We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Friend Street Hostel
Ranked #28 of 37 Boston B&B and Inns
Reviewed 16 October 2011

I was looking for an inexpensive place to stay in Boston for one night so I decided to try out this new hostel. I opted for the private room so I could have a good night’s sleep before my long train ride the next day. Upon arrival, I was greeted by friendly staff but I was surprised by how small the place was and there were so many people wandering around! The private room was basic but fine, but the noise from the lobby and upstairs was unbearable.

After complaining to the staff, I asked for a different room, but they told me none were available. There is a nice hotel just a few doors down from this hostel so I tried to book a room there, but they were also full so I ended up staying here less than 12 hours and couldn’t leave fast enough.

The washrooms were basic, breakfast was terrible, and the only positive about this place is the location. There are many restaurants in the neighborhood and a Whole Foods just a few blocks away where I ended up having an amazing breakfast!

This was the worst hostel I’ve stayed at, and the $120.00 I paid for a private room was definitely not a bargain. I realize this is a new hostel so I hope the staff is able to work out the issues.

Room Tip: Find a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Stephannie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FriendStreetHostel, Manager at Friend Street Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2013

Thanks for posting your comments and letting us know about your experience. I'm sorry it took us so long to get back to you! Since your visit, we've made several changes and improvements. All of our rooms are dorms, we've opened a cafe that serves breakfast, adjusted our pricing, and much more!

I hope you're able to come back and see all the updates we've made on your next visit. If there's anything we can do to further assist you, please don't hesitate to email us directly!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (99)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

68 - 74 of 99 reviews

Reviewed 28 September 2011

This is a very friendly hostel where the staff are great and go out of their way to be hospitable and helpful. There are lots of free things and recommendations given. I ended up getting a free dinner and going with a group to a cheap comedy show - something I'd never have found out about on my own. The rooms are pretty basic but clean and the beds are comfortable. The shower and toilet facilities are all adequate and, again, clean. It's in a good location - near the T so transport is easy to anywhere you want to go. I'd definitely go back.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Holly H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FriendStreetHostel, Manager at Friend Street Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2013

Thanks for telling us about your stay! I'm sorry it took us so long to get back to you, but I hope all is well! We'd love to see you again soon, and hope you've gotten to enjoy some exciting travels since your visit.

Best,
FSH

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2011

The friendstreet hostel is quite a new hostel. You can see that. They still have to find their way and see how they can play the guests-card. The accomodation is quite basic, yet, its very clean. The staff is very helpfull. The location is just perfect. Near Hayfield station and very very close to North end (little italy), where the pubs are. I would strongly advise this hostel, as its honest and they are concerned about their customers!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank prosfallout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FriendStreetHostel, Manager at Friend Street Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2013

Thanks for your great comments! I'm sorry it took so long to get back to you - we've been busy making lots of changes around here! I hope you're able to come back soon and see all of the updates we've made since your first stay with us.

Thanks for being one of our very first guests!

-FSH

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2011

Friend Street is a lovely, homey little hostel it an excellent part of Boston - walking distance to just about everywhere and when you don't feel like walking the T is just a couple of blocks away. Free breakfast, heaps of organised activities and the staff were really welcoming, friendly and knowledgable, Common areas were clean and the dorms were spacious....and the best part is that it's just going to get better and better with the addition of the downstairs area!

More lights in the dorms would be a bonus and the ventialtion in the bathroom needs help! While the common room had welcome air-con in the crazy boston heat the dorms were like furnaces - they did their best with fans but they made little difference...I think a lot of people were sleep deprived while I was there!

But don't let those little things put you off! All in all this is a great hostel and a GREAT alternative to those big anonymous hostels you find around the place. Highly Recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JM_travels_sometimes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FriendStreetHostel, Manager at Friend Street Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2013

Thanks for your fantastic comments, and for being one of our very first guests! I'm sorry it took so long to respond - we've been super busy making this place as awesome as possible! We've gone through so many changes since we first opened, and I hope you get the chance to come back and see them all.

Wishing you safe and happy travels for many years to come!

-FSH

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2015, travelled on business
Thank mhaythem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Bianca S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2015 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2015, travelled with family
Thank Carla E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
The Boxer Boston
#21 of 84 in Boston
1,100 reviews
Downtown
HI Boston
HI Boston
#1 of 30 in Boston
1,040 reviews
East Boston / Logan Airport
Hyatt Regency Boston Harbor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hilton Boston Downtown / Faneuil Hall
Back Bay
Taj Boston
Taj Boston
#36 of 84 in Boston
2,874 reviews
Dorchester / Roxbury / Mattapan
DoubleTree Club by Hilton Hotel Boston Bayside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Friend Street Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Friend Street Hostel

Address: 234 Friend St, Boston, MA 02114-1801
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 37 B&Bs / Inns in Boston
Price Range: £22 - £45 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Friend Street Hostel is Boston's friendliest hostel! We provide clean, safe, inexpensive accommodations for travelers to Boston, Massachusetts. Friend Street is centrally located and close to all Boston hot spots and attractions. Locally owned and operated, Friend Street offers friendly atmosphere and many amenities. Amenities include: free breakfast, free wi-fi, free maps, luggage storage, kitchen, 24-hour reception, free linen and laundry facilities to all guests. Travelers are sure to make new friends at Friend Street Hostel! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing