We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location and hotel but charge Wifi”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, Boston
Ranked #26 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
50 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Great location and hotel but charge Wifi”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Located right by the park in the center, well maintained, great friendly staff, luxury rooms.
Access to the huge LA Sports Club in the tower for $15.
No go is that you are still charged for Wifi in your room.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TEU793
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

697 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    436
    149
    61
    44
    7
See reviews for
225
165
14
186
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

The Ritz Carlton in Boston Common is a great accommodation for a weekend getaway. The location was perfect! We were in the middle of everything! The service was as it should be, only the best. Me and my fiance lucked out when we stayed there because we bumped into Comedian Tracy Morgan at the concierge desk and saw that the New York Rangers were staying there as well. The lounge level was great in that they provided a variety of drinks, snacks and desserts throughout the day. The rooms were clean and spacious. And housekeeping was exceptional in that they provided dry cleaning services also extra hangers for overflowing suitcase. I would recommend this hotel to individuals who love luxury. I wouldn't recommend this hotel for a young couple looking fir a hip scene, its suited towards an older crowd.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bbmed55usa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
228 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Entering in the small street is not a great set up for this wonderful hotel. We have stayed here many times and have really enjoyed each stay. The welcoming attitude and attentive service of the staff is a joy. Breakfast here is excellent. I sometimes think that they welcome our golden retriever more than us. The hotel is most convenient to the Public Garden and to two tube stops. Shopping on Newbury Street is just across the park. Starbucks is only two blocks away. Very near to the red line walk. Our rooms have been very comfortable and well appointed.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mercant700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014 via mobile

Like any Ritz this is a beautiful hotel with outstanding service. It is very well located in Boston Commons, right near the theater district and Chinatown. During our stay my 16 yo son injured his knee playing soccer, which necessitated cutting our stay short by two nights to head back to LA. The staff at the Ritz were incredibly understanding, allowing us to change our itinerary at the last minute (ie during our stay) with no financial penalty! Sharia at the front desk was especially helpful. This kindness really helped reduce the stress of an otherwise stressful situation. Highly recommended!

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque, New Mexico, United States
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

The Ritz Carlton is by far one of our favorite properties, no matter where we are traveling. My husband and I follow a vegan and oil-free diet and each property does a great job of feeding us. Shortly after checking in, Food and Beverage Supervisor, Ross, introduced himself to us, gave us his business card and offered to help in any way possible.

The second day of our visit, I had a very casual conversation with cocktail waitress, Jiney. She simply asked about our diet and my favorite recipes. Within 30 minutes, she had done a google search, printed recipes that I mentioned and gave them to Ross, her supervisor, to give to the chef. The next evening, Chef Brendan beautifully prepared our favorite meal. Needless to say, we were beyond wowed!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burbage, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Stayed for a week on business...superb week!

Spotless hotel with very attentive staff who couldn't do enough for me.

Nice bar and restaurant area with a good selection of drinks and dishes.

Location...perfect! Just off the Common, a couple of minutes walk to the Theatre district and China Town and the rest of Boston right on your door step.

Highly recommended!!!!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Darrell W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
572 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 201 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Saying that our stay was disappointing is an understatement. We decided on the Ritz in Boston because I thought it was the flagship property that I had visited years ago. I was unaware (probably my fault) that the charming original was no longer. American Express Platnium Service also did not seem to be aware of this as i mentioned the original Ritz and they did not say it had been rebuilt in a different location.

My husband and another couple were in Boston celebrating our husband's 60th birthday. We decided to splurge on this pricy hotel because we were celebrating this special occasion. From start to finish there were few bright spots. It started off with the checking in process. We waited over an hour for our room even though we requested the platnium amenity of a 12 PM check-in. In all the time we were waiting we were never given the A/E package explaining our amenities. We were shown to our room but one of our suitcases were missing and a bottle of distilled water. The bellman went off searching for the suitcase and brought it to our room. Instead of the bottle of water we described to him he brought us someone else's canvas tote bag. I could not believe he was giving us another guests bag! He then realized he had put the water under one of our other suitcases.

We then went to the Artisan Grill for lunch where we were seated next to a screaming child. We asked to be moved and they obliged. The food was fair and took a long time to get.

There are a long list of problems at this hotel. Turndown service starts at 5 PM even though we asked to have it when we went to dinner. There it was, the card under the door that they made the attempt. The complimentary car service runs from 6-8 PM which means they can take you to dinner but you are on your own getting back. One evening they could not even find the car. We were told "we do not know where it is" cellphones anyone??? The bar was closed on a Sunday night which meant we had to go to the Artisan Grill for a drink. The bartender or at least we thought he was told us he was filling in and really did not know how to make drinks. Twice I asked for the comforter to be removed from the bed and replaced with blankets. I finally got them but that meant that I had to make the bed myself. This is reasonable for $800.00 a night? Dirty food trays in the hallway for more hrs. than I can count.

Of all the problems nothing could prepare us for what we experienced Sunday morning at the Artisan Grill for breakfast. I have never seen such a poorly run restaurant EVER!! Things were not good the day before cold toast and oatmeal, slow coffee and ever slower refills but that paled in comparison to Sunday. We arrived and were told there were a lot of reservations coming at 11:00. We said it is only 10:15 and we could be finished by 11:00. They said they could not fill the empty tables because the kitchen was very backed up and they could not serve us. We tried to sit at the bar but there was only one server. People, and I mean mad people were sitting there fuming. We tried to find out if there was another restaurant nearby but when we called they said there was a long wait there as well. We sat at the bar and waited. The food was just as cold as the previous day. Then we saw the crowd gathering for their 11:00 res. They literally cleared the entire restaurant before they would seat anyone. Now they had irrate people standing at the front wondering why they could not sit down. I took a picture of the empty restaurant because I have never witnessed anything like this before.

We were so mad we went out to the front desks to complain. I told Alex the front desk man that this was unacceptable and he should have mentioned that we needed reservations when I sat with him for an hour waiting for my room. He was rude and condescending. As I was speaking with him another unhappy guest jumped into my conversation and starting complaining not only about the understaffed restaurant but how the housekeeper knocked on his door at 7AM even though he had the sign on his door. I am truly surprised that unrest did not break out in the lobby. I finally was able to exclaim my displeasure to one of the managers. She gave me a $400.00 (1/2 nights rate) and an $8.00 bottle of wine & cheese for my troubles. I did hear from Olivia another manager who gave me a certificate for a free night to be used within the year. I do not know if I will return. We were there for 6 nights and even though we had rate changes they never were below $550.00 per night and most were over $700.00. The A/E amenity of free breakfast each morning was not worth the hour ++ it took each day to get mediocre food.

This hotel should not be rated as high as it is. I have contacted American Express but have not heard from them.

The only bright spot are the 3 concierge gentlemen, expecially Adriatik. He was wonderful. Also the doorman Ken.

It is a shame that the Ritz flagship hotel has fallen so far.

Room Tip: They have a few rooms that face the Commons but not many. If you do not get a good rate go elsewher...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Patty B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MsOliviaB, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, Boston, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Good Afternoon Patty,

It was a pleasure to connect with you during your May visit. We look forward to your return trip where we may provide you with the highest level of service.

Olivia Brown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel Boston
Downtown
XV Beacon
XV Beacon
#12 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,090 reviews
Back Bay
Mandarin Oriental, Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
W Boston
W Boston
#29 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,614 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Nine Zero Hotel
Downtown
The Langham, Boston
The Langham, Boston
#22 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Boston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Boston

Property: The Ritz-Carlton, Boston
Address: 10 Avery St, Boston, MA 02111-1005
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Boston
#17 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#18 Business Hotel in Boston
#21 Family Hotel in Boston
#30 Romantic Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Boston 5*
Number of rooms: 193
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ritz-Carlton, Boston is located in the heart of Boston's vibrant midtown, just steps from the theatre and financial districts. This modern 193-room hotel features 43 suites and The Ritz-Carlton Club rooms. Located just steps from the Freedom Trail, the hotel is also convenient to the historic Opera House. The most up-to-date technology includes in-room high-speed wireless Internet access for up to six devices as well as HD plasma screen televisions, meeting space with plasma display screens, and complimentary wireless Internet connectivity in The Ritz-Carlton Club Lounge and the hotel lobby. The Ritz-Carlton, Boston has been awarded the prestigious AAA Five-Diamond Award and has been named to Travel + Leisure's World's Best Hotels List several times and is one of Conde Nast Traveler's Top 100 U.S. Hotels. The hotel offers direct access from guest elevators to Equinox Sports Club, a world-class 114,000-square-foot fitness and sports complex featuring basketball courts, squash, junior Olympic pool and complete spa and salon facilities. The hotel's cocktail venue, Avery Bar, reflects a refined, elegant sensibility tempered with midcentury-inspired forms, furniture and lighting. The space is a modern, sophisticated design for hotel guests and local residents longing for a more stylish and relaxed feel. The hotel's restaurant, Artisan Bistro, offers fresh local and seasonal dishes, using native ingredients with subtle bistro influences. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Marriott, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Boston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz-Carlton Boston Common Hotel Boston
Ritz Boston
Boston Ritz-Carlton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing