We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hall with historic value”

Faneuil Hall Historic Site
Book In Advance
More Info
US$900.00*
and up
Boston Freedom Trail Tour in Luxury Rolls Royce Ghost
Ranked #46 of 392 things to do in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Designed by Charles Bulfinch, this historic building hosted such events as America's first town meeting and John F. Kennedy's last campaign speech.
Almere, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
324 reviews
238 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 491 helpful votes
“Great hall with historic value”
Reviewed 18 February 2014

We visited Faneuil Hall while walking the Freedom Trail during our three days stay in Boston. The building is impressive and cannot be missed. On the ground floor there is a small market where you can buy souvenirs, but the interesting places are on the second and third floor. Here are the famous meeting rooms, where now US National Park Services are holding free presentations about colonial history. Very interesting! Faneuil Hall has been built in 1742 by Peter Faneuil, who donated it to Boston. Revolutionary colonists among Samuel Adams gathered here and protested agains ' taxation without representation'. Because of these meetings held between 1764 and 1774 Faneuil Hall was also called 'Cradle of Liberty'. In 1805/06 the building was expanded and the third floor was added. Also interesting is the gilded grasshopper weather vane on top of the building. It is made of copper and weights 38 pounds. It was placed on top in 1742 and has been there ever since. The vane has been blown off the building a few times, but repaired each time. It was even stolen one time in 1974, but recovered and placed back again. It is said that it is a kind of time capsule with all kind of items in its belly for future generations. Also see the statue of Samuel Adams behind Faneuil Hall on Congress Street.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank tRAVellerOfTheW0rld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

485 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    229
    175
    67
    11
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sagamore, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“My train trip to Boston”
Reviewed 18 December 2013

This past Summer my aunt and I have been doing train trips. Monday, December 16th we rode the train to Boston. We pulled into South Station and went into Macy's to shop at downtown crossing. We were hungry so decided we would go to Faneuil Hall. We were going to take the T but than realized it was a short walking distance and we trekked there. There is so much to do. with many places to eat and shop. When we finished there we were exhausted and headed back to the train station and home.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Patricia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chatsworth, California, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Foundation of the U.S.A.”
Reviewed 25 October 2013

Faneuil (rhymes with Daniel) Hall, often called "The Cradle of Liberty", offers individuals a chance to connect with the original founders of our Republic. The first public gathering was in 1748, and it is still used to bring individuals together to solve the problems inherent in the changing needs in our democracy. The "Great Hall" offers remarkable art - painting, statuary, and the architecture of the hall itself. The National Park Service Rangers present historical talks every 1/2 hour from 9:30 - 4:30PM. I especially enjoyed the enthusiastic knowledge of Ranger Richard Hoiles, who had just moved from Selma AL. His upbeat reverence for the importance of the Hall was contagious. Just a wonderful and unforgettable experience.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Theodore D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holywell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
613 reviews
339 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 325 helpful votes
“Where history was made”
Reviewed 6 October 2013

Like many of the places in Boston, this place has seen its fair share of history. It is free to enter and is well worth the visit, if only to marvel at the paintings of Revolutionary notables on the walls. In true Bostonian style, the guides are extremely welcoming and friendly. Another must-see in a must-see city!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank TOM-C--LIVERPOOL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brunswick, Maine
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Always a stop when I'm in Boston”
Reviewed 24 September 2013

I always make it a point to stop here when in Boston. My ancestors made the bricks that were used to build Faneuil Hall at the Pinkham Brick company in Dover NH.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ahroun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Faneuil Hall Historic Site also viewed

 

Been to Faneuil Hall Historic Site? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing