We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Lovely hotel in Boston city” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Royalton Suites

Royalton Suites
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Boston
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Royalton Suites
Ranked #34 of 39 Boston B&B and Inns
New York City, New York
1 review
“Lovely hotel in Boston city”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2011

We liked our stay at Royalton. Staff was very helpful and the location is great. Very comfortable room with all the modern facilities.

Room Tip: Ask for King Suites on the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    2
    4
    5
    8
See reviews for
3
9
1
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2011

We loved our stay at this small and quiet hotel in Boston. We stayed in room number 10 with purple ceiling. Great room with designer furniture. Would stay here again in the summer..:)

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Molly G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2011

We stayed here for 3 nights while visiting Boston with friends. Each couple upgraded to a king suite.
The rooms were nice although there were some issues. Our bathroom was very tiny and the electrical outlet was placed near the floor beside/behind the toilet making it virtually impossible to use a hairdryer. When we complained about it, a power cord with a long extension appeared a short time later which was impressive (all of the staff were very friendly and extremely helpful)
Our bathroom was very tiny and the towels were terrible (small, thin and sparse).
Our rooms were located on the 2nd floor which was great since there is no elevator in the hotel. The downside was that the smell of curry in the hallway from the first floor restaurant was rather overwelming at times (particularly first thing in the morning).
The hotel was in a great location, close to great shops and restaurants.
The biggest drawback was the noise from the street that woke us up each morning. It seems there is trash pick up every day and, on our first morning (which was a Friday) it started at 4:30 a.m.
Overall, it was a nice enough hotel with friendly and helpful service, large rooms in a great location but we will stay somewhere else next time.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a king suite and if mobility is an issue, ask for one on the 2nd floor since there are no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fishoutofwater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shalimar, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2011

This place is just an old brownstone converted to hotel rooms. But it has little in common with a real hotel. Let me elaborate...

When I checked in I couldn't figure out if this was an Indian restaurant or a hotel as the entire first floor seemed to be a restaurant with only one small desk as the hotel reception area.

The room has been renovated to be a hotel room but they did a shoddy job. They forgot to work on the small closet as it looked like it was from a tenement. The TV cable box was zip tied to the TV so it was just hanging below it—really cheap look. I had to use two remotes--one for the cable box and one for the TV. The blinds looked like used ones from Wal Mart. The towels were super cheap quality too.

My room was on the 3rd floor with no elevator. My room did not even have a room number on it which made it hard to check out. When I did check out early in the morning, the night clerk was sleeping on a bench with a pillow and blanket and I woke him up!

Worst yet, they charged me the same rate a a luxury hotel. I felt totally ripped off. I mean it really made me mad that I was taken advantage of this way. I would not even stay there for half the price. I really do not like this place at all.

Two positive things: it is in a great location and there was a table outside my room that had a coffee pot and free Nutri-Grain bars. (Yes, that means that there was not a coffee pot in the room.)

I am still upset with this place. I feel completely ripped off.

Room Tip: PIck a low room as there is no elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank steveshalimarfl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Boston hotels

Munich, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2011

My boyfriend and I stayed here for a weekend and really liked this place. The room was big and nicely arranged. The staff were courteous and helpful. The location was great... right on Newbury Street with all the nice shops, bars and restaurants. We were able to walk almost everywhere we went, which was a nice bonus. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WorldTraveller3434
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
56 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2011

Don't be fooled by the name, not Suites and NOT Royal!!!! This is a lovely old building which has been cheaply and dangerously renovated. Our door would not close, there was a curtain instead of a bathroom door. No hanging space for dresses, cheap blinds didn't close, water in the sink wouldn't drain. There were tiny black insects flying around, one light bulb kept 'popping' and shorting out, electric sockets hanging off the walls, although newly renovated (!) it was grubby. Bathroom not clean and only two small frayed towels. Staff (when we saw anybody) were the rudest most ignorant we have ever come across (except for the boy who showed us our room, he was quite apologetic). We couldn't wait to leave, the only thing it has going for it is the position, Newbury Road is very trendy, with lovely restaurants, designer shops and close to Copely Square.

Room Tip: Do NOT book this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AussieGC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2011

i booked my room three months before arrivinf in july this year
they took my money in june by credit card and 2 days before my arrival in Boston they said my credit card didn't work (they didn't need it because they had already taken the money)
they cancelled my room the day i arrived because they overbooked at a higher price than mine without warning
to be without a room in middle of july in Boston wasn't so easy
these guys are to be avoided; they don't care about customers they just want money
Unbelievable behavior

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank duffon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Back Bay
Newbury Guest House
Newbury Guest House
#34 of 82 in Boston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 601 reviews
Back Bay
Courtyard Boston Copley Square
Back Bay
Mandarin Oriental, Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#5 of 82 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,194 reviews
Back Bay
Charlesmark Hotel
Charlesmark Hotel
#57 of 82 in Boston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 927 reviews
Back Bay
Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royalton Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royalton Suites

Property: Royalton Suites
Address: 254 Newbury St, Boston, MA 02116-2403
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Boston
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Royalton Hotel Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing