We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Boston - Downtown
Ranked #42 of 84 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 May 2014

Loved this hotel, great service ,friendly staff ,clean rooms. We had a spacious room, king size bed and we added a fridge and microwave, well worth the 10.00 extra. The only downside would be the hospital traffic next store but this was a minor. I would definitely stay here again. This was close enough to everything we were able to walk most of the time, cab wasn't too expensive when needed.

Stayed: May 2014
Thank Mary K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,538)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,343 - 1,349 of 1,538 reviews

Reviewed 7 May 2014

I would highly recommend this hotel in all areas was very restful and they really did go out of their way to make us welcome. Room was great, beds were great, location was great. Breakfast was a great way to start the day and the lobby and dining area was very comfortable. Would go back there if in Boston again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Lionel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

I booked this hotel without checking TripAdvisor first. When I checked TripAdvisor, I was really worried, though there was no need to be. Our room was ready early, and we received an upgrade at no added cost. The room was renovated and lovely, and of course we got the signature DoubleTree cookies. The staff was very friendly, and the hotel was in a convenient location, close to the T. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a renovated room. Ours had a view, too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank annehyphenmarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

I've been in this Hotel for the second time. First time has 4 years ago. The Hotel is even better now! The gym is very good. The room has the perfect size, is clean and silent. People of the service are very nice. The cust is fair. The location is also very good, near of metro and the central region.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
1  Thank Henrique M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

You can walk everywhere from this location. too pricey though- a private room at the trendy hostel at the end of the block is cheaper and probably gives you free wifi and breakfast. Double Tree does NOT give you wi-fi or free breakfast and the parking is about 50 bucks a night. Stayed 3 nights and with taxes and parking was about 1000 dollars for a 2 queen bed room. I think the buffet is $14, but I never ate there, each morning we walked to the THINKING CUP and got some STUMPTOWN roasted coffee and an amazing oatmeal breakfast for under $10. YOU DO get to go to the YCMA for free-- which I did one morning- but I walked SO MUCH in Boston I was sore the rest of the trip. I just couldn't believe the parking was SO pricey! -- no mini fridge or anything in the room. HOWEVER the rooms were really nice- updated furniture and bathroom, very clean. A lot of teens were staying on our floor and when they got too rowdy the hotel did take care of that too. So again-- average stay.. no frills.. no extras. -- stayed in MAY. Gorgeous weather.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jessica L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DTHotel, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Boston - Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

First off, thanks so much for your review and we are happy to you were pleased with our location, on the T and walking distance to the Back Bay, downtown, the South End and the Boston Common. Thanks also for the compliment on our newly renovated guest rooms. Good to know too, that you were able to enjoy a complimentary workout in the YMCA adjacent to our hotel.

As you noted, parking in Boston is expensive, and at the hotel, our capacity is limited. To better manage our parking we offer unlimited in and out valet service for $46 per day. This works well for guests who need frequent access to the vehicle (and avoids the in and out fees of garages). There are also less expensive self-park options on our block, and we encourage guests who do not need access to their vehicle and are looking for a more affordable parking option during their stay to use theses garages.

We love Stumptown and Thinking Cup! However in case you missed it we did want to mention there was a Starbuck’s in our hotel on the ground floor. As with all Hilton family hotels, we offer complimentary Wifi in the hotel lobby, Starbucks, and business center. Wifi is also complimentary for guests who have an account with AT&T or who are HHonors Gold or Diamond members. Also, the Wifi charge has recently been lowered to $5.95 for a three hour connection.

Thanks for staying with us, and we would love to see you again on your next visit to Boston!

Safe Travels,

Dale Johnson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Stayed here for three nights in April. Found the room to be satisfactory, but you pay for everything: wireless, parking, meals. This name brand hotel comes with only a room. The front desk service was disappointing. Checked in early and did not expect the room to be ready, it wasn't. However I had questions on what to do with luggage, time to come back and after my first question it was obvious that the front desk person was finished with me. When I checked in later that day it was not much better. I asked if I was getting a Honors room and was told I was - I didn't. Had to ask for the famous cookie, never offered. Just an overall not great time when I had to go to the front desk. Will find another place to stay next time. For the money charged for a room the customer should be appreciated by the staff, and should receive something - like free wireless, a simple breakfast?

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carl949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

We booked a reservation with Doubletree for the night of 4/12. My husband and I were seeing Brian Regan at the Wilbur Theatre, and this hotel was in close vacinity. Since we were expecting warm weather that weekend, I called the hotel on the evening of 4/11, to request an early check-in the morning of 4/12. I was told that would not be an issue, and they would put the request in. When I woke up the morning of 4/12 to get ready to head to Boston, I saw a missed call from the hotel. The person I spoke to had changed my reservation to 4/11 (the same day I called) instead of putting in a request for an early check in on 4/12. The hotel then billed my husband and I as "no shows" and cancelled our reservation, leaving us with NO hotel for the night of 4/12. When I called the hotel to express my disdain in them, and their customer service, I was directed to the rudest person I have ever dealt with on the phone. I have truly never been spoken to in such a manner. I was told the reservation was going to be cancelled, yet I just checked our amex bill, and they billed us nearly $400 as a "no show". Thankfully, we have American Express, and I just charged this back. Please do yourself a favor....DO NOT stay at this hotel. They screw up your reservations, and then charge you anyway, with NO remorse! Truly a dissappointment, Doubletree. You should be embarassed of yourselves.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Melissa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Downtown
Hilton Boston Downtown / Faneuil Hall
Downtown
Hyatt Regency Boston
Hyatt Regency Boston
#32 of 84 in Boston
3,895 reviews
Downtown
Courtyard Boston Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Revere Hotel Boston Common
Dorchester / Roxbury / Mattapan
DoubleTree Club by Hilton Hotel Boston Bayside
Downtown
Omni Parker House
Omni Parker House
#48 of 84 in Boston
7,818 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Boston - Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Boston - Downtown

Address: 821 Washington Street, Boston, MA 02111-1519
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Business Hotel in Boston
#38 Family Hotel in Boston
#40 Romantic Hotel in Boston
Price Range: £111 - £444 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Boston - Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 267
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Boston - Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Boston - Downtown Hotel Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing