We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A bit expensive” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of 5 Napkin Burger- Boston

5 Napkin Burger- Boston
Reserve with OpenTable
5 Napkin Burger- Boston is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #229 of 3,179 Restaurants in Boston
Price range: US$0 - US$18
Cuisines: American, Bar, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighbourhood: Back Bay
Description: 5 Napkin Burger is an upscale restaurant devoted to the art of the hamburger. The signature is 10 oz of fresh ground chuck topped with rosemary aioli, caramelized onions and melted gruyere on a soft white roll. The full burger lineup includes the all-American Bacon Cheddar, Italian Turkey, Avocado Ranch, Mushroom Bleu, Veggie, Lamb, Tuna, Inside Out, even a Burger Salad. While the burgers may be the headliners, the diverse menu of expertly prepared American classics entice foodies to come back nightly. 5 Napkin is the rare burger restaurant where vegetarians and carnivores are equally at home. Additional temptations include expertly prepared sushi maki rolls, Matzo Ball Soup, Steak Frites and Fish & Chips. The 5 Napkin beverage programs showcases a global selection of 60 wines and 80 beers, 10 signature cocktails, 40 bourbons and a host of decadent milk shakes and floats – all a perfect complement to the cuisine.
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
63 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A bit expensive”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

A little much for a burger joint. I have had better and worse. Would not be my first choice next time, but would not say no if someone suggested it. I would not bring children. Although it is ok, it seems like at times it is more of an adult crowd. Service was good.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank J0hn01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

603 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    122
    251
    154
    55
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mass
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great burgers!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

Family had lunch here before sox game. wife and I had the brunch burger and it was great.We sat outside to enjoy the beautiful day. good value and service

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank abercrombie9701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Ayrshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“mouth watering burgers”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

excellent food and good value for money. 1st taste of America after a transatlantic flight and not disappointed

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Chris D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NJ
Level Contributor
184 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Tasteless hamburger at a hamburger place”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

It was a bleak, rainy day so we wanted a place in the Pru Center next to the Sheraton. We arrived to a friendly greeting and a very friendly waitress who took our orders. It went all downhill from there. The French onion soup was passable - not great. The burger, which should have been the main draw, was dry and tasteless. We had both ordered them medium rare, which should have been hot and juicy. It actually arrived pink inside as requested, but tasted like it had been lying around for days and heated to lukewarm. Hard, dry and flavorless. I think this place depends on all the toppings to add flavor to a flavorless burger. Fries were mediocre and also lukewarm.

I don't think we ever saw the waitress again until it was time for the check, which took forever. Somebody else brought the meals, and nobody asked if we liked the food. Our water glasses stood empty and we never got a refill during the meal. A lot of money for a couple of hamburgers that didn't rise to the level of a fast food place.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DestinationMoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good place for brunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

The food was great. We sat outside on a pretty day. The breakfast tacos were delicious. Service was very good.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Patricia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed 5 Napkin Burger- Boston also viewed

 

Been to 5 Napkin Burger- Boston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing