We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“True Boston”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Beacon Hill Hotel and Bistro
Ranked #69 of 84 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 November 2009

Staff are extremely helpful and friendly. The Common is a very short walk away, and Charles Street itself is particularly interesting. It's an old street in an historic neighborhood where you'll find practical stores for neccessities as well as boutiques and Starbucks. You can park over at the underground lot in the Common after dropping your bags at the hotel--it's on a one way street. The walk from there is short and really pleasant. Breakfast and dinner were served at the long dining room adjacent to the entrance. (Entrance to hotel is also entrance to restaurant.) There is a small bar and a rooftop patio with tables and chairs....a nice place to end the day with a drink from downstairs. This hotel can't be compared to the Westins, Hyatts etc. The neighborhood is fun to explore and practical as well for running, walking, or stopping for coffee. We stayed here as it was close to Mass. General. The rooms are on the small side and there is some street noise. But they are well appointed. Food is very good!! Room guide has a long section on history of neighborhood.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Roofbeam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (236)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

193 - 199 of 236 reviews

Reviewed 23 October 2009

My wife & I had a great 4 day stay in this Boston boutique 12 room hotel. The hotel was close to the river for walking/running, close to the trains for getting around to other parts of Boston and close to some great shopping/restaurants on Newbury Street. Don't need a car and it's 15 minutes to the airport. The wine tasting dinner on Monday was very well done with lots of explanations re the wine/food, all for $55 per person. Breakfast was included. The rooms are small and noisy since they're on the street. We didn't spend a lot of time in the room and a pair of earplugs solved the noise issue. For leisure travellers, it's simply location, location, location!

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TorontoCouple763
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2009

Stayed here with business colleagues. I came late, they came earlier, reported the dinner was excellent. My room, as others have reported, was quite small, with a great deal of street noise. The TV was laughably tiny, and I was nearly scalded by a overly hot shower. The location is great for exploring Boston, but Boston is so small, with good transportation, that you really can stay anywhere. (I used to live there) My room rate included a full breakfast, which was quite good. Overall, while I liked the food and the location, and would eat at the Bistro, I doubt I'd go out of my way to stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank roadwarrierMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2009

Recommended by a co-worker, the Beacon Hill was a great place to stay for work.

I had meetings at MIT which is only one T station away, as well as the Hynes Convention Center (a 20 minute walk through the Commons and the Back Bay neighborhood). The Beacon Hill neighborhood was like a small, quiet village surrounded by the urban jungle. I used the neighborhood pharmacy and post office, as well as the many shops. All were first-rate, friendly, and genuinely a pleasure to be around.

My room was an upper-level corner, with windows on two sides. Not much of a view, but the neighboring brick buildings are charming. The rooftop terrace is easily accessible as well, offering a nice view of the street life below.

As for decor, it could use some updating. The carpet was a bit tatty and could use an appointment with a Rug Doctor--this was true on the stairs as well. The duvet was a sand color with African wildlife print--not what I would expect in Boston, but it was fine. The other fixtures were simple, spare, and well-chosen.

The restaurant is quite good--contemporary French/American bistro fare. The prices are in-line with what I would expect, and there's a heavy focus on locally produced seafood. Waitstaff was wonderful and the bar mixes a nice G&T.

While everything might add up to a perfectly adequate lodging, the staff is really what makes this place shine. Every single person was wonderful--it was like having a concierge at my fingertips. From setting up my reservations online, to my daily interactions with them, the staff of the Beacon Hill is second to none.

When I return to Boston, I most definitely will try to stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SaxSymbol73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2009

My wife and I were lucky enough to find this jewel in Boston. Not only does this charming hotel have an award-winning bistro, but the staff and rooms refelct the entire reason one should stay in Beacon Hill. If you want a 300 room hotel with a convention center...this is not the place to stay.....if you want the type of hotel with the best food, the best people and European charm....stay here! Peter & Cecilia the hotel owners make sure all your needs are met and they are so fun! When traveling to Boston this is the most unique place to stay in the city...just my two cents!

  • Stayed: January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank bostoncouple0121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2008

This is a very pretty area and you cannot really beat the location but there were two significant downsides. Firstly - the room was tiny - really very very small. Secondly - the noise from the street was a huge problem and we couldn't sleep. Even with the windows closed, the noise was unbearable.

I would not stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank totallyali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2008

ambiance on hot day was very pleasant although meal was meager/ skimpy and expensive. Crab in sandwich was meager, 'wellington ham and emmentaler cheese " in croque monsieur was a very thin slice of each and very thick bread -with far too many french fries. Meals for 4 of us were not up to standard expected from a Charles Street bistro.

Stayed: September 2008
1  Thank jamesrhode
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Downtown
XV Beacon
XV Beacon
#16 of 84 in Boston
1,138 reviews
Downtown
The Godfrey Hotel Boston
Fenway / Kenmore
Eliot Hotel
Eliot Hotel
#12 of 84 in Boston
1,363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Kimpton Nine Zero Hotel
Back Bay
Taj Boston
Taj Boston
#34 of 84 in Boston
2,874 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beacon Hill Hotel and Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beacon Hill Hotel and Bistro

Address: 25 Charles Street, Boston, MA 02114
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Beacon Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#52 Family Hotel in Boston
Price Range: £150 - £306 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Beacon Hill Hotel and Bistro 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only a few short steps from the Boston Common and Public Garden, the intimate Beacon Hill Hotel & Bistro is the perfect downtown boutique hotel for discriminating travelers – business or leisure – who would like to make the elegant and prestigious gas-lit streets and brick sidewalks of Beacon Hill their own, without giving up the comforts they expect. The hotel's highly-lauded and award-winning restaurant, Beacon Hill Bistro, has emerged as a true regional culinary destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda and HotelsClick so you can book your Beacon Hill Hotel and Bistro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beacon Hill Hotel
Hotel Beacon Hill

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing