We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“A casino crossed with a cafeteria at 140 decibels” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Del Frisco's Double Eagle Steak House - Boston

Del Frisco's Double Eagle Steak House - Boston
Reserve with OpenTable
Del Frisco's Double Eagle Steak House - Boston is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #50 of 3,156 Restaurants in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$31 - US$50
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View, Business meetings, Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighbourhood: Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
Cross street: Congress Street
Description: Del Frisco's Double Eagle Steakhouse opens it's 9th location April 2011 on Boston's Liberty Wharf Seaport. Del Frisco's signature menu offers USDA Prime Beef & Fresh Seafood. We also feature a Wine Spectator Award winning wine list boasting over 1,500 selections from around the world. Our 14,000 square foot, 400 seat restaurant has a 40 seat circular bar & lounge area, 70 seat outdoor veranda, and three distinctive private dining rooms.
Wakefield, MA
Level Contributor
41 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“A casino crossed with a cafeteria at 140 decibels”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

This gargantuan eatery to me represents everything wrong about America. Huge portions, outrageous mark-ups ($40 for a six-ounce filet with no sides and 300% wine mark-ups on everything I saw), meat in every direction, overblown architecture, and tables of 10, 20, 30, and yes, even 40 people vacuuming up their meals. Most of the patrons appeared to be tourists, expense account diners from local legal and biotech firms, and self-important suburbanites out for a Night On The Town. One symbolic moment sticks in my head: when the phalanx of waiters set down our entrées, the head waiter said, "Would you all please cut into your steaks and ensure your steaks are done to your liking?" Really? You trust your kitchen staff that little?

I give one star only for the staff, clearly run off their feet but trying to put the best face on everything. They were very sweet. I can't imagine they don't have hearing damage after a week at Del Frisco's.

All this being said, the Del Frisco's Grille in Chestnut Hill is far superior and on a much smaller scale.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Hughster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

660 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    345
    166
    87
    42
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Estero, Florida
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Treated like royalty, really.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

We had a reservation and asked to be seated outside and within a few minutes were seated at a table with a wonderful view of the water. The waiter was very personable and we experienced a terrific dinner. We both ordered the fixed price,,filet and scallops or crab cake. My wife's birthday so we were surprised with a delicious cheese cake for dessert. All in all, we were satisfied.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank happyherbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Hmm-lovely - needs a bit of improvement ”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

Went there for a nice night with my husband . Despite the fact that we had a reservation we had to still wait for about a half hour and communication was not great . The harbor view is breath taking , the bar is awesome , the service in the fancy booth we sat in was awesome , the food was good however dessert was not good . It looked fantastic but the taste was totally the opposite . I would definitely go again . They do need to look at their communication at check in and attitude . If you know that then you will know what to expect and have fun . Its a good place .

Helpful?
1 Thank Ireiny G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashua, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
293 reviews
198 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
“Great steakhouse, service food and location.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

It's stuck between several other restaurants in Boston's Liberty wharf. it is not my crowd I should start by saying; male to female ratio is 8/1 (your typical steakhouse crowd).

However everything else is great, service, food, drinks etc..
The steak was delish but a little bit too buttery (they prep the plate with butter I think). The sides were also very tasty. They have the best Crab Cake we have ever tasted!!!
Drinks were good as well.
it is a typical steakhouse,, so be ready to shed some good $$$$.f

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Naim00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lexington, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
81 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Great view and great service ... OK food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

Let's start with the good ...

You can't beat the harbor view from just about every table in the restaurant. And the service was top notch. We made an Open Table reservation and only had to wait a minute or two for our table.

However, the view and service didn't really make up for the food, which was average at best. The salads were OK, but the entrees were not that great. My veal had too much fat and gristle, and the mashed potatoes served on the side were overly seasoned with salt and pepper. Also, I was surprised that a restaurant of this caliber offers no draught beers ... only bottled beers (after all, the Harpoon brewery is just down the street!)

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank davey314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Del Frisco's Double Eagle Steak House - Boston also viewed

 

Been to Del Frisco's Double Eagle Steak House - Boston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing