We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Brunch!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Island Creek Oyster Bar

Island Creek Oyster Bar
Reserve with OpenTable
Island Creek Oyster Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #20 of 3,179 Restaurants in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$31 - US$50
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Groups
Dining options: Brunch, After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighbourhood: Fenway / Kenmore
Cross street: Kenmore
Transit: Kenmore
Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
71 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Excellent Brunch!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014 via mobile

We went here for Father's Day brunch and it was amazing. We started with the oysters. Very fresh and nice selection. I liked the island creek oysters. We then had the fried oyster slider. The amount of flavor in that little sandwich was astonishing. We then had the lobster omelet that was very generous with the lobster. The honey butter went great with the dense toast. The only complaint was the mimosa could have had a better quality orange juice.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank jasiowa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,631 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,083
    369
    129
    35
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
136 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Skip Legal seafoods and check out this seafood hotspot”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

Thoroughly impressed by this place. The room was alive on a Sunday night. I stopped in for a light snack. Just a few oysters and a slider. I would have been glad to have a full dinner here. The menu looks fantastic. The bartenders were very knowledgeable and presided over an impressive menu. You won't be disappointed.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ian J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jaffrey, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“If you like Oysters....”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

well actually I don't, but my husband loves them so we always try to eat here when we go to Fenway Park. There are lots of other yummy things on the menu - highly recommend the Crab Cake appetizer!!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank MBHfromNH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Terrible service”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

Saw the high ranking on tripadvisor so we went in with great expectations. We had a reservation for 9 p.m but we were there a little early and but they were able to seat us within 15 minutes.

Food was only so-so. Oysters were fresh but the lobster roll and fish was definitely not worth the price. We tried a few other restaurants in Boston that doesn't have as good ratings as this restaurant but the food was at least 10 times better. If you are looking for good seafood you are definitely better off going to somewhere else, especially with the price you are paying.

The only real problem is definitely the service. Our server initially was polite, but wasn't super friendly but it gets worse and worse as we go along(maybe because we didn't order alcohol?). We ordered oysters, clam chowder and 2 entrees but for some reason they gave us the clam chowder after they serve us the entree and he did not even apologize or acknowledged that they shouldn't have done that. He simply just put the soup next to our entrees. During the entire time he never came and ask us how our food was. Towards the end we asked our server to help us take a picture and he told us to wait. And we saw him going around every table talking to people, taking drink orders, serving other customers drink etc. etc. After waiting for 25 minutes he finally came over and helped us.

With this kind of service(maybe it was just this particular waiter who was a snob?) I would never come back to this restaurant or would ever recommend to anyone.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LC1008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valhalla, New York
Level Contributor
105 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Great for Oysters and More”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

I would expect to have great oysters here, but what surprise me are the delicious main courses. To start, oyster sliders and raw oysters are a must. If you manage to make it past those with an appetite left, try the lobster roe noodles, which were fantastic and unique, and adorned with plenty of lobster meat. Great for a quick bite at the bar or a formal meal in the back of the restaurant, in the beautifully modern dining room. Service is excellent as well.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ph7719
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Island Creek Oyster Bar also viewed

 

Been to Island Creek Oyster Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing