We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Review of stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Best Western Plus Boston Hotel
Ranked #70 of 83 Hotels in Boston
St Joseph, United States
1 review
“Review of stay”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Overall a good place to stay. The staff at Best Western Roundhouse Suites were very helpful in providing information to us as visitors to Boston. The hotel's shuttle system was not very good. Several times the driver was VERY late picking us up to return to the Roundhouse Suites. On one occasion we called a cab after waiting nearly an hour for a no-show.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Ronald A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John W, AGM at Best Western Plus Boston Hotel, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Hello Ronald!

Thank you for your review of our hotel. I appreciate you taking the time out of your day to pass along warm words about your stay here. I have begun a comprehensive review of our shuttle and procedures in order to ensure that the best customer service is being delivered. Thank you for your review!

John W,
AGM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,168 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    288
    474
    225
    117
    64
See reviews for
429
275
38
194
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mesa, United States
1 review
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Rude van driver, The Air conditioner wasn't working,next to Hospital so you hear sirens all hours of night, bath tub was 1 foot deep couldnt soak after long day of walking, bed would shake off an on..

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Williams C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John W, AGM at Best Western Plus Boston Hotel, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Hi Williams,

At your convenience I would request to speak with you further about the issues you endured while you were here. Our AC did have mechanical issues and they have since been rectified - however I still want to touch base with you. I can be reached at 617-989-1000 ext 702.

John W
AGM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boston, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 11 May 2014

The area is a bit industrial; but there is a 24 hr mcdonalds across the street and a couple of gas station snack stores next door. parking is good. Need to drive to get to a sit down dinner. Good value for any place that is so close to city center

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Zigi P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John W, AGM at Best Western Plus Boston Hotel, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Hello Zigi,

Thank you for your review! Always happy to see that a guest can take in the local amenities offered and enjoy them. We will be renovating the hotel soon and would love for you to keep in contact so we can invite you back to enjoy the facelift!

John W
AGM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kincaid Illinois
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014

All of the common areas (lobby, hallways and breakfast room) were uncomfortably warm. The breakfast room was 79 degrees. Our room air conditioning worked for about 10 minutes at a time and then it just put out warm air. We complained and someone was sent up but the problem went on all night. Most of the time our room temp was 77. It isn't even summer yet so beware.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melbatoast1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John W, AGM at Best Western Plus Boston Hotel, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Hi Traveler,

I was sorry to read you had a exceedingly hot experience - we did experience a massive mechanical failure that has since been rectified. If you would like to speak with me further regarding your experience I am available at 617-989-1000 ext 702. I assure you, your stay was not the typical experience our guests have.

John W
AGM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Boston hotels

New City, NY
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014

The new ownership of the Best Western Roundhouse Suites need lessons on how to treat guests. Our reservation months in advance was never formally confirmed by email. They said the email was down. When we arrived at the hotel they had a much higher rate charged. After discussion, desk clerk said it was all taken care of. Checkout showed the same higher rate and she could not fix it. It took over 5 days and numerous emails & phone calls to rectify the issue. We're never going there again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank MarthaG_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John W, AGM at Best Western Plus Boston Hotel, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Hi Martha,

I am sorry that you encountered such issues during your stay. I am available to speak with you further if you please, I do not want your last experience to be your lasting impression of the property. I can be reached at 617-989-1000 ext 702.

John W
AGM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014

Overall service provided by the staff are good. The breakfast staff are very friendly and very accommodating. The shuttle bus drivers are very friendly and knowledgeable about the area, suggesting places to visit as well as local eateries and shopping plaza. Like the location as we need to travel to UMass and BU. The hotel is located about equal distances between the two universities. Convenient shuttle bus takes us to places closed enough for us to walk to our final destination. it takes us right to Prudential center and the T where you can take the train to Chinatown, Quincy market area, or to Cambridge area. The only negative is the area surrounding the hotel - the buildings around it look pretty old. You have to walk 5 -10 minutes which is not bad, to some nice restaurants and shops. The shopping plaza is not too far either. The suite is a bit small but it works for us as we don't stay in the room too long each day. Like the bed and pillows, they are comfortable, but since our room is next to the road, we hear the noise from the traffic all night. Also like the free parking but I must say I checked my car once or twice if I left it in the open parking lot all day and all night. But I think the street is busy enough that there should be minimal chances that anything would happen to your car.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Chienhuah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John W, AGM at Best Western Plus Boston Hotel, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Hey Traveler,

Thank you for your detailed review! I am glad different departments were able to all come together and deliver a great stay for you. Keep in touch, we're renovating soon and would love to have you back again!

John W
AGM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 8 May 2014

The people working at this motel were very friendly and helpful. A few times we were uncomfortable about the shuttle service as they were always busy and in a hurry. The breakfast staff were especially helpful.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank nancyb713
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John W, Assistant GM at Best Western Plus Boston Hotel, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Hi Nancy,

Thank you for taking the time out of your day to review your stay at our property! I am glad the breakfast ambassadors were able to see to your needs. We look forward to having you again soon!

John W
AGM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Dorchester / Roxbury / Mattapan
DoubleTree Club by Hilton Hotel Boston Bayside
Dorchester / Roxbury / Mattapan
Holiday Inn Express Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dorchester / Roxbury / Mattapan
Courtyard Boston-South Boston
Dorchester / Roxbury / Mattapan
Comfort Inn - Boston
Comfort Inn - Boston
#75 of 83 in Boston
3.5 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
Allston / Brighton
Hotel Boston
Hotel Boston
#76 of 83 in Boston
3.5 of 5 bubbles 550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Boston Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Boston Hotel

Property: Best Western Plus Boston Hotel
Address: 891 Massachusetts Avenue, Boston, MA 02118-2607
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Dorchester / Roxbury / Mattapan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Boston
#55 Business Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Boston Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 92
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Odigeo, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Boston Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Roundhouse Hotel Boston
Best Western Roundhouse Hotel
Best Western Boston
Boston Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing