We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very noisy and bright rooms..”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Best Western Plus Boston Hotel
Ranked #73 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very noisy and bright rooms..”
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Stayed in a suite on the 5fth floor. The room was very noisy so we were woken up each morning at 6am with construction noise from across the road and heavy traffic. Apparently their is a disclaiming on the hotels website but we didn't notice it before booking. They even said we were in the quieter section. The room didn't have curtains so it was very bright, it did have black out blinds but they didn't work very well. The hotel didn't always know when the shuttle was due to arrive so they would tell you to call them 10 mins before you needed it, then they would tell you when to go to the lobby but when you arrived down, they wouldn't actually know when it would arrive so it was kind of pointless calling down in the first place. The staff were helpful overall but nothing amazing. Breakfast was fine, mostly processed breads and cereals, yogurts and eggs. You might get some streaky bacon as well. The most disappointing part was being woken early each morning so we didn't get a good night sleep for the three nights that we stayed there. Also, if you can't get the hotel shuttle, its not very close to the subway so you either need to walk for 15 mins to the subway or get a taxi. For a very nice but pricey dinner, try Deuxave on Commonwealth. It costs us over $200 for 1 starter, 2 main, 1 dessert and 1 bottle of wine but it's very tasty as a treat. Also try the chowder in Quincy Market (around $5) and Pizzeria Regina in the Italian Quarter (expect to queue for 20mins, we paid $40 for 2 pizzas and a pitcher of beer). The Freedom trail is good to do as well

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank McCars26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John W, AGM at Best Western Plus Boston Hotel, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Greetings Traveler,

Sounds like you had a mixed bag stay! I'm glad to see you were able to take in our free breakfast and I do apologize that the shuttle was hectic during your stay. Before the year is over we will have renovated the entire hotel so please do consider staying in touch and we would love to invite you back!

John W
AGM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,261 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    309
    506
    236
    129
    81
See reviews for
476
294
40
209
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Laporte, United States
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Staff was very courteous and helpful and went beyond what is usual to make our stay very comfortable and provided so our family could have rooms close to each other. They helped us make arrangements so we could meet scheduled events at our granddaughter's university graduation.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Eunice P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John W, AGM at Best Western Plus Boston Hotel, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Hi Eunice!

Your review was a very nice one to read! Thank you for helping spread the word about our customer service and willingness to reach for that extra mile when you need it! Stay in touch and come back soon!

John W
AGM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Our daughter attends Boston Med. School. This is an EXCELLENT location. We are starting our 4th year of visits. We've never stayed anywhere else after our first stay here! Great staff, EXCELLENT rooms, Great breakfast. And walking distance to the school/med center.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Y6898MWroberth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John W, AGM at Best Western Plus Boston Hotel, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Hey Traveler,

What an emphatic and lovely review of our hotel! Thank you so much for taking the time out of your day to revisit and review your stays with us. We appreciate it and treasure having the opportunity to serve you over and over again! Stay in touch and we would love to invite you back after the renovations later this year!

John W
AGM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

My wife and I were stuck in Boston for 3 days due to the bad weather in early January 2014. We needed a reasonably priced hotel not too far from the airport. We had a great stay here, the staff were friendly and we especially enjoyed the continental breakfast included in the price. Those self-service waffles are the best! We also didn't know Boston at all and the staff were friendly to assist with nice places to see like the Freedom Trail. Our room was clean and had a nice little separate living room/tv room and kitchenette which overlooked the gas station and McDonalds. Unfortunately the hotel did not have a shuttle service to/from the airport, but it does have a shuttle service to several main centers in Boston. From there you can take the underground subway to/from the airport. Overall we were impressed with this hotel and would recommend it to anyone visiting Boston.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bertus B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John W, AGM at Best Western Plus Boston Hotel, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Hello Traveler,

What a delight, reading your review! I am very glad that we were able to provide you shelter and fun during your three day unexpected layover here in Boston. I appreciate your kind words about the service and hotel - we would love to have you back soon!

John W
AGM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oreland, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Older site, in commercial section of Boston, interesting "round construction" with corresponding internal match. Parking limited to small number of spaces surrounding hotel with 2 handicapped spaces available, additional parking across back street in lot, ( I would not leave anything in the car). Room, (king suite) was clean, comfortable, if a bit small. A plus would be a hotel shuttle to and from various locations around Boston, also quite close to the Black Falcon cruise terminal. Thelma, at the desk was very helpful to us as we asked our questions

Room Tip: try to stay away from the corner of the hotel next to the gas station, for less noise, day and night
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nthused
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John W, AGM at Best Western Plus Boston Hotel, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Hi There Traveler,

I appreciate that you took time out of your day to stop by our page and review your experience at our hotel. I'm glad you were able to partake in our limited but free parking and that your room was prepared to your expectations. I'll be sure to share your compliments with Thelma, thank you for you review!

John W
AGM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashton, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Our room was very nice and clean. However, it was across from Boston Medical center so I heard ambulances all night. The hotel was pretty full so couldn't change rooms and we didn't have time because we had graduation events to attend. we had to leave early in the am and came back late.

The continental breakfast was more than we expected. It was actually a full breakfast with eggs, waffles, fruit, etc.

Room Tip: stay on the side away from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hcaplan13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John W, AGM at Best Western Plus Boston Hotel, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Hello Traveler,

Thank you for taking time out of your day to share a few remarks about your stay at our hotel. I am glad you were able to enjoy our breakfast and that your room was expertly prepared for you! We will be renovating later this year and would love for you to keep in touch so that we may invite you back to experience the changes!

John W
AGM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

This hotel is not bad for a quick visit. Neighborhood is tough and there's nothing good at walk in distance. Not very centralized but staff was friendly and accommodating and place was clean. For the price it served the purpose. Got to take under consideration PAX is a very large convention so having the shuttle was a plus. Breakfast could be a bit more appealing.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lu P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John W, AGM at Best Western Plus Boston Hotel, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Dear Traveler,

Thank you for stopping by our page and reviewing your stay at our hotel. I am glad you were able to take in the various amenities offered by the hotel (free breakfast and complimentary shuttle). We hope to at least see you again at next years PAX conference!

John W
AGM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Dorchester / Roxbury / Mattapan
Holiday Inn Express Boston
Dorchester / Roxbury / Mattapan
Comfort Inn - Boston
Comfort Inn - Boston
#76 of 83 in Boston
273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dorchester / Roxbury / Mattapan
DoubleTree Club by Hilton Hotel Boston Bayside
Dorchester / Roxbury / Mattapan
Ramada Boston
Ramada Boston
#78 of 83 in Boston
487 reviews
Back Bay
The Midtown Hotel
The Midtown Hotel
#65 of 83 in Boston
3,621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Boston Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Boston Hotel

Property: Best Western Plus Boston Hotel
Address: 891 Massachusetts Ave, Boston, MA 02118-2607
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Dorchester / Roxbury / Mattapan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Boston
#55 Business Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Boston Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best Western Plus Boston Hotel in Boston is an all-suite hotel, previously known as the Roundhouse Suites. It is conveniently located next to the Boston Medical Centre and close to other Hospitals and only 2.1 miles from downtown Boston. The hotel is close to some of the best colleges in the country: Harvard University, MIT, Boston College, Suffolk, Boston University etc. The hotel has a complimentary shuttle from 7:00am to 10:00pm running on a schedule to the two local T-Stop and to the Medical Centers nearby. When home away from home, we understand the needs of the guests and so each of our rooms have a microwave and refrigerator. Our rooms also feature safes in them to store all your valuables. No matter what brings you to Boston, count on a reputable hotel to provide you with the accommodations you deserve. Free parking, free breakfast, free shuttle to the local train stations are all yours for a competitive price at this Boston hotel that sleeps up to five in a double room. Who says staying city-adjacent has to be expensive? Enjoy your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Plus Boston Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Roundhouse Hotel Boston
Best Western Roundhouse Hotel
Best Western Boston
Boston Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing