We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lunch with family” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Barlow's Restaurant

Barlow's Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Barlow's Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #854 of 3,179 Restaurants in Boston
Price range: US$30 - US$30
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighbourhood: Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
Cross street: 241 A Street
Transit: Broadway Station on the Red Line or South Station
Post Falls, Idaho
1 review
“Lunch with family”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014 via mobile

45 minutes to get our food ridiculous. Ordered fresh squeeze OJ they added water. The burger was horrible over cooked tasted like a frozen paddy. I wouldn't recommend you eat there

Helpful?
Thank augthedawg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    17
    7
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Quincy, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
235 reviews
176 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Twenty Something”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014

We stopped in for dinner after the boat show. The restaurant is beautiful and the wait staff was very helpful in choosing appetizers and drinks. Everyone had a different dish and all were equally delicious. The only downsize was the noise, we couldn't really carry on a conversation with the other couple without a struggle and repeating all the time. Maybe a different night of the week. The crowd all looked the same twenty something just stopping in after work and it was a busy Friday night. We would go again and there is a public parking lot across the street and if you know Southie, that's like a pot of gold.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Bernadette D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valparaiso, Indiana
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Noisy atmosphere - Food average at best”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2013

I was scouting for a decent restaurant, within walking distance of my hotel on Congress. Taking a bit of gamble, but wanting to go out for a walk, I located Barlow's on the south side of 'A' street, about 1/2 way between Broadway and Congress. What I found was a bit of an overpowering bar scene, which overwhelmed the adjoining restaurant. The food was average and overpriced. In summary, I cannot recommend this establishment.

OK to be fair, the team was in the World Series, and the entire city was high on "BOSOX" so to speak. The acoustics of this bar/restaurant are not very good. It was so loud that my ears were actually ringing, I wish that I had taken ear plugs. I ordered a pasta dish, rigatoni, but found it to be average to inedible. It was so noisy that I really couldn't and didn't want to stick around to finish the dish. I just lost my appetite. Sorry Boston, this place just doesn't rate.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jeff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fish and Chips”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2013

Fish and chips are delicious substituted french fries for mashed potatoes .Service is exellent and friendly.Very Clean and they have something different each night for specials .Beers are ice cold and the mixed drinks are delicious.Anything on the menu is good.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Artie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new hampshire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“They lie!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2013

They advertise 1/2 price appetizers, but charge full price if you don't order from their special menu - which is different from the "appetizer" menu on the main menu they give you!!!!!!!!! AND they are not up front about it- instead advertising "appetizers 1/2 off -M-F 4-6"
Also, if you get anything extra which we did with the nachos (ordering chicken), the extra is not 1/2 price (Per the menu: nachos $12 plus chicken $3 = total $15 - BUT 1/2 off =$9. So we got screwed on the first app as it wasn't on the "special appetizer menu", as well as the second one! Wasn't worth the fight with the waitress as she explained (after the fact) that we didn't order off of the special menu -which of course wasn't the one we were given when we came in!!!!!!! Won't be back

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank occasionalgambler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Barlow's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Barlow's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing