We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Beacon Hill Hotel and Bistro
Ranked #71 of 84 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 May 2014

We stayed at Beacon Hill Hotel and Bistro last month for a little getaway. Everything about the hotel was so nice. Our room was smaller, but very cute with enough space to feel comfortable. The staff was nice, and the "T" (metro) stop is accessible. The restaurant was great, too for (included) breakfast! When we go back to Boston, we will stay here again!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank utchampions
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (230)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

107 - 113 of 230 reviews

Reviewed 28 February 2014

BHHB is in the heart of Beacon Hill, Boston's oldest and most iconic neighborhoods. This is where the Steve McQueen version of "The Thomas Crown Affair" was filmed, a very wealthy and historic hillside section of the city. Just a couple of blocks away from Boston Common, the Frog Pond, the State House, and the Red Line T stop for Mass Gen. The hotel is a series of three townhouses joined together (I wouldn't have known that, except we walked from one section to the other across a lovely terrace on the third floor.) The terrace is furnished with comfortable seating and small tables and would be the perfect place for lounging with a book or drink in warmer weather. Friendly staff, excellent dinner at the bistro which was always well-attended (a very good sign, since many of those dining were locals), and breakfast was included with the price of the room. The room was comfortable, although small, but with excellent views up and down Charles Street and Chestnut. There was street noise of trash cans being rolled up the brick sidewalks on Saturday morning. I've stayed in many areas of the city, and this is a recurring issue in every hotel I have visited. Lovely boutique hotel, charming part of the city, very easy to walk anywhere, but bring shoes that can take the undulating brick sidewalks and hilly terrain.

Room Tip: inquire if there are rooms that do not face Charles Street, it is not noisy from people, but just du...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank babsnorthernNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2014

We really enjoyed our stay at the BHHB. upon arrival we were greeted warmly by the Asst. Mgr. who walked us to our room. She explained the features of the hotel and assurred us that she was available for any questions. The rooms are small but nicely decorated and comfortable. The breakfast at their restaurant was very good. We stayed two nights so we were able to try omlets one day and frnch toast with strawberries and vanilla pancakes the next. all were very good as was the service.
If there was one thing they could improve on it would be the shower. They have the hand held units attached to the wall with limited water pressure. They still got the job done!! We would definetly go back

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WesternMass01095
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

As for a hotel rooms, clean, simple and warm (enough to keep the December chill at bay!).

Great location for walking tours of Boston with Boston common around the corner.

Staff were immediately friendly and acquainted us with the area through tips and recommendations.

Breakfast (included) was a great way to start to the day, home made muesli, fresh omelettes and waffles were top class. Always a good atmoshphere in the bar and restaurant.

Thoroughly enjoyable trip. Would be happy to return.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GWH77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013 via mobile

Well situated to choice sites in Boston. That's about all I can say that's positive. The food in the restaurant was "ok" but we had to wait for almost an hour for one meal. And, no preference was given to hotel guests with respect to eating arrangements. We called for reservations and we're given reservations for 8.30 pm. We dropped into the restaurant on the off chance that they had an opening and were immediately seated. Otherwise, we would have had to find a place to eat elsewhere. (There are plenty of restaurants in the area-and good ones at that. )

The rooms themselves were small. Neither the hair dryer or the bathroom fan worked. No safe in the room. And the rooms were cold...drafty. Close to the street so was awakened each morning around 5.00 am from garbage trucks making their daily rounds.

No fitness facility.

After check out our luggage was "stored" in a hallway that anyone could have gained access to as they didn't have any place to put it. Not impressed.

By all means visit the Beacon Hill area. It's delightful and charming. Just find another place to stay when you're there.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Jonathan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2013

The hotel is well located, but we don't think it gives great value for money. The double room was reasonable size, if a little tired, with a comfortable bed. The towels could be bigger, the bathroom better equipped with shower gel (one for each person) etc. The reception was not that welcoming, the breakfast was good and the waiter was great. Not once were we asked if we had had a good stay or if the room was ok. Customer service needs some work. Would we return? No, we would try somewhere else. My wife wants to give 2 stars, but we think it just scrapes over 2.5!

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank JohnDN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2013

We recently stayed at the Beacon Hill Hotel and Bistro in Boston to attend a concert. The location can't be beat for walking tours of Beacon Hill, the Common and financial district. Parking is easy at the Boston Common Garage. While we ate at the restaurant many moons ago, we were eager to try this boutique offering.

The concept is excellent -- small hotel and French bistro downstairs. Nothing large, garish or corporate about it. They have a cute little bar off the lobby. The rooms are nicely decorated, but on the smaller side.

Execution is somewhat flawed however. Our welcome was not overly warm or informative. The bedspread had stains on it. Hot water from the bathroom tap is scalding hot - not safe. Breakfast is included with your rate, but the waitperson seemed overly busy to be warm and welcoming. The food was OK....large portions but nothing extraordinary.

I'd stay there again, but they need to pick up their game a notch.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BaHaBa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Downtown
The Godfrey Hotel Boston
Downtown
XV Beacon
XV Beacon
#15 of 84 in Boston
1,130 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Nine Zero Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Ames Boston Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton
The Boxer Boston
#20 of 84 in Boston
1,082 reviews
Back Bay
Taj Boston
Taj Boston
#34 of 84 in Boston
2,844 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beacon Hill Hotel and Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beacon Hill Hotel and Bistro

Address: 25 Charles Street, Boston, MA 02114
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Beacon Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#52 Family Hotel in Boston
Price Range: £168 - £394 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Beacon Hill Hotel and Bistro 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only a few short steps from the Boston Common and Public Garden, the intimate Beacon Hill Hotel & Bistro is the perfect downtown boutique hotel for discriminating travelers – business or leisure – who would like to make the elegant and prestigious gas-lit streets and brick sidewalks of Beacon Hill their own, without giving up the comforts they expect. The hotel's highly-lauded and award-winning restaurant, Beacon Hill Bistro, has emerged as a true regional culinary destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Beacon Hill Hotel and Bistro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beacon Hill Hotel
Hotel Beacon Hill

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing