We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cold, But Yummy”

Boston Chocolate Walking Tours
Ranked #113 of 142 Tours in Boston
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Tapping the best local expertise we curate information rich, entertaining, eye-opening tours in cities all over the world. Whether you're visiting a new city or have lived their for years, our curated range of walking tours, food tours, and private vehicle tours are here to help you truly understand and appreciate the place you are experiencing, to see it through a fresh pair of eyes, and change your perception. So whether it's just some sightseeing you're after, or you want to delve deep into the food culture, we've got you covered.
Raynham, Ma
Level Contributor
34 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Cold, But Yummy”
Reviewed 29 January 2013

We often do walking tours when we visit the cities. This tour was fun. The weather was bitter cold, so it did take away from some of the enjoyment. Our guide was cheerful and always smiling. She gave some history of the city, but more would have been nice. She was informative about the chocolate stores we visited. The samples were nice, but limited in size. A good hot chocolate would have been nice.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank alley48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    8
    6
    10
    35
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A wonderful two hour excursion”
Reviewed 1 January 2013 via mobile

While I have lived in Boston for over 20 years, I had no idea that Newbury had so many cute little boutique shops with such a wide range of interesting chocolates. And I didn't know about Boston's role in the history of chocolate. The tour was interesting and a great couple of hours.

Helpful?
Thank ericrrichard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salem, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
364 reviews
56 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Something Different and Delicious!”
Reviewed 13 December 2012

Two friends and I recently enjoyed the Boston Chocolate Walking Tour. There were 13 in all on our tour (all women except for one man, but it is definitely NOT a "girls only" activity!) What a fun, enlightening and yummy experience we had! Our tour guide, Olivia, was delightful and really knew her chocolate history (yes, lessons were learned!). We were also lucky enough to have Valerie Beck, who originally started the Chocolate Tours (also in Chicago and Philadelphia), join us for a bit. There were 6 stops along the way on Newbury and Boylston Streets. At first, we thought "only 6?" But as we were filling up, we quickly realized that 6 was the perfect number of stops and samples! Each of the stops we made offered a generous sampling of their chocolate. Again, we learned something: Not all chocolate is the same! We were somewhat surprised to find that each and every sample was different ... and GOOD FOR YOU! We now have a new and much better appreciation of chocolate. Highly recommended!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank NancyG-818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chino Valley, Arizona
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Fun Tour and Chocolate, Just Sayin...”
Reviewed 12 November 2012

Got our tickets on Groupon and there were about 10 in our group walking through Boston area filled with haute couture shops, amazing historical buildings and wonderful little neighorhood cafes/restaurants. You do walk and it does take about 2 1/2 hours but it is stop-and-go walking mixed with wonderful chocolate tastings at 5-6 spots and even included a Pinkberry's stop to "cleanse the palate"! Non-tour people were trying to literally reach over and take the samples from our tour guide because we didn't have to wait....she fended them off and it was actually kind of funny. This was not a tour that teaches all about cocoa and chocolate. Honestly, if you book this tour it should be simply because you like chocolate! There was a brief history at each stop, tasting and then time to shop for anything you might want to take along with you. We bought a number of kinds of chocolates for gifts and enjoyed the walking - it was a beautiful fall afternoon. After the tour, we were just a short walk from a Boston Trolley tour stop so continued our sightseeing, but that's another tale.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Chin0Girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bowie, Maryland, United States
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“New Joke of Groupon”
Reviewed 2 November 2012

My wife and I used to joke that Groupon sold out when we saw the "Justin Bieber Toothbrush" - but businesses like these take the cake. I don't believe the chocolate tour actually exists outside of Groupon, they're entire customer base comes from these "discounted" tickets. The tour was lame, we left early, entirely overpriced.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Will S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Boston Chocolate Walking Tours also viewed

 

Been to Boston Chocolate Walking Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing