We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quick bite” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of MET Back Bay

MET Back Bay
Reserve with OpenTable
MET Back Bay is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #248 of 3,179 Restaurants in Boston
Price range: US$30 - US$50
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Child-friendly, Groups
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Drinks, After-hours, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighbourhood: Back Bay
Cross street: Newbury Street
Transit: Green Line T Stop is Copley
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Quick bite”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

Met bar is great place to stop for quick drink and burger. Rest of the menu has changed over the years and it is not as good as it was in past. The food was ok today. Little overcooked, cold and dry. The service and drinks made up for it.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TheBeast667
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

353 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    104
    151
    51
    24
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Alberta Canada
Level Contributor
69 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Great bar to take a break”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

We ventured into the Met bar for a break from touring around and a cool beer. The bar inside is very nice...great selection of beer on tap and a very nice menu to choose a snack or full meal. We were there a couple times, the bartenders are excellent, very personable and helpful with the menu choices. The atmosphere is perfect for just taking a break or visiting with others at the bar...also the met is in a fantastic location on Newbury close to the Copley subway stop.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank KBB57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amesbury, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Poor Service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

I had lunch there with 5 other women on a Saturday. The menu was a little weird since we were there at 1:30 but they only have a brunch menu until 3pm. So there was a lot of breakfast choices that we weren't interested in. That being said, I split a club type sandwich with my friend and they graciously served it on 2 plates and it was delicious. Now onto the bad stuff. Two of the women in our party ordered salads with salmon on top. Bothe pieces of salmon arrived raw. Not rare, raw. We weren't even sure who was waiting on us since several people had serviced us since we sat down. Anyway, we flagged down a girl and explained the problem. The women said that they would prefer them to take the salmon back and remove the upcharge from the bill. The girl said" I don't want to deal with this. You'll have to talk to the manager". I never heard it put like THAT before! The manager took his time coming over. he took the fish back, had it cooked and brought it back, unfortunately, after we were all done. He did take both salads off the bill completely, but the girl's attitude was really off putting. I would never go there again.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank susan29509
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Rosa, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Happy to Find The Met Bar”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014 via mobile

We were trying to find a cafe that offered breakfast but were too late for most cafés and thought we could only get sandwiches at 11:30 am on a Monday
We found The Met Bar, it's a charming sidewalk cafe at a beautiful old building along a relatively quiet tree lined street.
We were seated outside in a cozy cushioned corner
Very friendly staff great food and we got our breakfast omelette too!
I'd like to return again and try their dinner
Our omelette of the day and Green Guru salad with salmon was great!!!
A very good value

Helpful?
Thank Lindaills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NY
Level Contributor
298 reviews
200 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“Pleasant brunch stop”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

Six of us went here for brunch on the Sunday of Memorial Day Weekend. We were three adults, two teens and one child. The decor is very nice, comfortable, attractive and clean. The breakfast/bunch menu was varied. Everyone in our group enjoyed their meals, including pancakes and eggs benedict. I chose the steel cut oats which were unsweetened but topped with berries and granola. Delicious. Ver nice service, prompt and attentive. I would definitely recommend it if you are in the area.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank bkramer947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to MET Back Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing