We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location and price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Best Western Plus Boston Hotel
Ranked #71 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good location and price”
Reviewed 29 November 2013

As first-time Boston visitors, we chose this hotel for many of the same reasons as other reviewers have mentioned. The free parking, free shuttle, microwave and fridge in the rooms were great. Our room was clean and the historic Boston artwork on the walls was a nice touch. The shuttle drivers were very nice, and it worked out well for us to take the shuttle to the Prudential Center mall and the "T." The shuttle is very popular, so we did have to wait 30+ minutes for it to return to the hotel to pick us up a couple of times. Breakfast was in the basement and was ok. One of the regular visitors I spoke with said that the breakfast has greatly improved since it was moved downstairs. There were the usual muffins, bagels, bread, make-your-own waffles, apples, bananas, yogurt and cereal. The water and milk were slow to get refilled the four mornings we were there. It was nice that postcards were available for purchase at the front desk. We utilized the business center to print our boarding passes and check email. There is only one computer in it, not two like the photo on the hotel website suggests. Free cookies each evening in the lobbby were nice. There was a gentleman complaining about noise at the front desk one day, and it is true that there is some noise from traffic and sirens from the nearby medical center. We were on the third floor and slept soundly, however. If you are looking for absolute quiet, this is not the place for you, but then Boston probably isn't for you either. One disappointment was one night when the toilet overflowed in our room. A call to the front desk brought a person to our door a half an hour later with two towels and plunger to give us. I expected staff to do more to help with that situation instead of letting us take care of it on our own.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kuka0201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMroundhouse, General Manager at Best Western Plus Boston Hotel, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Dear kuka0201,

Thank you for taking the time to write such an in-depth review and give us four stars! I was taken aback and will use this as a training tool that my team did not enter your room and fix the toilet and clean the mess. I have printed your review and coaching each of the housepersons.

I am in the process of improving the Breakfast first by moving it into a larger location with more seating area. This week we have implemented a menu to change daily so there is a variety.

I appreciate all the feedback!

Lisa
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,240 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    306
    499
    236
    125
    74
See reviews for
466
292
38
205
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Montana City, Montana
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2013

This was our first visit to Boston. The rooms where a little dated but very nice, it was very clean, very nice front desk! The shuttle service was a great bonus. It was close to the hub of Boston but far enough away that it didn't feel crowded.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank casual_travel2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMroundhouse, General Manager at Best Western Plus Boston Hotel, responded to this review, 29 November 2013
Dear casual_travel2013,

Thank you for the four stars and taking the time to write such a nice review. I agree we are in Boston and yet away from the crazy traffic (most times!). I am glad you found our complimentary shuttle a bonus!

We hope to see you soon!

Lisa
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerrabomberra
Level 6 Contributor
413 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 224 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2013

We were attracted to the hotel by good rates, the free parking and shuttle (that enabled us to take a break from driving on a 2,500 mile / 4,000 km trip) and recommendations from other people. The suite we got was excellent, with microwave and all necessary features. The location is very accessible (especially with the shuttle) but the general area is not too great and it was difficult to get gluten-free food nearby.
We had three breakfasts there - with shortages on two mornings. Our view was that the staff catering for breakfast were of variable quality! One lady was excellent and one man very unmotivated.
Overall, we liked the place and found it to be great value-for-money for Boston.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RobandMaryJean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMroundhouse, General Manager at Best Western Plus Boston Hotel, responded to this review, 29 November 2013
Dear RobandMaryJean,

Thank you for the nice review and four stars! I appreciate the feedback regarding the breakfast as I am in the process of making changes. We just relocated the breakfast to a larger area with more seating. I am also looking at menu changes. I will also follow up with the staff directly.

Thank you and Happy Holidays!

Lisa
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Augusta, United States
1 review
Reviewed 20 November 2013

Best Western Roundhouse Suites, where we stayed fduring medical treatment in Boston provided excellent service and value for price. Rooms were clean, needs were met promptly. Courteous professional staff in every area. Front desk clerks very helpful. Van service to nearby medical facilities were excellent and of paramount importance to us. Obvious efforts underway to keep hotel clean, in repair, and attractive. We have stayed twice for extended periods and would do so again if we were to return to Boston.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Shirley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMroundhouse, General Manager at Best Western Plus Boston Hotel, responded to this review, 21 November 2013
Dear Shirley S,

Thank you for choosing us! I am glad you enjoyed your stay and the staff. You are correct we are in the process of making many changes to improve our property and serivces--thank you for acknowledging our hardwork!

We hope to see you again when you can enjoy Boston!

Thank you
Lisa
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

We had 3 nights here in Oct 2013 and found it clean and very comfortable. The 1 bedroom suite was great with room to spread out and relax. The fridge was very useful. The bathroom was well appointed and the bed and pillows were good. Breakfast was basic but ok. The hotel was within walking distance of Andrew Square T station and South Station Shopping centre if you did not want to wait for the hotel shuttle bus. It was a bit noisy early morning with trucks etc starting work but did not disturb our sleep at night. The free car parking was an asset for us. Good value for the money.

Room Tip: The 1bedroom suite was a great choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robyn J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMroundhouse, General Manager at Best Western Plus Boston Hotel, responded to this review, 13 November 2013
Dear Robyn J,

Thank you for giving us four stars and pointing out the value you received. The hotel suites are spacious providing extra room and the microwave and fridge do come in handy especially if staying in Boston more than a day.

We hope to see you again!
Lisa
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Brunswick, New Jersey, Usa
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviewed 11 November 2013

I have been staying at this property many times over the last 4 years and it is alawys nice and relaxing, although the rooms can be a little loud from outside traffic at times. It is still a great place to stay in Boston area and with the free parking, great breakfast and hot warm cookies at night it makes it that much better

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Edward G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMroundhouse, General Manager at Best Western Plus Boston Hotel, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
Dear Edward G,

I know as a traveler you have many choices today and we are so happy you chose us! Thank you for writing and review and I am glad the cookies add a nice little added touch.

We hope to see you soon!

Lisa
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitby, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2013

I have stayed at the Best Western Roundhouse several times in the past two years...they have decent sized rooms, and they keep the hotel very well...it's good value, competetively priced for the area, and I'll definitely stay there again...

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank John_and_Wendy_Crane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMroundhouse, General Manager at Best Western Plus Boston Hotel, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
Dear John_And_Wendy,

I appreciate you taking the time to complete and review and give us four stars! We hope you keep coming!

See you soon!

Lisa
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Dorchester / Roxbury / Mattapan
Holiday Inn Express Boston
Dorchester / Roxbury / Mattapan
Comfort Inn - Boston
Comfort Inn - Boston
#76 of 83 in Boston
266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dorchester / Roxbury / Mattapan
DoubleTree Club by Hilton Hotel Boston Bayside
Back Bay
The Midtown Hotel
The Midtown Hotel
#63 of 83 in Boston
3,599 reviews
Allston / Brighton
Hotel Boston
Hotel Boston
#77 of 83 in Boston
559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Boston Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Boston Hotel

Property: Best Western Plus Boston Hotel
Address: 891 Massachusetts Ave, Boston, MA 02118-2607
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Dorchester / Roxbury / Mattapan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Boston
#55 Business Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Boston Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best Western Plus Boston Hotel in Boston is an all-suite hotel, previously known as the Roundhouse Suites. It is conveniently located next to the Boston Medical Centre and close to other Hospitals and only 2.1 miles from downtown Boston. The hotel is close to some of the best colleges in the country: Harvard University, MIT, Boston College, Suffolk, Boston University etc. The hotel has a complimentary shuttle from 7:00am to 10:00pm running on a schedule to the two local T-Stop and to the Medical Centers nearby. When home away from home, we understand the needs of the guests and so each of our rooms have a microwave and refrigerator. Our rooms also feature safes in them to store all your valuables. No matter what brings you to Boston, count on a reputable hotel to provide you with the accommodations you deserve. Free parking, free breakfast, free shuttle to the local train stations are all yours for a competitive price at this Boston hotel that sleeps up to five in a double room. Who says staying city-adjacent has to be expensive? Enjoy your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Plus Boston Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Roundhouse Hotel Boston
Best Western Roundhouse Hotel
Best Western Boston
Boston Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing