We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service without a Smile”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Boston - Downtown
Ranked #40 of 86 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 June 2014

I chose the Doubletree based on previous positive experiences with the brand in different cities, namely Chicago and Anaheim. Consequently, I was shocked by how rudely I was treated at the Boston location. First off, I booked my reservation through a third-party where "All rooms are guaranteed to sleep the number of guests you provided during your search." Clearly on my reservation it states there are 2 adults and 1 child in my reservation. When we got to our room, there was a king bed and no rollaway bed or fold-out couch nor it appeared any space for a rollaway. When I called down to inform them that the room would not accommodate the number of guests on my reservation I was rudely told that there was no guarantee because I "booked through a third party." Mind you, I had my confirmation which clearly stated that was not the case and insisted the same and they were somehow able to find me a room with 2 beds.

If a hotel is not going to instruct their staff to treat guests who have used third party booking agencies with the same respect and courtesy they would show other guests, then please don't avail yourselves of third party booking agencies! I travel frequently and NEVER book directly with a hotel. Every so often I come upon this problem and it never ceases to annoy me.

That said, I love the beds at the Doubletree and the Crabtree & Evelyn toiletries. The location of this particular hotel is fabulous, being just steps from a "T" Stop. The welcome cookies are always a treat. The common areas of the hotel could use a little updating and the super bright lighting throughout the hotel is downright obnoxious.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nikki C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,644)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,397 - 1,403 of 1,644 reviews

Reviewed 9 June 2014

The hotel is nice and in a great location. Walking distance to downtown with a few good coffee shops, restaurants and bars. Also walking distance to the Common park.

Nice lobby area and good place to hang out for a drink or to work on your laptop with the free WiFi. WiFi was not free in the rooms.

My only issue was that I don't think room service was changing our sheets and there were no options to choose if we want them to be changed or not.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Parham007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

I really like this hotel and will continue to stay there on my frequent trips to Boston. However, I will never stay in room 107 (or others int hat wing.) It faces drioectly out into a child care area. So, in addition to your room window facing directly into a playground, you also get the noise of 30 or so children, and their care-givers, while in your room.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Jonathan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Nice clean room, great location downtown and close to the airport. Had an early flight out and was given breakfast coupons at checkin because I am a gold member. Rushed down to breakfast in the morning and just started eating from the buffet after we were seated. Would have been nice to have known in advance that only certain items were included for the free breakfast. Other than breakfast great stay.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank rdpatel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

I didn't have a single issue with the hotel. It was great for the location and closeness to my meeting down the street. The price is great compared to many other hotels that I have stayed at over the years in Boston for business. The restaurant was lagging in that my food was cold and the service was slow.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Melissa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

loved the staff and stay. noisy people in the hall or next door disrupted our sleep but I would definitely stay again. Loved the cookies! Really close to Tufts Med Center and Tufts Dental School,theater district and Restaurants.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Tricia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Travelled to Boston to attend our daughters post graduation ceremony at UMass Boston - Convenient location when travelling in from North on 93. Friendly service, comfortable and clean rooms, convenient restaurant/bar. Overall very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Downtown
Hilton Boston Downtown / Faneuil Hall
Allston / Brighton
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Boston-Cambridge
Downtown
Courtyard Boston Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dorchester / Roxbury / Mattapan
DoubleTree Club by Hilton Hotel Boston Bayside
Downtown
Hyatt Regency Boston
Hyatt Regency Boston
#34 of 86 in Boston
4,095 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Boston - Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Boston - Downtown

Address: 821 Washington Street, Boston, MA 02111-1519
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Business Hotel in Boston
#40 Romantic Hotel in Boston
Price Range: £93 - £329 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Boston - Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 267
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda, Hilton Hotels Direct, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Boston - Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Boston - Downtown Hotel Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing