We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better things to do in Boston” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Boston Chocolate Walking Tours

Boston Chocolate Walking Tours
Ranked #111 of 139 Tours in Boston
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Tapping the best local expertise we curate information rich, entertaining, eye-opening tours in cities all over the world. Whether you're visiting a new city or have lived their for years, our curated range of walking tours, food tours, and private vehicle tours are here to help you truly understand and appreciate the place you are experiencing, to see it through a fresh pair of eyes, and change your perception. So whether it's just some sightseeing you're after, or you want to delve deep into the food culture, we've got you covered.
Boston, Mass
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Better things to do in Boston”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2013

Our guide was nice and she tried, but I learned little about chocolate and even less about chocolate in Boston. What does Pinkberry have to do with chocolate? They don't even have chocolate as a yoghurt flavor. There are a number of places in Boston that make their own chocolate, but we did not visit any. Lindt was another stop - could there be anyone that likes chocolate that does not know Lindt? They are in every drugstore, supermarket and Mall. Robin's candy shop was interesting but jelly beans and peanut brittle are not chocolate. In short, we had a few small samples and then spent a lot of time in stores waiting for someone to buy something. Thank goodness I used a Groupon or I would be very upset at this waste of money.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank shell_obsessed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    8
    6
    10
    30
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Eating your way thru Boston”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2013

Our family took the Boston Chocolate Tour on a beautiful Sunday in April. The guide was good and didn't rush us as we sampled chocolates from several different shops and purchased more to take home. We even had chocolate covered crickets - would never have tried them otherwise!

The 3 adult couples enjoyed everything about the tour!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Pam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
138 reviews
54 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Absolute Waste!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2013

This was a complete waste of time and money. Of the six stops on the tour, two were chains, and several places basically gave us their customary free samples (one stop of this "tour" was actually Pinkberry where they handed us sample cups in line... another stop was Lindt, which can be purchased in any mall and can hardly be considered a Boston institution). I believe that we only really stopped at one chocolatier... the other places were just specialty shops that happened to sell high end chocolate. I was really hoping to have more of a "local artisans" experience.

Our tour guide was enthusiastic and friendly, but I found her "please don't tip in chocolate" speech a little tacky.

I'd like to say it's a fun way to spend the afternoon, but you'd be much better off strolling along the streets of Boston on your own, and stopping in at a chocolatier, ice cream shop, or bakery.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Fferffee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raynham, Ma
Level Contributor
33 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Cold, But Yummy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2013

We often do walking tours when we visit the cities. This tour was fun. The weather was bitter cold, so it did take away from some of the enjoyment. Our guide was cheerful and always smiling. She gave some history of the city, but more would have been nice. She was informative about the chocolate stores we visited. The samples were nice, but limited in size. A good hot chocolate would have been nice.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank alley48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A wonderful two hour excursion”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2013 via mobile

While I have lived in Boston for over 20 years, I had no idea that Newbury had so many cute little boutique shops with such a wide range of interesting chocolates. And I didn't know about Boston's role in the history of chocolate. The tour was interesting and a great couple of hours.

Helpful?
Thank ericrrichard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Boston Chocolate Walking Tours also viewed

 

Been to Boston Chocolate Walking Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing