We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing Week-End!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of 14 Union Park

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
14 Union Park
Ranked #18 of 39 Boston B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Amazing Week-End!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2012

I loved this B&B! My partner and I arrived early and we thankfully got an early Check-in! Great room, very clean, amazing manager, super friendly, polite and helpful! Everything was perfect except maybe the room temperature (I'm always cold so I might not be the best person to judge that) that seemed very cold to me. Otherwise I would go back there tomorrow of I could! Amazing location, nice neighborhood and within walking distance to everything.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexandra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    55
    21
    8
    6
    0
See reviews for
17
42
9
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bern, Bern, Switzerland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2012

It was a nice stay in the 14 Union Street bed and breakfast. We enjoyed the ease of checking in and the beautiful and very comfortable room.
The breakfast was for the price of the B&B not as good as we expected it to be. For us everything necessary was supplied but not more.

Room Tip: We stayed in the blue room but I think all rooms are really good and I can recommend this B6B for a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nina E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2012

This is a wonderful place to stay in Boston. It's close to everything and nestled in a cozy, charming neighbourhood. I was attending a conference on the waterfront, but wanted to enjoy the essence of Boston rather than another hotel. This was a perfect choice for that. Devin was very attentive and very helpful for some extra requests I had. I would recommend it for a oasis in the city.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Deirdre W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omaha, Nebraska, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2012

I've been to Boston many times, but this is by far the best. This B&B had just what we needed....access to public transportation, restaurants, a nearby convenience store and a clean place to stay.The breakfast was very basic, but the operator was clear in advance about what to expect so there were no suprises here. We stayed in the yellow room and had a private bathroom. I am very happy with this choice and will return.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulaRenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frederick, Maryland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2012

My husband and I stayed in Boston from Thursday thru Monday. We stayed in another B&B closer to Fenway Park the first 2 days of our stay. We were very happy that we chose 14 Union Park for the last 2 days. Devin was very kind and wanted our stay to be as comfortable as possible, and offered an upgrade from our original room to the Blue room. It was immaculate and beautifully decorated. We especially liked the artwork on the walls. The bathroom was so modern and clean. One perk was the heat that came out of the ceiling while showering!!! The B&B was close to many very good restaurants and bars. We even walked to the Prudential center which just took about 15mins. We will stay here again if we ever return.

Room Tip: Blue Room had a lovely room of the park and a very firm bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank roserx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wash. St.
Level Contributor
76 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2012

Located in the south end of Boston, 14 Union Park B&B was a very nice place to stay. Our room was large and beautifully decorated, the bathroom spotless. It's all in a gorgeous Victorian-era Brownstone on a beautiful, shady street - the neighborhood felt very safe. Street noise wasn't really a problem for us, but there was a problem with a noisy guest on the floor above us (not the B&B's fault!). I'm always amazed at how clueless some guests can be -- they must think they're the only ones staying there, right?
Yes, it would've been nice to have a "normal" B&B breakfast but we felt owner Devin did a good job of providing the basics to get one's day off to a good start: yogurt, juice, muffins, bagels (with cream cheese), wheat bread, cereals, jellies, teas and a K-cup coffee machine.
The location was good. Just a few blocks to a T station or bus stop. I'd definitely recommend this to anyone.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 3 which was very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PokeynRosie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2012 via mobile

When I think of b&b, I do not think of cereal boxes for breakfast and to make my own coffee. I think of hospitality. To talk with the locals and eat locally made food. The house is beautiful, but every bit of wall space is covered with art for sale. It's a little bit tacky. I felt like prices were everywhere I looked. Literally. Maybe have a price sheet, instead? This place is a lovely building and a bed, but not a b&b. Too expensive for what you actually get.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FOODIE_JOJO_54321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Back Bay
Courtyard Boston Copley Square
Fenway / Kenmore
Hotel Commonwealth
Hotel Commonwealth
#8 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,203 reviews
Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
Seaport Boston Hotel
Seaport Boston Hotel
#2 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Godfrey Hotel Boston
Back Bay
Newbury Guest House
Newbury Guest House
#36 of 83 in Boston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 611 reviews
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#5 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 14 Union Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 14 Union Park

Property: 14 Union Park
Address: 14 Union Park, Boston, MA 02118-3700 (Formerly The Union Park Guest House)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > South End
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — 14 Union Park 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautifully renovated townhouse in Boston's South End. All guest rooms have exquisite new private baths. King deluxe rooms are on the third floor and each have in room Nespresso coffee makers. Queen Standard rooms are on the fourth floor and each have bath tubs in addition to stand up shower. There is a kitchenette on the 4th floor shared by all rooms with Keurig coffee maker and refrigerator/freezer containing ice. The Guest House is in a prime central location and a short walk to the silver line, orange line, green line, and Amtrak. Our rooms include air conditioning, hair dryers, ironing boards, iPod dock alarm clocks, wall-mounted flatscreen TVs with cable, plush towels and all the bathroom amenities just in case you forgot something! An "on the go" breakfast of coffee and tea, granola bars, and fresh fruit is offered. The guest house is situated in the heart of "restaurant row" and close to amazing dining options ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing