. It smelled like they were smoking inside our unit. They slammed doors, yelled, and generally acted like a bunch of drunks at a Frat party. We called management at 2 AM & she promised to do something, nothing was done. Two more calls went to voice mail. We called the police at 2:30 AM. They did a drive-by but the partying continued. We called again around 3 AM and 2 cruisers w/ 4 police came and broke up the party on the front steps. The party continued all night inside their unit. Management called the next morning, apologized, & said if it happened again, she would send her "bouncer." On Sat night, the group returned about 2-3 AM & partied in their unit, again smoking on the stoop. We called the rental agent's home phone but it went to voice mail. So much for responding with the bouncer. For the same money, we could have stayed at the Marriott in Copley, had a restful sleep, and been better protected from other guests. Look elsewhere, this place was no bargain at any price.

Room Tip: Go to another hotel or B & B.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AltheaH2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas D, Manager at Back Bay Beacon, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for choosing the Back Bay Beacon for your recent trip to Boston.

We appreciate your kind remarks on the location of our building and the quality of your rental!

We can't apologize enough for the problems that you experienced at the hands of some extremely inconsiderate guests. We do not condone parties of any type at our property, and we do enforce quiet hour's from 11 pm to 7 am. Unfortunately, these guests required police involvement in order to be controlled.

As for the delay in reaction, I believe that you were in contact with the third party Booking Agent that made your reservations, and not our property management office. We would have had police there immediately.

We know that a refund does not make up for a horrible stay, but we hope that you know that we did refund you and that we hope you will consider returning in the future. Our two and three bedroom fully furnished apartments with kitchens are an extremely good alternative to the typical hotel stay, for the traveler that does not need the extra services, but wants to feel like they are living in Boston during their stay.

Please let us know if you have any questions, or if there is anything that we can do to assist you with future reservation needs.

Best Regards,

Tom DeSisto
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2012

My friends and I were looking for a comfortable, clean and convenient place to stay in the city. We did not want to have to walk far to get to the shops or restaraunts. Our stay at 113 Beacon could not have been better. The location is perfect. With Newbury street a few streets back and the park just steps away, we had a great Boston night filled with endless options. Staying here truly made our stay in the city worth while. The place was immaculate. It was a hot summer night and the air conditioning made things cool and comfortable. When we saw other guests in the hallway, they were friendly and said hello to us, but we never heard from them again as our room was quiet and private. The beds were so comfortable that I could have slept all morning, but with so much surrounding us outside we had to get up and walk around. I would absolutely recommend staying at 113 Beacon if you are looking for a great place to stay in Boston. I honestly do not have one bad thing to say, other than my stay was too short. I would go back in a second. Hope you all have as great a time as we did when you choose to stay at this property, I am positive you will!

Room Tip: All rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kristin O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas D, Manager at Back Bay Beacon, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for choosing the Back Bay Beacon for your recent trip to Boston! Your feedback is greatly appreciated!

We are so happy that you has such a wonderful stay! Please let us know if you have any questions, or if there is anything that we can do to assist you with any future reservation needs.

Best Regards,

Tom DeSisto
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2012

We made travel arrangements months ago. We were shown pictures of 2 bedroom properties and were assured that all units were alike. Do NOT stay here unless you want to over pay for a run down unit. Once you get here, you could find yourself in a dirty, rundown, mediocre unit with no other alternatives. There might be some nice units in the building.... But apparently they are saved for "special" guests. Do not stay here..... Location is a 5..... Rest is 2. NO, I can not recommend. There are other places that have a good location for similar price.

Room Tip: You can not choose a room here. Rooms are "assigned" the week prior to arriving.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cstoca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2012

Great location, close to shopping, restaurants, business,
but misses on overall service, attention to details.
Room service is slow, one day they never answered,
phone and order taken by front desk. Once you ask for
Assistance, it's offered, but not proactive. Housekeeping
knocked on door at 8am wanting to clean the room.
Don't know if I will stay there again, but location is great.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ashton B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#6 of 86 in Boston
3,467 reviews
Back Bay
Loews Boston Hotel
Loews Boston Hotel
#15 of 86 in Boston
1,767 reviews
Back Bay
Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Back Bay
Taj Boston
Taj Boston
#37 of 86 in Boston
2,897 reviews
Back Bay
The Westin Copley Place, Boston
Back Bay
Boston Marriott Copley Place
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Back Bay Beacon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Back Bay Beacon

Address: 113 Beacon St, Boston, MA 02116-1533
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 37 B&Bs / Inns in Boston
Price Range: £124 - £427 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Back Bay Beacon 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy architecturally unique suites in a Boston Back Bay brownstone.This 150 year old brownstone is located in one of Boston's most prestigious and historical neighborhoods. Just steps away enjoy sailboats and summer concerts along the Charles River, or relax in the Boston Public Gardens. You can experience the buzz of Boston's Financial District and marvel over the gold embossed State House built in 1798 where the metal work of Paul Revere is proudly displayed.After a long day at the office or an exciting city tour, you'll be glad to return to all of the comforts of home. Beacon on the Common provides an eclectic selection of private suites that tastefully mix old world charm with modern appointments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Agoda and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Back Bay Beacon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Back Bay Beacon Hotel Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing