We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic Weekend!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Beacon Hill Hotel and Bistro
Ranked #71 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
203 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Romantic Weekend!”
Reviewed 5 January 2011

The location of this hotel is perfect for a romantic escape. Right on Charles St. with it's old brick homes and gas light street lamps. The decorations on the homes and store fronts and watching a group of carolers on bikes added to the Christmas spirit. Lots of cute shops and great dining near by; and central and walking distance to most of Boston. Service was by front desk manager was top notch, rooms were modern but cozy (think Restoration Hardware) and a lovely breakfast was included. We will be back!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rupacked
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    109
    74
    23
    14
    6
See reviews for
27
112
21
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2010

I love small, cozy, European-chic hotels like this one with tasty restraunts on the ground floor. This place has a great location, and the rooms are small but comfortable. Gourmet breakfast with table service in the cozy restraunt was included. The price of $200+ per night was on the high end of what I thought was appropriate. If you can snag a room for less than $200 with breakfast included, I would recommend staying here.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NateMcc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 October 2010

If you want a true neighborhood hotel this is the place to stay. Quaint doesn't begin to describe what a truly charming location this is. From the restaurant (which is one of the best in Boston) to the small neighborhood bar next to a roaring fire, I can't think of a better place to stay in Boston during the Fall. The rooms are intimate and cozy and the staff was great during our stay! If you’re looking for the ultra modern large hotel chain experience this is not the location for you. But if you want to be submerged into Boston culture and be in the heart of the city..this is the hotel for you!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jenn245
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thornhill
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2010

The only good thing about this inn is the location if you can stand the noise. The rooms are very small, the carpet was dirty, the bathroom grubby and tiny and the closet was a joke. Not even a child could find space to hang some clothes. The noise was terrible from the street, we had a corner room and the garbage truck wakes you up at 1.45 and 4.30 every morning even on the weekend. Its a one way street and the trucks, ambulance and cars are a nightmare. We did not sleep for 4 nights. The price was outrageous and there were no decent ammenities to be had. The Park Plaze, the Fairmont, the Omni are all cheaper and better. Think twice about staying here. The restaurant was very good so stay for dinner but sleep somewhere else.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Periquita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connecticut
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2010

Think of this as a comfortable, quirky pied-a-terre in a historic an charming residential neighborhood in the heart of Boston, and you can have a wonderful stay. Our room was small and the bathroom simple, but it was bright, airy, well equipped and had a fabulous corner view. The staff were welcoming and very helpful. The food in the bistro, including the complimentary hot breakfast, was excellent: it's one of the really good restaurants in Boston. There's a cozy bar downstairs and an open-air balcony on the third floor from which you can enjoy the views. And all of this was within walking distance of most of downtown Boston, half a block from the Common and the Public Garden and four blocks along Charles Street from the subway to Cambridge.

But if you think of this as a full service hotel, or a business hotel, you are going to be disappointed. The room is so small that there's little work space. The friendly and well-intentioned staff in the restaurant are unbelievably, achingly slow. The elevator doesn't go to the top two floors. And you have to walk outdoors, across that charming balcony, to get from one part of the building to the other. There's no in-house valet service, no real unloading zone in front, and you have to park your car yourself in the nearby Common garage. The windows are not double glazed, and the wonderful view of Charles and Chestnut streets comes with a lot of noise.

Bottom line: We were on vacation, and we loved it. We'll probably return. But not if we're on business, or even on a schedule.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pullman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2010

I stayed for one night prior to a conference. The staff is personable and professional. The food was very good. My room was small, but I expected that and it was fine. The neighborhood is historical and quaint. The hotel is close to the Boston Common. There is a Starbucks and a CVS nearby, but the stores are predominantly boutiques and non-chain cafes, etc. I gave 4 "dots" for sleep quality because the garbage trucks show up on Charles Street in the dead of night, but I am a light sleeper anyway. I would go back in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lafou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
halifax
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 June 2010

Stayed for a week while on course at MIT, hotel is very conviently located in a great location/neighbourhood. Rooms are small, but nice- no bar fridge. Breakfast is include with the room rate and is very good. Bar and bistro have a great decor and were busy all week- seemed quite popular with locals and tourists alike. Common lounge and patio available to guests. Carpet in halls and common areas a little worn/grundgy and some other little maintenance items appear in need of attention, but nothing off-putting on balance. Many great restaurants, pubs and shops in the neighbourhood. In general a great spot for my purposes- and recommend to others who are interested in a small inn like setting.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank barneyrubbleHalifax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Downtown
The Godfrey Hotel Boston
Downtown
XV Beacon
XV Beacon
#13 of 83 in Boston
1,111 reviews
Back Bay
Taj Boston
Taj Boston
#35 of 83 in Boston
2,772 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Kimpton Nine Zero Hotel
Downtown
Ames Boston Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beacon Hill Hotel and Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beacon Hill Hotel and Bistro

Property: Beacon Hill Hotel and Bistro
Address: 25 Charles Street, Boston, MA 02114
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Beacon Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#52 Family Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Beacon Hill Hotel and Bistro 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only a few short steps from the Boston Common and Public Garden, the intimate Beacon Hill Hotel & Bistro is the perfect downtown boutique hotel for discriminating travelers – business or leisure – who would like to make the elegant and prestigious gas-lit streets and brick sidewalks of Beacon Hill their own, without giving up the comforts they expect. The hotel's highly-lauded and award-winning restaurant, Beacon Hill Bistro, has emerged as a true regional culinary destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your Beacon Hill Hotel and Bistro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beacon Hill Hotel
Hotel Beacon Hill

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing