We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A solid hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, Boston
Ranked #25 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
136 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“A solid hotel”
Reviewed 21 February 2014

This Ritz Carlton is a solid hotel. The rooms are pretty standard. I have found them to be quiet and good for sleeping. The doormen are very nice. Room service is not the best, either in terms of food or service. It is nice to be so close to the park.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sara P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

712 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    447
    152
    61
    44
    8
See reviews for
229
172
15
189
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Just off the Park, and nearby to everything, you won't do better than the R-C in any aspect. Super staff, excellent accoms, a very nice but unpretentious restaurant on the premises and a fine lobby bar. The staff from front desk to concierge, to bell persons to housekeeping couldn't be more friendly or helpful. Forget the 4 Seasons or any of the other A-list "chains" -- as a discerning traveler for both business and pleasure, I expect I'll never stay anywhere else in Boston again but this, its Ritz-Carelton.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NYCMickey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014

May not be the best of all Ritz-Carlton Hotels, yet the location and exceptional service of this hotel is the best in Boston. We enjoyed the lovely atmosphere and received warm service during our visit.

Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Totaro U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
herts
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2014 via mobile

Tried the Langham last time but not a patch on this. Blissful beds.
Perfect bathrooms great pressure.
Dedicated staff.
Took the club option and worth every cent in food and beverages.
Staff in here amazing.
Won't stay anywhere else in Boston.

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank angiejess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buffalo, NY
Level Contributor
214 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2014

OK - so i have stayed at the Ritz Carlton 4 times over the past couple of years and i cannot say enough about how comfortable i feel in this hotel. Not sure if it the decor/atmosphere, staff or both, but from the time i walk in i feel almost at home.

I cannot say enough about how the staff responds to requests, greets you or goes about their work. They are responsive and friendly

This hotel has one HUGE benefit for me - the spa/gym located in the building is fantastic. there is a $15.00 per day charge, but it is very very nice. Could not ask for a cleaner, more equipeed facility in a hotel.

There is plenty to offer in the nearby area for food if you choose to not eat in the hotel, plenty of restuaurants on Stuart St. Short walk.

I stayed in room 1131 which was a big corner room, good views and bright. Well decorated and very clean.

Love this hotel

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobBflo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
72 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014

While checking in, I asked the bellman to bring us some ice....for drinks or a bottle he asked ? For a bottle I replied... he said it would be sent up by room service. Five minutes later, Roman shows up with a huge bucket of ice for our birthday champagne. I mentioned my wife's birthday and asked where the nearest Starbucks was located. He offered to go to Starbucks for us and get coffee before he had a revelation. "I can make you better coffee than Starbucks". He left and ten minutes later, he showed up with wonderful cappuccinos, birthday cake for my wife, and a very impressed couple! The Ritz is never the least expensive place to stay, but they always exceed our expectations. This is the fourth Ritz we have been to and it is always worth the cost!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014

We stayed in a Club Level room and would really recommend doing this as the lounge is a lovely haven to come back to after a day spent in snow and -17 degrees with wind chill! Good continental breakfast, drinks and snacks are served all day. The Avery bar downstairs is good too. The staff in this hotel were outstanding, doormen, concierge, reception and Club Lounge were so friendly and helpful! One of the most comfortable beds I have slept in....One tiny gripe, the heating/air conditioning system sounds like a bus when it starts up but the beds were so comfy that we soon forgot about that! We would definitely return!

Room Tip: Club Lounge is on the 12th floor, so a room on this floor is great. We also had a corner view of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Siobhan2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel Boston
Downtown
XV Beacon
XV Beacon
#10 of 83 in Boston
1,097 reviews
Back Bay
Mandarin Oriental, Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Langham, Boston
The Langham, Boston
#20 of 83 in Boston
2,207 reviews
Downtown
W Boston
W Boston
#29 of 83 in Boston
1,634 reviews
Downtown
The Godfrey Hotel Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Boston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Boston

Property: The Ritz-Carlton, Boston
Address: 10 Avery St, Boston, MA 02111-1005
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Boston
#17 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#18 Business Hotel in Boston
#21 Family Hotel in Boston
#30 Romantic Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Boston 5*
Number of rooms: 193
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ritz-Carlton, Boston is located in the heart of Boston's vibrant midtown, just steps from the theatre and financial districts. This modern 193-room hotel features 43 suites and The Ritz-Carlton Club rooms. Located just steps from the Freedom Trail, the hotel is also convenient to the historic Opera House. The most up-to-date technology includes in-room high-speed wireless Internet access for up to six devices as well as HD plasma screen televisions, meeting space with plasma display screens, and complimentary wireless Internet connectivity in The Ritz-Carlton Club Lounge and the hotel lobby. The Ritz-Carlton, Boston has been awarded the prestigious AAA Five-Diamond Award and has been named to Travel + Leisure's World's Best Hotels List several times and is one of Conde Nast Traveler's Top 100 U.S. Hotels. The hotel offers direct access from guest elevators to Equinox Sports Club, a world-class 114,000-square-foot fitness and sports complex featuring basketball courts, squash, junior Olympic pool and complete spa and salon facilities. The hotel's cocktail venue, Avery Bar, reflects a refined, elegant sensibility tempered with midcentury-inspired forms, furniture and lighting. The space is a modern, sophisticated design for hotel guests and local residents longing for a more stylish and relaxed feel. The hotel's restaurant, Artisan Bistro, offers fresh local and seasonal dishes, using native ingredients with subtle bistro influences. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Booking.com, Ebookers, Marriott, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Boston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz-Carlton Boston Common Hotel Boston
Ritz Boston
Boston Ritz-Carlton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing