We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing!”
Review of Back Bay Beacon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Back Bay Beacon
Ranked #21 of 37 Boston B&B and Inns
Reviewed 20 August 2013

Just stayed at the penthouse this past weekend and it was amazing! The views, the rooms and the kitchen and bar area stocked with dishes and glassware. The bathrooms are gorgeous and super updated. Honestly though, my favorite part about this building is the elevator and access to the roof. I had a few other friends staying with me and everyone was blown away! There is plenty of space to have guests sleep and hang out in the large living room/dining room area and you honestly cannot beat the location. Thank you Back Bay Beacon you made this girl seriously happy!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TheDersh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (63)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

24 - 30 of 63 reviews

Reviewed 12 August 2013

Very clean and excellent location in my favorite neighborhood. The only thing that was wrong was that the washer was broken- it didn't agitate and our clothes didn't get clean. We had to schlep it down to the Beacon street laundromat twice. Other than that- great layout and perfect for a family of four. We will be back!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JASUkiah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2013

You really can't beat this location, within a block of the Public Garden and very near Copley Square, the Freedom Trail and the T. We were in Unit 5F, which had clearly been renovated since some of the reviews for it last year. This is not a huge unit, but has two distinct bedrooms and some good living space. It's not the brightest space, but it's your typical Boston brownstone. Worked out great for our family of 4.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hoos90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2013

Just spent 3 nights at the Back Bay Inn - Room 4R. The location of this Inn is fabulous. One block from Boston Common Park makes it easy to get anywhere in the city. This charming Brownstone has been neglected. The unit was furnished with second hand furniture and cheaply finished. The window in the bedroom is being held in place with tape and will fall at any moment. Making reservations on line was a nightmare. The management company owns multiple buildings in Boston and will move you to another property based on availability without clearly telling you. It took multiple phone calls to get it straightened out and each time the price kept going up. Won't be back. Boston was fabulous though!

Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
Thank Hughchoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2013

We needed a last minute place to stay for 2 nights before heading out to the Cape. This was literally the only place available to rent....so it was better than sleeping on the street. Just barely.

The 2 bedroom we stayed in was on 5 or 6 levels, it was like a 1980's funhouse. You entered into the mini kitchen, went up a few steps to a living room/dining room that had stained carpets and smelled of smoke and mildew. Then you went up a few more steps to a narrow strip that might have been a "library" or upper livingroom. More steps up to a landing with a bathroom and even more steps up to a bedroom on either side of a landing.

This may once have been a beautiful apartment, the building from the outside is lovely and the location is perfect, just next to the Public Garden. It was obviously chopped up to make smaller units but I'm not sure an architect was consulted. This is certainly not a B+B.

It was certainly an interesting stay. Rather dark and stuffy. I would not stay here again unless it was for a bet where I stood to make a lot of money.

On the plus side, parking was easy and there are some great restaurants nearby.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank spiderkelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2013

We stayed at 113 Beacon for two nights as part of a group of 5 adults (30-35 y.o.). Our unit was 6F - the front unit on the top floor, which is a bi-level 3 BR, 2 bath. Two of the bedrooms are bright and spacious while the third was a dark room, barely larger than the bed off the living area. The beds were pretty hard and the mattress had some sort of plastic cover on it underneath the sheets so it made for a sweaty night's sleep. The wall separating our apartment from the one next door was very thin - we could hear conversations and children playing (and then crying) as if they were in our apartment. All that being said, the apartment was spacious, the amenities were all quality for the most part (granite counters, etc.) and apart from a few dings, it was in good shape. It was great value for 5 adults and a great location.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Molly P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2013

The Back Bay is almost stereotypic Boston: lots of wood, British-style drawing room, etc. The rooms are large, the sun shades dense, the service impeccable. There is one small drawback: there is no place in the spacious bathroom to put your things, although there is plenty of room for a small shelf or table.Every other need has been anticipated. There are robes and slippers, hair dryers, iron and ironing board, a safe, toiletries,coffee maker, and so forth. We would definitely stay there again. The location is perfect. Boston is a small, walking city and the Back Bay seems to be right in the middle of every place you might want to go--a) the symphony, theater and museums, b) Copley Square, c) the theaters and restaurants of the Back Bay, d) the Commons, e) the Prudential Center, and shopping and the historic district.

Room Tip: Our room looked out onto Stuart St. and there was virtually no noise from city traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Saussy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#6 of 84 in Boston
3,415 reviews
Back Bay
Taj Boston
Taj Boston
#34 of 84 in Boston
2,865 reviews
Back Bay
Charlesmark Hotel
Charlesmark Hotel
#68 of 84 in Boston
971 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Back Bay
The Midtown Hotel
The Midtown Hotel
#66 of 84 in Boston
3,793 reviews
Downtown
Revere Hotel Boston Common
Fenway / Kenmore
Gryphon House
Gryphon House
#5 of 37 in Boston
364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Back Bay Beacon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Back Bay Beacon

Address: 113 Beacon St, Boston, MA 02116-1533
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 37 B&Bs / Inns in Boston
Price Range: £116 - £281 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Back Bay Beacon 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy architecturally unique suites in a Boston Back Bay brownstone.This 150 year old brownstone is located in one of Boston's most prestigious and historical neighborhoods. Just steps away enjoy sailboats and summer concerts along the Charles River, or relax in the Boston Public Gardens. You can experience the buzz of Boston's Financial District and marvel over the gold embossed State House built in 1798 where the metal work of Paul Revere is proudly displayed.After a long day at the office or an exciting city tour, you'll be glad to return to all of the comforts of home. Beacon on the Common provides an eclectic selection of private suites that tastefully mix old world charm with modern appointments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, HotelsClick, Booking.com and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Back Bay Beacon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Back Bay Beacon Hotel Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing